Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

On the U of M campus

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: It has a great location right on campus, very close to the event centers and light rail.
Cons: No coffee or cups in our room! Went to get it, but was given decaf even after asking for regular. Another man was at the desk for the same reason. GAH
Location: See the U of M campus, close to Williams Arena, TCF Bank Stadium and other downtown attractions. Many restaurants within walking distance.
We had an enjoyable time walking in the area, taking in the sights of the campus. The hotel could use a few updates (carpet) but overall it was clean and very quiet even though students and families were settling in on campus. We were supposed to have coffee in the room but when we were ready to make it in the morning there wasn't any. When I went to the lobby, another guest was there for the same issue. I asked for regular but when I got back to the room I'd found that the front desk gave me decaffeinated, and then we discovered that we hadn't gotten cups either. I should've known when the front desk asked if I had cups. We ended up driving to Caribou for coffee on the way out of town, helpfully located nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

More of a frat house/party house than a hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Rooms and lobby, are decent. Staff was very nice.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location for U of M activities.
This is the 3rd time we have stayed and the last. If you like to party, this may be the place for you. Last time we stayed we had to step over a passed out drunk and pile of vomit at the front door. (The police arrived shortly after.) This time there were one or more wedding parties and the partying continued on to 4:30 am at which time I called to complain. The next morning I informed desk staff that we were not paying. Rooms, lobby, and staff are decent. Good location for U of M activities. The carpeting in the hallways is disgusting. Never again - will go back to the Marriott on the west bank.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A full is not a queen

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Got a double queen suite and the room was small the beds were a full not queens. Nice rooms clean just not what we paid for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Batavia, IL

Nice hotel close to campus and activities.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Proximity to campus. Friendly and knowledgeable hotel staff.
Cons: Mattress in room and furnishes need to be updated.
Nice hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Mattress and furnishings in general could be updated. Otherwise a good hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from when?

Fine hotel. but...

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Two issues depending upon your needs: 1) Parking. I was able to find a space in the surface lot behind the hotel but it may have been the last one. I say "may" because, evidently, not all the spaces in that lot are hotel spaces. i.e. If a guest parks in a non-hotel space a ticket or towing could result. None of the surface lot spaces are marked either "hotel" or "non-hotel". 2) Pool Hotel guests have permission to use the Univeersity of Minnesota pool located behind the hotel. Unfortunately, pool hours are restricted, So arriving after a day of travel and surviving on the thought of laps in the pool for brain and body relief only to be denied was akin to ancient Greek Theatre tragedy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trip 1

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We had a good experience. The lobby and our room were very nice but other parts of the hotel needs some upgrades.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very clean and nice hotel in middle of university campus will be recommending to any one staying near St. Paul or Minneapolis.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Ritz without the ritzy price

Posted Aug 21, 2016
From the moment you pull up it has very nice curb appeal. Someone greets you at the front door and leads you to the front desk. The receptionists are so friendly and are like personal tour guides. The room was so nice and very well decorated and laid out. I can't imagine what the suite looked like because this room was beautiful. We had the king superior. There are restaurants and a coffee shop all around the hotel and the am track right across the street so everything is so easy to get to
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice collegiate hotel on campus

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very nice staff, Good workout room. The Beacon served good food and drinks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: close to the hospital
Cons: nothing
Location: walking distance to the u of m
This hotel was very close to the hospital and was very nice in our time of need.