Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Another Bad Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Two of the lights in the room didn't work, all the TV channels were broadcast in what looked like a negative from the film days or the way unpaid movie channels were broadcasted on cable in the 80's and they ran out of waffle batter and butter an hour before breakfast was over and wouldn't bring any more out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Julia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Rundown lodging

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pulled up to the hotel and instantly regretted booking a room. The hotel looked run down. Checked in and stayed on the third floor which I was told was remodeled. Room had water damage all over the ceiling. Bathroom had someone's hair in the bathtub and on toilet. The toilet had a water ring in it from not being cleaned. Tv stand was broken and dusty. My pillowcase had huge clumps of someone's hair in it. Breakfast was the only perk and we had to stand in line and fight the crowd of rude people. Would never stay again or refer this property to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you had so many issues when staying here with us. Nobody contacted the front desk staff to lets us know any issues you were having so the housekeeping staff or management may go into your room and see the issues that were going on. There are several step we could have taken to make your stay a lot better, such as switch your room for you or offer a refund if you wanted to switch hotels. We have received a lot of positive feedback regarding our renovations here at the hotel and feel terrible that we were not aware of any problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Nice hotel for a short stay.

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: I liked it was clean and was close to restaurants and shopping in the middle of Brookfield.
Cons: The cable tv could be upgraded, not many options.
Location: Many restaurants and shopping nearby.
Hotel was nice, clean. Has wifi, swimming pool, and breakfast. Stayed a few nights and hotel was fine to go out during the day and sleep there at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
I am so gald you were pleased with your stay with us! Right now we offer digital cable with over 100 channels along with HBO, but I have discussed options with the ownership company about upgrading. I thank you for our patronage and hope when traveling to the MIlwaukee/ Brookfield area you will stay with again! Happy Travels~
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cleanliness is my main complaint.

Posted May 28, 2017
Bathroom faucets were filthy. We had to clean them the best we could to feel any sort of comfortable using them. Which makes me wonder what we couldn't see
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Julia Jacobs, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you bathroom faucet was dirty. This is an anonymous review and I cannot retrieve your reservation information or what room you stayed in. Our hotel take pride in giving our guests clean and comfortable accommodations so I please ask you to contact the hotel at your earliest to see what room you were in and correct this situation.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Additional guests

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Good Staff
We rented 3 rooms. One had ants crawling out of the tub drain. Another had drain stopper that as missing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Julia J., Hotel Management
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding ants in the drain and your tub stopper on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance department to ensure we handle these types of situations. Please know in the future to contact the desk during your stay if any issues arise. While your here, we can take care of any issues immediately. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. Kind regards, Julia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Convenient location near the interstate

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: the comfort of the bed so we could get a good night of sleep.
Cons: It could have been cleaner.
Location: We were there to attend a relative's funeral; no time for other activities. Location was good for family get togethers.
On the positive side, we did have a good night sleep and the bed was comfortable. Room was crowded and the facility appears to be very old and run down in a number of ways; our room had a leak in the ceiling at one time and the repair job was not good. The woman who checked us in was not friendly and seemed impatient; the same was true for the person who checked us out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
4 out of 5
by Donald

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 4 stars review! We hope when traveling the Milwaukee/ Brookfield area you will stay with us again and safe travels! Julia
2 out of 5
by Lori

Very Disapointed

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
All the advertisements make it seem like a nice place, but it really was kind of a dive. The room was dirty, the temperature was not pleasant at all, and we tried to adjust it, but it would not let us. Not a place I would ever stay in again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you had issues with your heater and the cleanliness of your guest room. We could have switched your rooms for you if we knew of the issues during your stay or at the very least had housekeeping and maintenance go up to your rooms and correct any issues right away. I hope you can contact me at your earliest time to go over your reservation and see what room you were in. Thank you very much for this feedback and I will be sharing this with my staff. Hope to hear back from you soon! Sincerely, Julia
4 out of 5
by LJ

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 4 stars! We are please your stay was pleasant and when traveling the Milwaukee/ Brookfield area we hope to see you again for your lodging needs! -Julia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to see the 2 stars we were rated. Please contact me at the hotel when you get a chance so I can know in detail and address any issues that you experience here with us. Sincerely, -Julia