Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oconomowoc,Wi.

Birthday getaway

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: It was clean, inviting, quiet,fantastic room , friendly staff,close to major attractions downtown.
Cons: Maybe cut down on the temptations in the fridge and next to the coffee machine that are expensive.
Location: Right down town, most in walking distance or a brief taxi ride, nightclubs, casino, restaurants , shopping, brewery tours , the lake and museums.
Last minute booking for a overnight stay went smooth, we were greeted at the door by a friendly doorman, check in was done in two minutes, the Hotel had a cozy nice feeling as soon as we walked into the Lobby, our room was a surprise, it was huge with a separate sitting area, large bathroom with Aveda products, comfortable bed and very CLEAN, I travel with bleach wipes but none were needed!! Highly recommend this place, restaurant and bar were also great, we had dinner and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

no real complaints

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Nice hotel. Good if discounts available. Not worth standard room price over Hilton or Marriott in the area. Also, there are historical taxes and a $27 per night parking charge they don't tell you about until you're already there. Great restaurant and great proximity to rest of downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Natasha B., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do offer packages that include the parking, that may be of interest to you during a future stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Downtown Milwaukee

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: upgrade interior decor
Location: nice Italian restaurant across the street
Slightly understated decor, great size rooms. room on the third floor heard everything out of the window, trash collection, etc. Loved the large tub and used it. a friend booked directly with the hotel at a much better price. that was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Natasha B., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are looking to do some renovating in the very near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not as advertised

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Cons: Accurate information on website. Also when we checked in there were obviously 3 people not 2.
Location: Milwaukee is great. There are many other nice hotels nearby to this one that I would suggest instead.
I got a queen suite room for myself, my husband and my 17 year old son. It said it slept 3 people on the website. It had one queen bed and a tiny loveseat that was not a pull-out. I ended up having to pay for a rollaway bed for my son. When I called down about getting the bed (at 10:30pm at night when we realized there was not a pull-out) it took them an hour to deliver the bed to us. The staff were very rude about it when I questioned it saying that it was my fault for booking with Expedia instead of directly with them. I did look closely at their own website before booking however and it did say the queen suite slept 3 people. They admitted that only a few of their queen suites actually sleep more than 2 people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A bit pricey, but great location.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
I read other reviews before going to this hotel. While I'll agree it could use some updates, we didn't have any problems with noise, smell, temperature or plumbing. The restaurant and bar were both nice, room was as expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Natasha B., Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Milwaukee!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Forgot the Valet started our stressful travels wonderful, they were again accommodating and so easy.
I found this Hotel last minute for one night & hoped it was good, as this was an addition to our trade Show stay and could not secure the extra night at the Hotel we booked prior. It was a short taxi ride form the WI. Conference Center & a great walk also. We had wished we had our entire stay at the Metro, it was that great. The Room felt like a Suite and the Soft Art Deco Design and History made it a luxury & romantic. The Restaurant was excellent and the room service was on time and very accommodating (The Coffee was Steaming Hot!!!). I highly recommend staying at the Metro Hotel and anytime I travel to Milwaukee, that is where I'll stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Natasha B., Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Minor flaws but overall nice hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The "Not so good" Small vanities - no where to put toiletries. Dated rooms - they are going for retro but feels outdated Insufficient lighting in room The "Good" Room was very large The "Great" Ambience Restaurant Location Price/value Staff Not a chain hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Natasha B., Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice stay again

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Hotel is always nice but the restaurant that just changed hands to Pastiche was a complete disaster. The bar area was understaffed and Breakfast in the morning had only on server who could not keep up with the tables. I would not go there for the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Love this little gem!

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location in downtown. That they have their own little cabs. Onsite bar and restaurant.
Cons: Décor in rooms can always be updated. Maybe the sheets to a higher quality.
Location: Summerfest! Downtown. Museums. Shopping. Beer tours. Eating.
I have stayed at this hotel a few times when in town visiting family or attending an event in downtown Milwaukee. I love the ol;d school style and that it has a full bar and restaurant on site. It also has a cab service. Cool little London type cabs that can drop you off anywhere around downtown. It has rom for extra beds if your plans change and I think overall it felt like a very comfortable place that I felt safe walking in and out of for a few days to call home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, close to restaurants and attractions.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Hotel staff and valet parking staff excellent and very customer service conscious! Dining area staff and food quality need considerable improvement. Had 8 guests for dinner shuffled into back room, one wall had a wall of pealing paint. Server didn't recommend Happy Hour wine because "it wasn't very good". Ceaser salad below average, same with wings and most items ordered. Breakfast no better with service. Avoid restaurant!