Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mankato, MN

Great restaurant/bar, rooms were good

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, bar and restaurant
Cons: Little more attention to cleanliness.
Location: Great location downtown, especially in the summer. Coffee shops, restaurants all nearby.
So I've stayed here a few times, and while it was a good experience, some attention to details (bathroom cleanliness) have slipped a little. Rooms are huge. Restaurant/bar is terrific. I was lucky to be here on a night when they had some traditional Irish music live. So a nice treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I love this hotel!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel twice now and each time it becomes more like home away from home. David and Josh are awesome! I'll definitely be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: TV working.. Heat.
Being downtown parking is provided about a one block away. The check-in process was good. My 3rd floor room looked out over a busy downtown street of bars, tatoo parlors and diners. However my room window only had a blind for 1/2 of the windows so everyone across the street could see into my room also. The good news was the weather that night was 10 below zero so not a lot of people on the street. However my room was 60 degrees upon entering and the thermostat was not working so it was nice they had a nice comforter on the bed to try and stay warm. The TV also was not working but I was too cold to care. Bathroom shower was excellent and room was big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Charming hotel right in the midst of things

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Comfort and atmosphere. The general manager is also great - he offered us a late check-out to clean-up after running a local race on Dec. 4.
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing.
Location: Small local restaurants, shops, chocolate store, pubs - but not a franchise to be found. 10 minutes from a major shopping area if you want.
The Clarke offers boutique hotel charm plus huge rooms, beautiful old wood and a charming atmosphere. One of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in and a huge walk-in shower with side jets was amazing. Located in downtown Waukesha it's within walking distance of dozens of smalls shops and restaurants. Bring your walking shoes and stroll the resurging area, eat, drink, shop and enjoy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McHenry, United States of America

Cute but disappointing

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient for Carroll University
Cons: Tell guests about the 3rd floor. Soundproofing the windows on street side. Make sure batteries in remotes work.
Location: Downtown Waukesha, Wisconsin- shops and restaurants
My daughter and I stayed at the Clarke so that we could attend a college visit at Carroll University. The location is very convenient and next to some very cute shops and restaurants. Due to the location try to get a room that doesn't face the street side to avoid noise at night. The room itself was a little worn/outdated but the bed was comfortable. My only real complaint is that we were give a room on the 3rd floor, yet not told how to find our room. (The elevator stops at 2- you have to get off, figure out which end of the hallway has stairs, and then go up 3 sets of odd stairs to find the 3rd floor.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice staff, extremely disappointing room.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
I only needed to stay for one evening for a business trip. The check-in was fine, but once I got to the room, I immediately regretted booking this hotel. The heater was too loud to sleep to, so I picked being cold instead of being kept up by the buzzing all night. The next morning, I went to take a shower and the drain didn't work so water just kept building up. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagle River WI

This is classy hotel and very quite.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: everything!!
Cons: Only elevator to second floor
Location: bars, entertainment, restaurants, shops
I love the décor. I love how peaceful it is even though it is located in the center of historic Downtown Waukesha. Staff was amazing. A lot to see in the area and the rate was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from FDL

Irish bday getaway

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Old style, clean, neat and conveniently located.
Cons: Bartenders were a little crabby.....
Location: Fun bar across the street, Nice Ash. Cool shops within walking distance.
Wonderful time spent overnight at the Clarke. Great music and food. We had so much fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW Texas

College Reunion Weekend Stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
My second stay at The Clarke...rooms are very roomy, high ceilings, great beds and bathroom amenities (all-Kohler fixtures, with 4 "level" shower). Nice breakfast offering...self-serve but better than most. Might consider having those mini-coffee creamer pods rather than a carton of milk, though. Two areas of concern not present in first visit. First, no washcloths in bathroom (I found this odd). Second, and more disappointing, was the mini-fridge in the room which did not work. I mentioned it to the desk clerk shortly after arrival and no action was taken during my 2 night stay. Admittedly, it was a over a weekend, but the condition of the fridge, tilting forward from its enclosure, was such that it could not have gone unnoticed by the housekeeping folks.