Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Honorio from California

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
Just okay for the price. I like the variety on the menu. No wifi in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, australia

Well organised resort-great snorkeling out front.

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: LocTion, location and great dive masters.
Cons: Ensure towels are changed daily and beds made up please.
Location: The water's edge is three metres from the front entrance, boats are ever ready so snorkel and dive! There are waterfall and forest walks closeby too.
Terrific place, right on the beach with the best snorkeling out front. A mere 5-10 minutes to great dive sites by boat, very professional staff and reliable equipment. 10 minutes back by boat and straight into a hot shower. Brilliant! Seemed effortless! The dive leaders tried really hard to make sure we didn't miss key sea creatures ( though the mimic octupus played very hard to get). The food was good and the happy hour cocktails greatly appreciated. We couldn't fault the staff or the management of the resort - highly recommended! The beach itself (Big La Laguna) was far enough from Sabang to ignore the seedy bars and the sewers leaking into the sea. It felt clean and safe - (despite the gorgeous banded sea kraits seen on nearly all dives). This paradise is just 4 hours bus/ferry from Manila. Ask for a beach front room if you want that additional luxury.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel near the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2016
The first room we got was very smal but we could change for a little bigger. There was a biljart nearby and bar with many noise, one night until 2 am! During the day the hotel was rebuild with much noise!
3 out of 5
by Daniel from United States

Ok, but just ok.

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Ok place, small rooms and overpriced food, but directly on beach.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Laval, Québec, Canada

Great stay

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great Staff and management. Wonderful diving and team. The place could be refresh a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mackay

Right on the Beach

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Showers could do with an upgrade.
Great value Hotel, friendly and knowledgeable staff, Thomas was a very efficient manager who greeted every customer personally and explained all the required details, Rey was a great dive master/instructor ( friendly and passionate about diving and his Island) and the rest of the staff seemed genuinely happy to help.It is away from Sabang Beach (main drop-off point from Luzon) so nice and quiet but still an easy walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Excellent location-snorkelling off the beach

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location and excellent staff!
Cons: Showers need improvement. Would also be nice to have thicker blankets...only sheets available as bed covers.
Location: We had Mac Mac take us around and go snorkelling...great experience and good price.
My friend and I needed a weekend away from noisy Manila so booked this hotel thinking...cheap and cheerful would do the trick. I'm soooo glad we didn't stay in neighbouring Sabang beach which was a bit sleazy but did have the boats to connect to Batangas. Big La Laguna beach is delightful, clean and there is some snorkelling off the beach. We're not actually divers, but enjoyed the divers' scene. The food in the restaurant was so good and there was a cute kitten to play with. The only warning I would give was about the showers...a tiny cold trickle of water when all you want after swimming in the sea is a good hot shower. I ended up using the one for the divers which was outside and in the restaurant area since at least there was water pressure. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful weekend beach experience.
4 out of 5
by Martin from Manila

Decent beach hotel in Big Lalaguna

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
This is a very basic hotel. If you are there for diving it is totally fine but if you are looking for a nice beach vacation I would recommend going to another beach than Big La laguna (or most places in sabang all together). Take the banka to Sabang and walk to the hotel (15 minutes) no reason to take a motorcycle unless you don't want to carry your bags. If you arrive in Puerto Galera a motorcycle is your best choice. I was here for letting my 9 yo try some diving and we had a great time. Staff is friendly but not overly efficient. Diving instructor was simply great (but I believe he's a hired gun and not employed by the hotel). Food is ok, the beach is lined with hotels and pretty much all of them are serving up decent food and offer great views so just make your choice. Small lalaguna and Sabang proper are within 15 minutes walking distance along the seashore. Don't come here for any other reason than diving though, you will most probably be a bit disappointed. The beach isn't very inviting (this goes for the whole area) and accommodation is pretty basic. But again, we had a great time and are definitely open to coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to learn to dive!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Pros Very friendly staff Superior scuba instruction Good value Good food Nice quiet beach location Great macro diving Beautiful weather Cons Some questionable SCUBA rental gear quality Spartan accommodations (The sister resort, Campbells, by the same owner, is cleaner/newer) Overall, this is a great place to learn to dive. The instructors are very helpful and the it is just as beautiful underwater as it is above. The location is a bit isolated - it's a long drive and boat ride from Manila. However, once you get there, you'll find it scenic and serene. It's located on a small beach with a couple of other resorts, isolated from the larger, more commercial, strip. It's a perfect place for a romantic getaway. If you don't have your own SCUBA equipment, make sure you wake up early in the morning to claim the newer gear. Some of the equipment is top notch, but the rest is on its last legs. The SCUBA team is in the process of buying new equipment. In terms of accommodations; they're sparse. It's a family run business with limited resources - don't expect luxury. However, if all you need is a comfortable bed, AC, running water, and a room safe, you're set. Wifi is available in the lobby/restaurant and is fast enough for checking emails, but not for much more than that. If you're curious about the diving, check out their blog. Tourists post photos from their dives so you can see exactly what they saw! The sights are impressive!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Dive, really....

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels
We do not recommend this property, especially during Chinese New Year. The place is really budget, with little concern for anything other than divers. The staff are actually very helpful and got us to an adjacent property which was more quiet and civilized. This and the "better" wifi are the only advantageous of the place. Location is good for divers on a budget.