Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McHenry, United States of America

Cute but disappointing

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient for Carroll University
Cons: Tell guests about the 3rd floor. Soundproofing the windows on street side. Make sure batteries in remotes work.
Location: Downtown Waukesha, Wisconsin- shops and restaurants
My daughter and I stayed at the Clarke so that we could attend a college visit at Carroll University. The location is very convenient and next to some very cute shops and restaurants. Due to the location try to get a room that doesn't face the street side to avoid noise at night. The room itself was a little worn/outdated but the bed was comfortable. My only real complaint is that we were give a room on the 3rd floor, yet not told how to find our room. (The elevator stops at 2- you have to get off, figure out which end of the hallway has stairs, and then go up 3 sets of odd stairs to find the 3rd floor.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice staff, extremely disappointing room.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
I only needed to stay for one evening for a business trip. The check-in was fine, but once I got to the room, I immediately regretted booking this hotel. The heater was too loud to sleep to, so I picked being cold instead of being kept up by the buzzing all night. The next morning, I went to take a shower and the drain didn't work so water just kept building up. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eagle River WI

This is classy hotel and very quite.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: everything!!
Cons: Only elevator to second floor
Location: bars, entertainment, restaurants, shops
I love the décor. I love how peaceful it is even though it is located in the center of historic Downtown Waukesha. Staff was amazing. A lot to see in the area and the rate was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FDL

Irish bday getaway

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Old style, clean, neat and conveniently located.
Cons: Bartenders were a little crabby.....
Location: Fun bar across the street, Nice Ash. Cool shops within walking distance.
Wonderful time spent overnight at the Clarke. Great music and food. We had so much fun!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW Texas

College Reunion Weekend Stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
My second stay at The Clarke...rooms are very roomy, high ceilings, great beds and bathroom amenities (all-Kohler fixtures, with 4 "level" shower). Nice breakfast offering...self-serve but better than most. Might consider having those mini-coffee creamer pods rather than a carton of milk, though. Two areas of concern not present in first visit. First, no washcloths in bathroom (I found this odd). Second, and more disappointing, was the mini-fridge in the room which did not work. I mentioned it to the desk clerk shortly after arrival and no action was taken during my 2 night stay. Admittedly, it was a over a weekend, but the condition of the fridge, tilting forward from its enclosure, was such that it could not have gone unnoticed by the housekeeping folks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Like a historic inn

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Bathrooms, with large walk in showers. Comfortable beds with tons of pillows.
Cons: A book with local phone numbers to various restaurants and services would be helpful. Soundproofing, a staff member at the desk, temperature control.
Location: Right downtown near bars, restaurants, and coffee shops. Small shops within walking distance. Hotel parking is near hotel.
Nice place. Very few staff members around. Bartender only one on one evening. Elevator only goes to the second floor - old building so no way to change that. No room service or vending machines. Doors shut very loudly even if closed slowly. Temperature control was difficult. Had to reprogram thermostat. A/C vent right over bed and it blows hard! The scarce staff and lack of vending machines are things I experienced at other "Inn" types of hotels. The loud doors and temperature are in need of repair. This hotel is located right downtown near restaurants and bars. Very loud on Friday night. TV and A/C help block the noise. Thin walls and old windows! I would stay there again simply for the location. Is it the best place I've ever stayed? Absolutely not! Is it acceptable? Absolutely!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected luxury!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Charm, huge rooms and very comfortable beds.
Cons: The upholstery on one of the chars could have used a cleaning. Thicker blinds on the windows re: the sound outside.
If you like charm, this hotel is loaded with it! The bathroom at this establishment was very luxurious for the price range. I wish I had had more time to spend in the room. Also, the breakfast quiche was awesome! If I head back to the Milwaukee area, this is where I will stay.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Edina

good for those who avoid chain hotels

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
5th stay for business travel, rooms not on main street are quieter, request room with desk/table if business travel. Good continental breakfast. Some sketchy people hanging about on the sidewalks, and you do need to get hotel parking pass and park after checking in. Very comfy beds, quirky halls and stairwells make it charming. Avoid 3rd floor if you have heavy luggage as elevator only foes to floor 2.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly privately run hotel - great room

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly privately run hotel - great room
3 out of 5
by James

Nice location

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel was unique. With a very nice Pub, and Brian was a great bartender. My biggest complaint was outside the rooms there was an awful odor.