Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eau Claire, WI

Nice hotel in Minneapolis

Posted May 17, 2017
The only complaint I have is that the call box was out of order and the door locked when I arrived. I had to call the motel to get someone to let me in. Once inside, everything was great. Free gourmet coffee and in room kitchen was a plus too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Overall a good deal

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location and convenience. Kitchenette.
Cons: Smell in hallways is awful! Please stock rooms daily and make sure there is soap!
I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while my mom was recovering from surgery at Fairview Hospital. The location is great. The room was very clean. It was not stocked with toiletries however and I had to ask for soap, shampoo etc. They also did not restock daily which would have been nice. The handle on the toilet stuck and kept running unless manually pushed up. The hallway smelled musty and of a peculiar odor. But it was nice to be able to bring my own food and cook my own meals. Overall, a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by HR Manager, Hotel Management
Julie, I understand were a peculiar odor can throw off your grove. I am sorry that you had to endure that and that restocking did not occur for you. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention however so that we can use it to help fix issues. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know! I am happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I cannot wait to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost PERFECT!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Cons: Room smell.
The only exception was that the entire room stunk at food. Everything else was perfect. Still, I plan to stay there the next time I go to Minneapolis,
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by HR Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am sorry that your food smell lingered. However, I am happy to hear that it did not ruin your stay! We cannot wait to have you back again!
5 out of 5
by Gail

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Only issue was that the bed was a bit too firm. Otherwise, it's a great value, comfortable place, excellent proximity to the U, and free parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you had a nice stay and that everything worked out great for you!! We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, close to downtown Minneapolis

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Location: You are 100 feet from the highway and five minutes from great restaurants, great theaters, and five minutes from the Vikings stadium.
This was a wonderful place to stay at. The rate was reasonable, the room was the cleanest room I have ever seen, the layout of the room was excellent, and the walls are solid so that you hear almost no noise. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by HR Manager, Hotel Management
I am happy that you had a great stay! Thank you for all of your kind words! I will definitely print it off for our team to read! We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to U of M and Dinkeytown

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location for University of MN and Dinkeytown locales. Clean, quiet, with convenient kitchenette. Heating is a little loud, but not overwhelming. Small but convenient workout facility. Parking included in rate is definitely a plus, in this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for your review! I am happy that it sounds like you enjoyed your stay! We will have to check out the heaters. We hope to see you soon!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Restful

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Appreciate free parking, close to hospitals and quiet...kitchenette
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by HR Manager, Hotel Management
I love that we offer free parking as well! I am glad that is sounds like you had a nice stay! Thank you for your review and I hope that we get to see you again real soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, MN

A gem in Dinkytown

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, friendliness, comfortable bed, location, and the kitchenette.
Cons: The supply of items (which were for sale) in the breakfast nook was low, almost out -- especially yogurt, small milk, fruit.
Location: Very convenient and walkable to the U of M, the restaurants and shops of Dinkytown.
Was in the Twin Cities overnight for family reasons. The University Inn was convenient to where I was visiting (along University Avenue). It's smaller and easy to overlook but was a real find. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. The room was described as a "studio," which meant it had a small kitchenette that was nice, as I wasn't familiar with the area to go out to eat. The kitchenette had a small stovetop, microwave, full-size refrigerator, small appliances, dishes, and cooking utensils and place settings. The people running the hotel were eager to know about my stay, if I had any problems to report, so they could take care of them. I felt like I was a valued guest and that my comfort was important to them. There's no free breakfast but you can buy items in the lobby and the hotel supplies a guide to eating places (and other attractions) close by. My stay there actually made me want to return some time to stay at the hotel and spend more time in the U of M/Dinkytown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by HR Manager, Hotel Management
Wendy, I am extremely happy to hear about how great your stay was! I enjoy getting reviews good and bad but yours will definitely bring a smile to our employees faces! I am sorry that we were running low on supplies, we try and keep that fully stocked. However, I really hope that we get to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
We did not stay there after we saw it and went inside. It was not within a 10 min. walking distance as was reported.. Unfortunately they would not refund our money. I would not recommend this University Inn to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
I can understand your frustrations. I am not sure what was not within the 10 minutes walking distance but I can understand how that would be frustrating. I hope you still had a good time in the cities. Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
by L

My new favorite spot!

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
I love this place!! Its really low key, clean, affordable, and the room size was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind words! We are happy that you had a great time with us and we look forward to you coming back again soon!!!