Ratings based on 1,972 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was perfect.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
This get-away stay was perfect for us. Nothing at all was even close to below par, except their wifi. Had a little problem there but it didn't matter or affect our stay. Excellent hotel &a staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy night at the grand Pfister w no customer svc

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The bellman
Cons: All of the above
Location: Unimportant if you can't sleep
I recently stayed at the Pfister for a night on 6/3/2017 in 2 rooms. Checked out the next morning planning to never go back. Our rooms were next to an open staircase from higher floors where events were being held w music. At 10:30 pm, I asked if they could please turn down the volume some since it was extremely loud in our rooms. They said sure. At 11 pm w no change in volume, I called back and they told me that it was lower volume (not true in my rooms). They offered to move me at 11 pm, and then said that they had no alternatives available. They then said that they could bring me earplugs, sorry and good night! The next morning when I checked out, they said that I would need to talk w Expedia on any refund of my early check out. My guess is that the dignitaries responsible for rating this hotel, are not placed ner the stairwell! Parking was poor, and many of the floor personnel were somewhat arrogant. The people at the front desk were generally friendly and accommodating except for items above. Bellman was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton

Pfister is pfabulous!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Classic, old world architecture.
Cons: I have no suggestions.
Location: The Third Ward is fun - with lots of things to do, see, eat. Alem is an excellent Ethiopian restaurant - as well as A Milinda.
This is my 5th time staying at the Pfister and truly it never disappoints. The staff is extremely nice, discreet, and attentive. The lobby is beautifully appointed and the hotel amenities are just perfect. We always stay in the old section in a 2-room suite and it's always such a treat to have a living room to hang out in instead of laying around the beds all the time. I love the "old lady" pink, gold, and floral décor even though my taste runs more modern, because the Pfister truly feels like a historical experience to stay there - much like the old section of the Waldorf Astoria in NYC. The ballroom gets pretty noisy if your room is next to it, but we were far enough away that it wasn't a problem at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Anniversary trip

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The views and the pool
Very nice accommodation excellent staff Very nice accommodation excellent staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

The Good/The Bad

Posted May 24, 2017
Beautiful overpriced hotel. I had problems with the toilet flushing. The lounge in the lobby area is open until late and gets very loud. I requested a refrigerator, in which they charge a fee each day, it kept nothing cold. There is a lot of construction in the area, so on the weekdays, the noise from the heavy equipment is really loud and starts bright and early. The bed was uncomfortable. On the great side, the pillows were fabulous. The pool has a beautiful view from the 23rd floor. The location is within walking distance to museums, shopping, entertainment, activities and many places of fine food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from irvine,calif

Love everything .

Posted May 21, 2017
One of my top 5 hotels ever. Everything was great. Ready Clean room. Excellent concier. Great food. Beautiful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: It is a quite elegant place.
Cons: The bathroom floor could have been cleaner.
Everyone on the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Elegant

Posted May 6, 2017
Elegant hotel with a beautiful, historic lobby. There was incredible artwork throughout the hotel. We stayed for our anniversary and the staff was courteous and responsive. I would recommend having drinks in the Blu lounge on the top floor. It has a moody atmosphere with a view of the water. Craft drinks with ingredients were interesting. Dinner in the Mason Street Grill was underwhelming and not the anniversary atmosphere we were seeking. Perhaps they're specialty is steaks, which we didn't have. Sauces and dressings were overpowering in the dishes, but they did offer an anniversary dessert which was appreciated. The hotel room itself was ordinary for a luxury hotel but we had the best sleep of our lives in a hotel bed which was comfortable with a comforter that was not too heavy and restricting. Would definitely stay here again. Overall, a delightful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Above and beyond

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: I love the ambiance and the feel of the hotel. I enjoyed the Blu bar very much. I utilized the exercise room as well. People watching is great!
Cons: We had the breakfast plan. It was much more than a continental breakfast. I was a surprised that wine and beer came at an extra cost in the evening.
Location: Shop, dine,enjoy the museum, walk along the lake and enjoy the river walk.
The hotel is in a great location for shopping and dining. The view of Lake Michigan from our room on the 19th floor and the the 23rd was fantastic. Prior to my arrival at the Pfister, I had had a trying day. Harold, the bellman, turned my day around with his contagious smile and his willingness to go above and beyond. Among other things I forgot to bring with me, I left my crutch in the car that dropped me off at the airport. I arrived at the hotel struggling with my belongings and the realization I had no cash or debit card. I didn't want help with my suitcase because I had no tip. I explained this to Harold as he was following me and insisting that he didn't care about the tip. We chatted on the way to my room and he thought that he might be able find a crutch I could borrow from lost and found. About 10 minutes later, he returned with a crutch in hand! He also sent me a special treat because he knew it was my birthday! Harold set the tone for a wonderful birthday weekend with my son.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Beautiful historic hotel with lovely updated rooms

Posted Apr 2, 2017
This hotel is just perfect. They have made everything easy and guest friendly, plus the ambiance is just lovely.