Ratings based on 935 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: They didn't say during checkin but as a guest to can request for a pass to the multi fitness huge facility of the U of M located next to the hotel
They didn't say during checkin but as a guest to can request for a pass to the multi fitness huge facility of the U of M located next to the hotel. The location is excellent . The restaurant was very good and great breakfast buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Jerrod Simkins, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. My sincere apologies for the staff not mentioning the use of the U of M Wellness and Recreation Center. We do offer complimentary access to this fantastic 65 million dollar renovated fitness center. I will be sure to review this with the staff to make sure that they mention this as part of the perks that our guests have access to! Thank you again for the great review and we hop to see you again! Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Posted May 31, 2017
They always extra charge the clients for using the services
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Jerrod Simkins, Hotel Management
John, Thanks for taking the time to write! I would love to hear more about any questions you have about our services. please feel free to reach out to me directly as I would love a chance to speak with you. Thank you again, Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was beautiful, upscale and very clean.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The upscale décor and restaurant. Staff in restaurant were wonderful.
Cons: Parking
Location: We were there for a concert.
Disappointed in late night staff, very young, very loud, and inappropriate behavior behind registration counter May 24th. Should have older manager in charge, as I would have felt more secure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the U of M.

Posted May 30, 2017
The lobby and rooms were modern and comfortable. The carpet in the hallways is worn and needs replacing. One nice feature about the rooms is that the windows open. The workout facility was spacious. It's a great hotel overall and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a central location. Close to tons of restaurants and shopping. Good hotel for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to campus and Medical Center

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean and a good location.
Cons: I didn't like that I couldn't control the heat in my room. There was no thermostat. I felt the room was a little warm.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance, as well as U of M campus and medical center.
I stayed here while visiting a patient at the U of M Medical Center - East Bank. I parked in the Washington Ave ramp, and walked the sky-way right into the hotel. The Medical center was about 2 blocks away. I was able to walk back and forth in less than 5 minutes. The area felt safe enough to walk alone. The public transit was less than a block away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Jerrod, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you found the accommodations clean and in a great location. My sincere apologies for the issue with the thermostat. By the time mid or late May rolls around we no longer have the heat on in the building as we enter into the warmer months. We also find it is much harder to cool rooms rather than heat them and with many of the rooms facing the sun rising in the east and the others facing west at sunset. We have a difficult time cooling these rooms from April - Oct. Thanks again for you review. Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy location to get in and out of by the U.

Posted May 23, 2017
The staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent in the restaurant. I will stay here again whenever I'm in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted May 22, 2017
Lovely hotel. Right next to the train which costs max $4 US a day that will take you downtown or as far as Mall of America. City is walkable. University is right next door. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was exceptional quiet. A lot of the s

Posted May 12, 2017
I stayed at the hotel for four days as a philanthropist I was quite impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Jerrod Simkins - Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
James K, Thank you the great review. We are thrilled to hear how impressed you were with the Commons Hotel. We hope you have a chance to return soon. thank you for taking the time to write and for your business!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Room is not described what in deal

Posted May 11, 2017
Hi I have order king size bad and I got queen size. Also, from sink water is coming really slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Jerrod, Hotel Management
Kal, Thank you for taking the time to write. My sincere apologies for the bed type issue. We hope that you will join us again and please feel free to reach out to me directly bed type request the next time you book through Expeida. I know that we can make it right you next time. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you. Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth

Great location for events at the U

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff was great!
We had several events at the U and this hotel is well located on campus. Nice rooms, great staff who are attentive and helpful. We'll stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Jerrod , Hotel Management
Brian, Thanks for the great recommendation and I can promise you our staff will be thrilled to see your review! we look forward to your next visit and thank you for your business! Jerrod Simkins Director of Rooms