Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
16% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants in bed

Posted Apr 22, 2017
There where ants all over our pillows and they never even want to accommodate me
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nothing But Problems for a Short, Overnight Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The serviceman Matt who came to the room was very professional and made an attempt to make our stay comfortable, he's the only good thing I found.
Cons: Even if the hotel is being renovated, this room should not be rented to anyone. The condition is inexcusable. Staff training is definitely needed.
This was a quick overnight trip to Milwaukee so I thought I'd take a chance on the GrandStay Hotel & Suites even though it didn't have great ratings. Well, I lost. It started with the hotel having no record of my reservation. I showed her my confirmation info from Expedia so she honored my rate but we weren't off to a good start and it went downhill from there. The room was horrible. Lots of stains on the carpet, black mildew in the shower, dust on the clock and dressers and debris on the floor, leading me to believe the room hadn't even been cleaned. Again since we checked in at almost 9pm and were leaving early in the morning, so we thought we would roll with it and just go to bed. We turned on the air in the room which brought blasts of hot air which we couldn't stop. The best surprise came when my sister turned down the sheets on her bed to discover a blood stain right in the middle of the sheet as well as hair on the pillowcase. NOW a call was made to the front desk to send someone up to change the sheets. The serviceman who came, Matt, was very professional and friendly, and proceeded to change the sheets for us. While doing this he was sweating so much he actually stopped to see what was wrong with our unit. He attempted to fix it but couldn't, so he came back with a fan so we could at least get some air circulation. He accidentally took the TV remote with him so we called down to let them know and request that one be brought to the room but no one came.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee wi

Okay place

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Okay place but because I'm a Milwaukee resident that I couldn't book another night. I've never heard of anything like this before but I was told it's hotel policy...Good thing I found a place to stay for another night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We have our rules and policies to better serve our guests. We appreciate the feedback. Thanks again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The room was covered in dust. The front desk person was no where to be found when I was trying to check in. Some of the renovations looked very cheap and there were bugs by the pool and bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review. We have not started our renovations yet. Your observations are correct which is why we will be doing a full blown renovation soon. Unfortunately, I am unable to see what room you stayed in since the name is anonymous. Please feel free to contact me direct if you wish to discuss these issues further. Thanks again for the review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
When we got there, we went into our room that was extremely hot, turned on theAC and heat was coming out. We were drenched in sweat. Then looked in the bathroom and no towels. Walked out to go to the lobby, ice machine was flooding the floor. Got to the front desk and told them the AC was broke and was told that the building is either all heat or all AC and the hotel is still on heat. Asked for towels, walked up to the room and realized we were given small floor towels, went back down and was told those were the only ones they have at that time. Went back up, tried to deal with the heat and couldn't. Got up and packed, went across the street and got a much better room! NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review. These service issues are unacceptable and I will be speaking with my staff. Thank you for the review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The hotel was weird and the pool was even clean. My room was too hot when to the front desk to send someone to turn off the heater no one come. I will never go back to that hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello Miriam, thank you for your review. I am sorry you had issues with your stay. We are going to be renovating soon. We will correct our heating problems. Thanks again for the review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee, Wi

It was horrible experience

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The bathroom was dirty. Heater was making a lot of noise that in couldnt sleep at all No AC in the hotel and I was sweating like crazy. But expedia refunded me the entire amount that i paid, so that was worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello Damey, thank you for your review. I am sorry you encountered issues with your rooms. I am happy to hear we took care of the issues for you. Thanks again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The hotel didn't bother to tell us they needed to put a $355 dollar hold on our card tell we checked in.. The doors to the room was like a prison door. The bathroom was made for a lil kid. The room it's self was very small. The restaurant/bar was not open once while we was there. No hot tub and the exercise equipment was in the same room as the pool. When we checked out they said the charge from our card would be put back on Monday morning, when we checked the account they only put $150 dollars back in there. Called hotel and lady argued with me about the remaining amount saying it would be on there and I had to call Tuesday and argue with her again and come to find out they double charged us for the room. It was a terrible stay. Will never be going back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello Teresa, I am sorry you had issues during your 2 night stay at our hotel. We do not advertise that we have a restaurant. We just have empty restaurant space. I am sorry for the confusion. Refunds take 5 business days depending on your bank. I am glad we took care of the issue for you. Thanks again for the review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eau Claire, WI

Disappointing

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: the location to the airport
Cons: breakfast options and signage for ice machines
Our bathroom light barely turned on and the shower made a loud hissing noise when in use. The two closest ice machines to our room listed on the map on the back of the room door did not exist and the ice machine by the lobby was out of order. The back exit door on the second floor would not open at all and the outside doors at entrance B were not secure and did not require a door card to enter. I usually choose GrandStays because they have a nice breakfast but this one had bread, cereal, oatmeal and coffee...very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello Jody, we are upgrading our breakfast to the "Hot" breakfast your're used to at GrandStay. We are launching our new breakfast April 4, 2017. I will speak to my staff about your concerns. Please visit us again next time you are in the area. Thanks again for the review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Very poor service. The rooms were not clean. The complete hotel had only 1 person working when we checked in. We waited for 30 minutes before she was able to check us in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Joe D , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you encountered issues during your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, you did not leave your name and I am not able to look up your account. I will speak with my staff about these issues. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss these issues further. Thanks again for the review.