Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Like a historic inn

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Bathrooms, with large walk in showers. Comfortable beds with tons of pillows.
Cons: A book with local phone numbers to various restaurants and services would be helpful. Soundproofing, a staff member at the desk, temperature control.
Location: Right downtown near bars, restaurants, and coffee shops. Small shops within walking distance. Hotel parking is near hotel.
Nice place. Very few staff members around. Bartender only one on one evening. Elevator only goes to the second floor - old building so no way to change that. No room service or vending machines. Doors shut very loudly even if closed slowly. Temperature control was difficult. Had to reprogram thermostat. A/C vent right over bed and it blows hard! The scarce staff and lack of vending machines are things I experienced at other "Inn" types of hotels. The loud doors and temperature are in need of repair. This hotel is located right downtown near restaurants and bars. Very loud on Friday night. TV and A/C help block the noise. Thin walls and old windows! I would stay there again simply for the location. Is it the best place I've ever stayed? Absolutely not! Is it acceptable? Absolutely!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected luxury!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Charm, huge rooms and very comfortable beds.
Cons: The upholstery on one of the chars could have used a cleaning. Thicker blinds on the windows re: the sound outside.
If you like charm, this hotel is loaded with it! The bathroom at this establishment was very luxurious for the price range. I wish I had had more time to spend in the room. Also, the breakfast quiche was awesome! If I head back to the Milwaukee area, this is where I will stay.
4 out of 5
by Monika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Erik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stefanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Erika from Seattle, WA

Surprisingly Nice

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Jeff, the manager, was super friendly even at 4am when I checked in. Only real complaints were that there were some bulbs burned out in the room, and the lamps and alarm clock on the nightstands were unplugged, meaning I had to plug them in and set the clock. Not a huge deal for me, but might be a problem for someone elderly or disabled. Provided a toothbrush, which was much appreciated as I'd forgotten one. The sight of the minibar got me excited, but it was empty.
4 out of 5
by Doug from La Crosse Wi

Clarke Hotel Waukesha wi.

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Really cool old restored building, only about 20 rooms. Road construction in front of the hotel was unfortunate, forcing us to park a block away. Breakfast didn't amount to much, but the coffee was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Hotel has a great location in downtown Waukesha.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The room was very spacious and the bathroom was great! It had an oversized tub and shower. Very nice amenities also including a robe.
Cons: Have insulated windows, so that you don't hear all the street noise at 2AM.
Location: There are antique stores and art gallery's downtown, along with some great places to dine at. I really enjoy the downtown area.
The room was very noisy due to the numerous bars in the area. There is very little insulation due to the age of the building. I would not recommend this hotel if you need sleep.
5 out of 5
by Kelly from Marquette

Perfect!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
I was nervous about this hotel based on the reviews I read. I'm glad that I booked anyway. The hotel was very tastefully decorated, comfortable and fun! Myself and 3 friends we in town for a running race. It was the perfect hotel for a girls getaway. The neighborhood had great restaurants. The only trouble we had was the construction on many of the roads-which we all agreed would be fabulous when completed. Staff was excellent, and even set out breakfast for us earlier than the set time, due to us having to leave early for our race Saturday morning. Would definitely return and recommend :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint Hotel in Quaint Town

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, staff was very friendly, room was very elegant. Really good value for the price.