Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Economy motel located close to the MKE Airport

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: 24 hr. Shuttle service to the airport.
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance.
Location: Convenient to Oshkosh Air Show. 1.5 hrs.
The room was not clean, particularly the bathroom--mold in the shower. The air conditioner leaked all over the floor. The rollaway was unusable so we put the mattress on the floor and it got wet. Towels were thin and worn. No amenities such as shampoo, Kleenex. We did not get our wake-up call. In general, it was a bad experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Mark, I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't stay here again

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The hotel staff were pleasant and accommodating. It was close to the highway - easy to get in and out. The hotel itself was very run down. The bed smelled of smoke even though this was a nonsmoking room. The pillows were old, the bedspread was obviously very old and full of pilling, the sheets were marginal. I would not recommend this and would not stay in an Econo Lodge again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I regret that you were not comfortable during your stay at our hotel. Please know that we value your business, we will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Have a lovely day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over night stay

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Wi-Fi dropped out of service every 5 minutes. Very hard to connect to service. Worst part their heaters ONLY WORK by motion detectors so when u leave your room, we came back to FREEZING conditions. This was confirmed by their staff, so when you go to bed, heater motion detectors DO NOT notice movement so it SHUTS OFF while you sleep. Had to sleep fully clothed, just horrible situation. Highly recommend folks to spend a few more dollars and upgrade to a better hotel. Oh and continental breakfast always out of food. I should have known, you get what you pay for, lesson learned. Would NEVER go here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing to us today. We are sending our apologies since you had some issues during your stay. We usually have a lot of data traffic with our wifi and this may be one of the reasons why you had trouble. We will be working on purchasing a wifi booster and also try to see if we can work on better heaters for you. We hope we get the chance to stay have you with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockford IL

The location & price was the only reason I stayed

Posted Oct 20, 2015
The room wasn't properly cleaned! The pillow cases where dingy and where not place on the bed neatly! The floor wasn't vacuumed and the room smelled like smoke upon arrival!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ja'Nyiah, I’m glad to hear that you had the time to write us a review. My apologies if you found our hotel to be unpleasant. We always make sure that none of our guests smoke in our non-smoking rooms and once we have verified this incident we would be more than happy to disinfect and thoroughly clean our pillow cases and floor. We hope we get the chance to have you stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FT LAUDERDALE

very nice for the money.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: as mentioned above. save money convenient
Location: plenty of shopping & restaurants 1/2 mile from the Oak Creek Diner, best diner in WI
my 5th time staying here. very convenient. close to airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ja'Nyiah, I’m glad to hear that you had the time to write us a review. My apologies if you found our hotel to be unpleasant. We always make sure that none of our guests smoke in our non-smoking rooms and once we have verified this incident we would be more than happy to disinfect and thoroughly clean our pillow cases and floor. We hope we get the chance to have you stay with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
I paid for a non smoking room and received a smoking room. I could hardly breath as the room smelt so bdaly of cigarette smoke and more was coming from out side through the air conditioner vent as people smoked out side my room. There was ash on the carpet and cigarette burns in the bed spread. When I asked for a different room I was declind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I wish we have more information about your stay so we can verify what took place and address your concern. On behalf of staff and management team, I apologize for the unpleasant experience, we hope to make up for our shortcomings in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for price

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix air conditioner drain
Location: Near airport
Check in was easy and room layout nice. Bath was remodeled. Room was clean. Unfortunately air conditioner leaked soaking carpeting under the window. I was able to avoid that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by GRM, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you faced due to the AC leak in the room you stayed. This oversight will be called to the attention of our maintenance for corrective measure. I hope you will stay with us again in the future and allow us to make up for our shortcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Good Value.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Economical place to stay. Nice enough, clean enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Hello B, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel and we are very pleased to hear that you find us of good value. We will do our best to make your next visit another pleasant and value experience. Thank you for your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Certainly no 24 hour shuttle service

Posted May 8, 2015
Breakfast was the worse I have ever seen. And it was dirty. Doors have large spaces and you can hear every one and everything. Couldn't understand the front desk person at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jp, I am very concerned about your shared experience and description of the the room you occupied. We make certain that our guest rooms are at its best condition before releasing for guests’ occupancy. I am sorry that you were displeased with your stay. I will accelerate your feedback so that your visit is verified and addressed accordingly. Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

desk clerks very friendly and helpful

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: location price comfortable
Cons: carpeting replaced little old and worn, parking avaiablity could be better
Location: near I 94 go to Milwaukee downtown or south to Chicago lakefront restaurants were great
nice stay comfortable and clean room good price would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliment for our front desk staff. Our team is truly pleased to have met your satisfaction. We thank you for your excellent review. We will make certain your next visit will be another pleasant experience.