Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williston, ND

One of the Best choices I have made on the fly!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, Location
Cons: Hall Carpets need replacing
Location: MetroTransit conection to St Paul and Minneapolis
The hotel staff was more than helpful, gave us an early check-in and let us store our luggage there even after check-out. Hotel is in a good location and can be reached by MetroTransit right out its front door, also has great transportation of its own. Great coffee shop, eating places, and bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
This is a very nice hotel with excellent staff and easy parking. The room was updated nicely with beautiful decor and fixtures. The only complaints were paining tape left around one of the paintings and a moldy stain on the sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Nice hotel in heart of campus

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great hotel if attending U of Minnesota sporting events or want to be on campus. The carpet in the hallways is nasty and needs to be replaced but other than that it was a great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most over priced hotel ever

Posted Oct 10, 2016
I've seen cleaner carpets in homeless shelters.....................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend this hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful! Friendly, accommodating, we have never had better service.
Cons: Hard to find because of the street signage. Washington Ave changes to pedestrian only and we kept missing the hotel. It was dark and rainy.
Location: We were there to go to the U of M Medical clinic. It was a few minutes drive. It would be a great place to stay to explore the downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

must be the only hotel at the university

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: no much
Cons: replace management quickly
Location: university atmosphere
the only reason to stay here is proximity to the university and they know it! they got it all wrong. incorrect billing without call back, dirty beds, TV's don't work. when something is wrong they don't fix it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value, price, and experience out of sync.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The concierge was most helpful in arranging a shuttle to the Convention Centre and the hotel is immediately adjacent to the LRT Green Line.
Cons: It is a poor value proposition - too expensive for the actual amenities, which are generally no different from other hotel brands.
Location: In the middle of the University of Minnesota campus and very close to the stadium. The Washington Avenue SW "strip" has nothing for mature adults.
So most of the hotels in Minneapolis were booked solid on the dates that I needed for a variety of reasons, including the Minneapolis Medical Design and Manufacturing Conference. Through Expedia I finally found this hotel - conveniently located on the LRT's Green Line and in the heart of the University of Minnesota's campus scene. Though expensive (I am a Hilton Honors Member and usually stay with that brand) it had rooms available and was within reasonable range of the Convention Centre. At the price ($763 CAD for two nights), I expected something a cut above Hilton Garden Inns and I was sorely disappointed. No complimentary breakfast - not even the machine-gun eggs, sausage rounds, and toast you get at Holiday Inn Express - in fact the room-service eggs benedict and a pot of tea - after all of the extra charges - cost me $30! It was cold and dried out. The hallway to the rooms had a wide, meandering stain down the middle, the bathroom was like every other bathroom except no fan, the beds did not have fitted bottom sheet so that it pulled out and made a wrinkled mess, and the TV offering was pathetic. The oops-I-forgot-something hotel store didn't have a freezer for all of those business men looking for a late-night ice cream bar. If you are driving to the hotel, make sure your GPS is up to date, it is quite tricky to get to, what with the LRT line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

On the U of M campus

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: It has a great location right on campus, very close to the event centers and light rail.
Cons: No coffee or cups in our room! Went to get it, but was given decaf even after asking for regular. Another man was at the desk for the same reason. GAH
Location: See the U of M campus, close to Williams Arena, TCF Bank Stadium and other downtown attractions. Many restaurants within walking distance.
We had an enjoyable time walking in the area, taking in the sights of the campus. The hotel could use a few updates (carpet) but overall it was clean and very quiet even though students and families were settling in on campus. We were supposed to have coffee in the room but when we were ready to make it in the morning there wasn't any. When I went to the lobby, another guest was there for the same issue. I asked for regular but when I got back to the room I'd found that the front desk gave me decaffeinated, and then we discovered that we hadn't gotten cups either. I should've known when the front desk asked if I had cups. We ended up driving to Caribou for coffee on the way out of town, helpfully located nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

More of a frat house/party house than a hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Rooms and lobby, are decent. Staff was very nice.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location for U of M activities.
This is the 3rd time we have stayed and the last. If you like to party, this may be the place for you. Last time we stayed we had to step over a passed out drunk and pile of vomit at the front door. (The police arrived shortly after.) This time there were one or more wedding parties and the partying continued on to 4:30 am at which time I called to complain. The next morning I informed desk staff that we were not paying. Rooms, lobby, and staff are decent. Good location for U of M activities. The carpeting in the hallways is disgusting. Never again - will go back to the Marriott on the west bank.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A full is not a queen

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Got a double queen suite and the room was small the beds were a full not queens. Nice rooms clean just not what we paid for.