Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Expected more..

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Where to start?
Location: Location was the only plus, was able to walk to a good restaurant
I would have expected more from a vintage hotel called the Milwaukee Healh club. Carpet in room was rumpelted in the room, very dated bath room with water turning very hot to very cold. They offered a wine tasting in the lobby and I was told it was for " members only", in a not so warm tone. She sat there for hours with no one coming in. Advice, go somewhere else to spend your $$$$.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Wisconsin

Great location in downtown Milwaukee

Posted May 5, 2017
Unfortunately the hotel needs a lot of remodeling. It does not have the modern niceties we are accustomed to. The lighting in the room was so bad you have a difficult time putting on makeup or my husband couldn't see to shave. The wall paper was peeling at the edges. Plus the halls had the same problem. We had to walk past one room where the door was broken in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but NICE.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and clean room.
When I arrived the staff was very friendly. The décor had a "vintage" feel, but the room was clean and the location made it very easy to get around downtown (where I was working that day). The parking garage was nice and for the price, it was a great deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Good location, close to car ferry

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Furnishings, warm atmosphere. Location!
Cons: Rooms need renovating, especially bathrooms. Towels were of poor quality and quite worn.
Location: Downtown and close to stores, restaurants, etc.
First room was unacceptable with malfunctioning blinds, curtains and heating system. Second room did not have these problems, however, the armchair needed reupholstering and overall the room needed renovating, ie bathroom upgraded, walls painted, new closet doors. Loved the antique furniture everywhere in the hotel. Did not have time to explore amenities so my review is lacking in this aspect. Helpful staff who tried their best to remedy room problem. Location of hotel is very close to car ferry terminal!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Great facilities if you're into working out.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
While the rooms are a little dated and in need of an upgrade, the staff is very friendly and helpful, overall I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Quiet and clean hotel considering all of the construction and people passing through. Hotel staff are very hospitable and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Beautiful, historic hotel conveniently located

Posted Mar 28, 2017
I loved this quaint hotel located in the heart of downtown! The staff was extremely friendly and easy to communicate with. Overall an enjoyable experience. Would recommend and would stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Convenient location if you are attending events downtown
Cons: Updates especially in the bathroom.
Location: Performing Arts Center, Great Restaurants, Third Ward, Metro Market
The hotel is very old with few updates. No restaurant or food available in the hotel. Hotel was very crowded with an event so we were told not to take our car out of the parking lot or we wouldn't be able to park in the structure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Cheap stay, outdated rooms

Posted Feb 14, 2017
For a room being only $99 a night, this was a cheap stay. However, the bathrooms in particular were in desperate need of remodeling. The rooms themselves were fine, reminded me of staying in a grandmother's house.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dress cose

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Separate swimming pool for men and woman. Real bummer finding that out after check in. Also, there's a dress code so we couldn't take advantage of the breakfast since we only brought jeans with us. If you're a rich old man you'll probably love this place.