Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenosha,WI

Nice close to shopping and highway

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Rooms are clean and comfortable. Modern décor. Onsite restaurant, it was nice to grab an appetizer before shopping.
Cons: Need microwave and fridges in all guest rooms.
Location: Shopping, highway easy access. Not very many restaurants. Ate at Cracker Barrel as Texas Roadhouse had an hour wait.
A girls get away. Shopping, eating and relaxing. The accommodations, staff and overall appearance of the hotel met my expectations. The room size was ok for 2..shared a double room. Our friends had a suite(limited number) nice size. Included a fridge and microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2016 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. It is great having the outlet mall right here. We have lists of local restaurants available at the front desk. I am sorry to see you had to go to Cracker Barrel due to the long wait at the Texas Roadhouse. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the area. Renee' Witkowski Guest Ambassador
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good enough for a quick business trip

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Good hotel for my business trip since it was close to the office. Have to say the bed was not very comfortable and the amenities were lacking (the shampoo and conditioner were different scents which I thought was interesting). My room faced the freeway and the noise was a bit loud but I was able to sleep well anyway. Not a bad stay knowing this is a 3-star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope your travels bring you back to the area after we have our renovation this year so you can try out our new beds, along with a complete make-over.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Decent hotel, easy access to highway and shopping. Good restaurant, not the most comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We will be going through a complete renovation in the next few months. I hope you are in the area again so you can come check out the new beds! Thank you and we look forward to your return in the future! Renee' Witkowski Guest Ambassador
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I always stay here when in Kenosha

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I'm always here on business and get picked up by associates. I don't rent a car. The hotel is adjacent to a huge retail outlet mall. (continued below)
Location: There are no restaurants nearby except theirs. Kenosha has tons of great eats. Would be nice to have a shuttle to take you to the Route 50 restaurants
My rating says it all, but I will comment on the staff, who are friendly, courteous and eager to assist. The lobby is impressive. Very clean and nicely decorated. My room was perfectly clean, as usual and the king bed was as comfortable as a bed could be. A short walk down the main hall is The Chancery restaurant and bar. The food is affordable and excellent and the saloon welcoming. I didn't use the pool, but I stuck my head in for a quick look (Stuck my head in the door, not the water) at it was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. I am sorry we do not shuttle to the local area. We recommend Uber as we do not have a lot of taxi or bus options in our area. I am happy to see you did not stick your head in the water, we prefer our guests to stay above water...;) Hope to see you again the next time your in town for business! Renee' Witkowski Guest Ambassador
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. I am sorry we do not shuttle to the local area. We recommend Uber as we do not have a lot of taxi or bus options in our area. I am happy to see you did not stick your head in the water, we prefer our guests to stay above water...;) Hope to see you again the next time your in town for business! Renee' Witkowski Guest Ambassador
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the freeway but not noisy

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Just spent one night. The room was clean. Check in was quick and easy. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy to see you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your return the next time you are in our area. Renee' Witkowski Gust Experience Ambassador
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Great hotel, friendly staff, clean room.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Our room was on the 5th floor had a great view of the nearby mall, it was not noisy, the room was very clean the staff was very friendly. We did not take advantage of the restaurants for breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Renee', Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the hotel. We have quite a few guests that request the mall view. We look forward to your return the next time your travels bring you our way! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
3 out of 5
by Cindy from Illinois

Will have to consider other hotels next time.

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel many times for swim meets. I was a little disappointed this time. The beds have been changed and are no longer sleep number beds. I found the bed too soft and uncomfortable. They no longer serve coffee in the afternoon. The work out room was closed for floor renovation and I didn't find out until I walked down in my workout clothes at 7 a.m. Very disappointing as it was too cold to run outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by bailey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review for our hotel. I am very sorry to see you were disappointed this time. We still have sleep-number beds, I am sorry if your room was not one of them. We will be getting a complete renovation this year so we will be replacing all the beds in the hotel. I believe they will be pillow-top mattresses. Also, I am sorry the workout room was closed for the weekend to put the new rubber floor mats in. Sincerely, Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
We were there only one night but the location and the room, was perfect for my family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you our way. Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from waukegin il

Extremely fantastic

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The room for quite extraordinary clean and pleasant and the staff was extremely helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We a pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your return in the future. Happy New Year! Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was good. I love what you do for the folks staying for the Cancer Center!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by bailey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love having the CTCA guests with us! They are like family to us. Sincerely, Renee' Witkowski Guest Experience Ambassador