Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Not pleased

Posted Apr 22, 2017
1st we were given room keys to an already occupied room. We asked for a quite room. We were given a room right next to the elevator. New room assigned seemed fine until the ac/heater in room unit turned on. It was so loud and disturbing. The sheets were scratchy. I would say this is a best western hotel at best. Definitely NOT a Doubletree. Ps. Where was the chocolate chip cookie on check-in? I would not return to this faux Doubletree.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but no longer a Radisson.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: comfortable beds; clean room
Cons: hall way rugs needs to be cleaned or replaced.
Location: It's literally seconds away from a Premium Outlet mall, a short drive to the Jelly Belly warehouse and showroom.
Apparently the Radisson changed names the day before we arrived for our visit. It is now the Doubletree. With that being said the hotel was nicely refurbished in the lobby. The floor rugs were a bit worn and dirty but I'm assuming that was because of all the renovations being done. The room it's self was comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Fred Marshall, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We have replaced all of the hallway carpeting. We look forward to having you back to our hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Currently being remodeled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. The remodeling will be complete in a couple of weeks! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
3 out of 5
by Meghan

Not that spectacular

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
I reserved a room with 2 queen-sized beds and received, not only just one bed, but a queen-sized. There was no continental breakfast and given the cost of the rrom, I feel there should have been. The room had only a shower and not a bathtub. I have never had a room without a tub in the bathroom. Just overall unimpressed for a Radisson hotel. I will be completing more business in this area, going forward, and will not be staying here, again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Meghan, I am very sorry that you were placed in the wrong room type. I would be happy to look into this for you. I am not able to ask you personal information here, but you know how to get a hold of us. Please do! Sincerely, Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield, MI

Hotel on highway

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing much really
Cons: They should not be open for guests during renovations - or they should make this clear, and offer reduced rates to those who still wish to stay amidst
The hotel is undergoing major renovation and was extremely dusty and noisy. This fact should have been made clear during the booking - for we would NOT have chosen to stay here if we had known about this. I consider this false advertising and Expedia has to take some responsibility as we booked through your site. I would not stay here in the future, and expect to receive a refund from the hotel for the inconvenience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Renee', Hotel Management
I am very sorry for the issues you had during your stay with us. We are almost done with the renovations and would love to have you return on us to see all the wonderful changes coming. Please feel free to contact us directly as I do not have your name or any other information in order to compensate you. Sincerely, Renee' Witkowski
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Kenosha

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Bed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of shopping within walking distance. Good restaurant in hotel
Have stayed at the hotel several times for business reasons. Never had any issues, beds are very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Having the mall across the street is a great way to get your holiday shopping done, being able to come relax, eat and unwind at the hotel makes shopping so much better! We hope you return in the near future! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the location...close to the mall!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Yes
Cons: Clean the carpet.
Location: Only went for the Outlet Mall...walking distance. Great!
Overall experience was great! The only problem I experienced is that the carpet in the room was not clean. There were a few spots. I had to keep my socks on....:(
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We do clean the carpets but we are also in the process of a complete refresh of the property, from floor to ceiling. The 6th floor should be complete by the end of the month with the 5th floor two week behind that. We will have the entire property completed by the end of the winter. We hope you return to see all the wonderful changes coming our way! Sincerely, Renee' Witkowski
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
It was really nice and I'd strongly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you return to see all the wonderful changes coming our way! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, but needs (as is getting) a facelift.

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Looks like they are in the midst of remodeling, which is needed. Carpets in hallways, bathroom tile/counter/tub, etc. are good examples of where the age and wear is quite obvious. Nice property in a good location, and once the updates are done it will be top notch, but right now it's a bit rough. Still would recommend, but with that caveat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and hope you come back after our "face lift" to see all the wonderful changes coming our way! The refresh should be complete by the end of February. I am sorry you were on one of the floors that has not been finished yet. We are currently on 6 and 5 working our way down! The pool is finished now and has salt system in now! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Upon check in we learned that the pool was closed for the weekend! The wifi didn't work unless you requested a call from their ISP! Probably one of the poorest hotel stays that I have ever had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am very sorry that the pool was down for maintenance. We were in the process of switching over to a salt system. We had to wait for the new pumps to be installed. We apologize for the inconvenience. We did have passes available to the Rec Plex a mile away from our hotel for our guests to use. I would also like to apologize as our WI_FI provider had technical issues beyond our control. Which have been resolved. We do hope you come back to the area and stop in to see all the upcoming changes on the way! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador