Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Jan 30, 2016
View of the harbor was very nice. Staff was great and gave us an upgrade. Very clean room as well as the bathroom. Nice amenities and easy parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waukesha, WI

Good location on the harbor

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Great view. Close to downtown
We stayed because we were visiting with family. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation but that was in a different part of the building than we were. The bed was very comfortable and the view was beautiful. It was worth the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MI

Great Location

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Location with lakeview.
Location: Bike trail. Lake view. Awesome local restaurants within walking distance (The Boathouse, Uncle Mike's, Kaisers Pizza, and Franks Diner).
This hotel was recently updated. The location is amazing!!! The lakeview is breathtaking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hits and misses

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Staff was friendly, Harbor view room had a wonderful view and decorated nicely. Fitness center was clean and had newer equipment. Hotel is in midst of renovations but not on main floor. Indoor heated pool advertised without mentioning it was small and only three feet deep. The pool was a major reason for us deciding on this hotel. Breakfast is nothing great with frozen cinnamon rolls and cold hash browns. Yuck. Common floor area, especially in the breakfast area is uneven and easy to stumble on. Tub was clogged and ran slow. Staff and view is a plus but go somewhere else if you want to actually swim and have an edible breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Better than you'd think

Posted Dec 26, 2015
We stayed for the holidays with our dog, and we are always grateful when a hotel is pet friendly, but wish they could have given us a room with a little nicer view, given the place was not super busy. The room decor is very restful, with nice Aqua colors and pretty pictures, full length mirror, and pretty sparkly white countertops! Nice pool, breakfast omelets that are actually good, as well as a surprising full range of food choices. Area has lots of character, so worth the time to stay by the lake instead of staying in a bland place next to a highway exit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Nice hotel, a bit old furniture, but clean, in room you have everything what you need
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Calvin from Ashland

OK stay

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
We basically only slept in the room. We were gone all day long. The first night, there was a big spider hanging on one of the bedspreads. And I also heard a dog bark a couple of times, (I don't know if dogs are allowed or not). The room was not as clean as I would have liked it. There was candy (like m&m's) on the floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

You pay for the harbor view.

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, close to restaurants
Cons: Fix/repair/remodel the rooms. Give guests the type of room they actually reserved.
Location: Casual Italian restaurant. Beer and burger joint. Coffee shop. All directly next to hotel.
Friendly check in staff. Easy check in. Tried to change reservation from 2 queen beds to 1 king bed, as our son ended up not coming with us. Clerk said they were fully booked and no kings were available. Got to our room to find out we were given a double bed room. No point in asking for a switch, since they were supposedly booked full. To be fair, this place has 'excuse our renovation' signs on the elevators. Hopefully they are doing some massive improvements, which will make the accommodations equal to the price charged. The beds were extremely soft and squeaky. Mildew on the shower caulk. Chairs were frayed from overuse. Door to the hallway had a 1 inch gap at the bottom, letting in all hallway conversations and noise (We ended up stuffing a towel in the gap.) The clock was 45 minutes fast (We found out the hard way, getting up way too early.) We had a harbor view, which probably would have been nice, had the windows been cleaned of fingerprints and smudges. I've traveled the world and stayed in much better 'backpack hostels' that only cost fifteen dollars a night. This place was listed as $130, but the actual bill was $107. If I was charged the full $130, I would have been very upset. As it stands, $107 is still way too much for this 1980s vintage shack. On the plus side, directly outside the hotel are a few restaurants and a wonderfully coffee shop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bratislava, SLOVAKIA

Nice location but with some problems

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: I was visiting Carthage College. Nice lakefront walkways and nearby restaurants and bars.
The hotel says it is renovating so that can explain the dirty hallways. The room was cleaned well and was comfortable. Some nice touches were the decent breakfast and all-day coffee. Some strange things: the front desk personnel didn't know where the bus stop was for a northern direction and suggested that I look at the southern bus stop and see if there was a phone number to be found. Got the info myself on the internet. So-called whirlpool has no apparent turn on for the jets. Asked for a 6:30 wakeup call and never got it. Thank goodness the clock radio and cell phone worked
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It served its purpose

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Location: Wine Knot was an expectional find, very good food and environment. Captian Mikes was also a nice casual place for burgers.
We stayed 2 nights as we worked through some business in the area. The hotel itself is under upgrades but the workmanship leaves a bit to be desired. The bed pillows are extremely uncomfortable if you have any spine or neck problems. The room we had was I believe updated, again the workmanship seems less than expected. The pool, water was not regulated properly with chlorine mix, bottom appeared dirty, did not use. The pool deck and seating was nicely kept. Breakfast is the usual standard and satisfied. If was fine for our needs, the waterfront is beautiful.