Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Siva's family

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The hotel is great and the location is fantastic. In general the staff is really good with the exception of the person who attend us when we arrived. She shouldn't be in that position if she doesn't want to provide a good service and welcome to the customers m, she shouldn't be there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Our mini-moon resort

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, the service
Cons: One of our bath robes was quite tattered...not a big deal for us but would expect more from a high end resort.
Location: We enjoyed a delicious meal at Crossroads restaurant in nearby Rosseau. We took a boat cruise to see million dollar row. Biking, hiking.
We had an excellent time at the JW Marriott! We arrived one day after our wedding and this trip we considered our "mini-moon", as we plan on doing a big trip this summer for our honeymoon. I noted in our reservation that this was our honeymoon and we were so surprised and touched as we were upgraded to a larger suite and there was a lovely card with a bottle of wine and cheese and crackers waiting for us in our room. Our stay at the JW was the week after thanksgiving weekend. We noticed that maintenance was commencing, preparing for winter, and there seemed to be less staff on hand, but this didn't bother us very much. The resort is so peaceful and quaint. Our room was clean and housekeeping was phenomenal and attended to any needs we had. We took bikes out and walked around the property. We even saw a bear in the bushes watching berries! We enjoyed the view from our balcony during breakfast. It was a bonus having a kitchenette as it helped us be a little more economical. We were able to buy some groceries in town and had a few meals in our suite. I was able to connect my laptop to the tv and we enjoyed watching some movies in front of the gas fireplace. It was very cozy and relaxing. After a year of planning a big wedding, this was exactly the atmosphere and service we needed to have some true rest and relaxation. We hope to come back every year from now on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The view and the environment was relaxing - but the hotel was not
Cons: Not enough staff, bad check in, terrible wifi - the view and surrounds didn't compensate for these things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON

Best views of Lake Rousseau

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Beautiful property. Remote location Amazing views Hotel is recently constructed so everything is really fresh and high end. Rooms are fantastic, with a kitchenette as standard. Nice indoor/outdoor pool and an outdoor jacuzzi. In the summer period, there is also a second outdoor pool perfect for kids.
Cons: Staff is not of JW standard - not rude but not even close to the standard you would expect. I have been to many Marriott chains, and the service here would not even compare to Courtyard. Restaurants are "meh" at best - especially the casual dining... which is terrible in my opinion. The hotel has a resort "gouging" fee that is also "higher" than other hotels in the area. The remoteness of the area unfortunately also means no other good dining options. Port Carling restaurants shut down after thanksgiving until spring.
Location: Beautiful location. I have been here a couple of times and often see deers in the marsh beside the property. Activities are limited to hotel offering
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Lauren M., Communications & Marketing Specialist , Hotel Management
AB, thank you for your review. I am glad you found the resort property to be beautiful. The views of Lake Rosseau from the rooftop terrace and bedroom patios are always a memorable experience year-round. I am sorry to learn that the resort service did not meet your expectations. Please be assured your feedback will be shared directly with the resort team for we continuously incorporate feedback into improving upon the guest experience. To address some of your concerns, the resort fee allows for guests to use recreation equipment during their stay such as SUP boards, canoes, kayaks, paddleboats, bikes, snowshoes and ice skates. As well as participation in a variety of recreation programming such as bocce, water volleyball, Zumba, aquafit, ladder golf, yoga, crafts and guided nature walks to name a few. Our culinary team always aims to please all taste buds with a variety of dining options however a nice feature of all our resort rooms is they all come with a kitchenette and bar fridge so guests have the option to make their own meals. I hope we can welcome you back again soon so our team may show you the intuitive service we are so well-known for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
A relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. The food was great and my wife enjoyed the spa. We will return soon for a longer stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Lauren M., Communications & Marketing Specialist , Hotel Management
Mike, thank you for sharing your wonderful resort experience! I am so pleased that you had a relaxing experience at Spa Rosseau. The heated whirlpool, sauna and aromatherapy steam rooms feel so luxurious before and after a treatment. I am glad you and your wife will return again soon for more Lake Rosseau views and intuitive service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury

