Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingsford

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Location: Miller park is pretty close by and Oscars is a great eating place for awesome burgers
An awesome experience unlike any other. The owners, Rick and Laura Sue, know how to make their guests feel so very welcome. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and hope I get the opportunity to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron Ohio

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The museum quality of the house. I do not mean the house wasn't functional, it was but everywhere you looked had more to see.
Cons: I was on the top floor, lots of stairs which are not a problem for us. Be sure to indicate if stairs are an issue they do have lower rooms.
Location: Proximity to downtown is great. Casino is close. The immediate neighborhood is rough but all guests do get off street parking.
I would have paid more to stay at the Shuster house. The neighborhood is not the greatest, but the house is. You truly do enter a different time when civility and quality meant more to travelers. The interior of the home is museum quality and our host's were both gracious and very knowledgeable about the local area. Travelling for me is about the people I meet along the way and I will stay at Shuster house again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Accommodation nightmare named: " Schuster Mansion"

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything! this property as an INN should be re-evaluated entirely!
Location: I dared getting out of this property until the day-break, and then only, to drive away fast!
My experience was, simply put, a nightmare. The "Schuster Mansion" website proved to be very deceiving, to start with, by NOT describing the neighborhood and the locality where this establishment is situated! (one needs to live in Milwaukee in order to know the different neighborhoods). The multitude of security features to get in & out of this property is very well telling of how unsafe the neighborhood is. The staff, including the owner, is anything but what the ethics of hospitality and Inn-ownership defines; rude and self-centered. The bedroom was all by-itself a disaster, damp, dark, and untidy; no bathroom (sharing a bathroom with other guest with color-coded towels assigned to different guests!), mid-night to early morning activities (very much typical and descriptive for this kind of neighborhood) kept my eyes ( and my mind) open all night long. I was relieved when by day break, without taking shower and having breakfast, I could get out of this joint, and drive away. A disaster, by all means!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jonathan from Bend, OR

Treated like family

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
The owners make the stay worth it. They dropped me off and picked me up at the baseball game. It was like visiting family that you like to visit. Food was better than most restaurants. The room was very comfortable. I will stay here every time I come to Milwaukee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ronald from Columbus

Awesome accommodations and Charming People

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
I had an extremely enjoyable night's stay at this very well done Victorian home. Each room has it's own personality so you could stay several times and it would be a fresh new experience. The hostess was warm and friendly and attentive, and the breakfast (hand made crepes,fruit, and ginger bread and cream) was awesome the following morning. The exterior had some construction going on but did not bother the quality stay I enjoyed. I would definitely do this again and again. Thanks RON
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cute place, creepy neighborhood

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent stay! Neighborhood was a little shady, but we had no issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gregory from Wichita, KS

Unique

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. It was great to have an interesting hotel to be absorbed in rather than the typical corporate chain hotel. The breakfast was outstanding and we enjoyed visiting with the couple, who also dined with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful mansion with great owners.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
The mansion was a wonderful artifact full of lovely antiques. The proprieters were friendly and good natured and they cooked an outstanding breakfast! I would recomend this place to a friend. Ignore anyone's comments that it is in a "bad area." People just fear any sort of ethnic diversity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nick and Carrie from Mchenry

Home away from home!!!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
A stunning display of the late 1800s and the early 1900s!!!!Thank you Laura Sue and Rick for your amazing hospitality!!! We had an amazing stay with amazing food in an amazing room!! The comfort and the warmth of the Schuster mansion makes for an incredible stay. Until next time...cheers!