Girls getaway

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Slightly understaffed while waiting for an early check-in. "If you don't mind waiting 5 minutes" became 1 hour +. Spent a little too long in the lobby. We were offered to head to the spa on arrival but figured a 5 minute wait was a better option. I would have preferred honesty about the wait time and we could have planned our arrival differently. We had a wonderful day at the spa, great dinner at Teca and beautiful walk on the grounds of the resort. I'd love to go back and make use of the pool and other facilities. Awesome colourful fall views from every window. It was a great way to recharge!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Lauren M., Communications & Marketing Specialist , Hotel Management
Celine, thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your girlfriend’s getaway weekend was a success despite the delay in check in. I will be sure to share your feedback directly with the leadership team for we aim to continuously improve upon the guest experience. A full day relaxing in Spa Rosseau is always a nice way to catch up with friends. I find escaping to a new environment with friends helps everyone relax and unwind from the everyday stressors of life. The fall colours certainly are an added treat from the many vantage points around the resort. I hope you will return again soon for a swim in the indoor-outdoor pool!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was ok.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Stayed 2 nights. 2nd day the cleaning staff didn't show up to clean the room. Had to call front desk twice and finally just asked them to send up a few toiletries. That was at 7:30 at night. Fairly expensive. Never like a $39 daily resort fee over and above the nightly rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Lauren M., Communications & Marketing Specialist , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you for sharing your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected and for that I apologize. Your feedback will be shared directly with the leadership team. The resort fee allows guests to access recreation equipment during their stay such as SUP boards, canoes, kayaks, paddleboats, bikes, snowshoes and ice skates. As well as participation in a variety of recreation programming such as bocce, water volleyball, Zumba, aqua fit, ladder golf, yoga, crafts and guided nature walks to name a few. I hope you will consider returning so we may provide you with a memorable experience for all the right reasons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Epic Disappointment

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Stunning scenery, attractive hotel interiors.
Cons: Service.
For years, a colleague had raved about this hotel so we decided to give it a try. The reports of the stunning scenery and attractive hotel are true. However, we were extremely disappointed at what would appear to be poor management over the Canadian Thanksgiving holiday weekend. The biggest issue seemed to be insufficient staff to deal with the high capacity (but this should have been no surprise, on a holiday weekend). We arrived at 4:30pm (check-in is from 4pm onwards) only to be told there were no rooms ready. We sat for 2.5 hours in the lobby, waiting for a room, along with dozens of other disgruntled travelers, who were also waiting for rooms. One would have thought that a manager would have come and apologized, offering some refreshment while we waited: nothing. It was only when some angered would-be guests decided to complain, at reception, that a possible offer of a slight room discount was mentioned. Come on JW Marriot, you should do much better than this. Similarly, there was a massive line-up the next morning to get a table for breakfast (we waited half an hour in line, despite seeing uncleared tables) and all staff kept saying was that they were really busy that weekend (surely the point of good management is to ensure you are adequately staffed to accommodate capacity crowds on holidays?) In addition, breakfast was totally self-serve (and I mean you had to walk through two rooms to top-up your own coffee cup: apparently staff don't pour coffee. 4 Star service??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The location was magnificent and the food was exceptional. The spa was awesome!
Cons: Hire more staff!
Location: There were lots of water sports and activities available. We took the boat tour around Lake Rousseau. Only a handful of places to go by car.
The JW Marriott did not disappoint. The location of the property and well-appointed landscape was a view to behold. I was surprised by the number of children at the property but once I saw all the activities available to families then I understood. Thankfully, the spa pool was only for patrons of the spa so very quiet there. Ha! Don't get me wrong our room was very spacious and quiet. We were not disturbed during our sleep at night. The restaurants were all exceptionally delicious. The variety of cuisine as well as ability to accommodate dietary concerns were very appreciated. The only downfall was the number of wait staff in the "Lakes" or "Cottages" area. The lack of numbers became overwhelming for the few that worked there. I know it's an isolated area so ability to hire more staff may be difficult. I felt empathy for the cleaning and spa staff as well since they were strapped to keep up with patrons' demands. The cleaning staff were working overtime just to cover all the rooms. The spa staff were reduced because of an emergency with their limited staff. It was very accommodating for the staff to do their best and make each guest feel well taken care of during their stay. I appreciated their hard work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, Ontario

Beautiful property in Rosseau

Posted Sep 3, 2016
This is our second visit to the JW Marriott Rosseau. The property and the scenery are beautiful. It was a busy weekend and the staff were overwhelmed with the number of guests. Although we waited for our room, we were taken care of and appreciated their efforts to help make us comfortable. There are many restaurants to choose from although we would like to see more casual dining options. The wait staff in the restaurants also seemed to be overwhelmed with the number of people visiting. The spa provides a calming atmosphere but needs more than one RMT to accommodate the demand. We enjoy this spot and the hotel and hope they can adjust to keep up with the number of people visiting the resort.