Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

lovely surprise

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff Close to many attractions Walkable neighborhood
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
George, Thank you for such a flattering review! We are so pleased that you chose the University Inn for your recent trip, and that you were able to take advantage of our location and the nearby attractions in DinkyTown and Northeast Minneapolis. We hope that you choose to stay with us again for another friendly visit to Minneapolis! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy and cluttered

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Very dated, not soundproof and can hear water running from other rooms. Cramped with mismatched furniture. Cords tuning along walls should be secured or hidden. Tv mounted on wall pointed only halfway to viewing area. Pros: free parking and free wifi
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi well travelled, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the free WiFi and complimentary parking lot, I apologize that you found features in your room to be unsatisfactory. I agree that the cords along the walls are unnecessary. These were a result of a recent state-of-the-art WiFi upgrade we were in the process of completing. Thanks to feedback like yours, we are in the process of eliminating the excess cords. It sounds like you stayed in our ADA Handicap Accessible room during your recent visit. We would love to host you again in one of our standard rooms that would be a little more spacious and eliminate a few of the issues you encountered, such as the wall-mounted television.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from From Colorado

Great hotel and location!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Cons: No elevator to upper floors, but short stairs were manageable.
Loved the Univ Inn and its location, staff and room. Quiet and comfortable. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants near UM university. Plus, nice to walk around UM. Easy off-street parking was a surprise in an urban environment and no extra parking charge! Also close to Mississippi River and the walking along the river. All-in-all a great place to stay in Downtown Minni! Steve
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Steve, I love that you were able to take advantage of so many of the features that the University Inn offers! Next time you are in town, ask us for some new places to explore - there is so much available right outside the door that it's hard to fit it all into one trip! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Nice hotel w/ friendly staff next to U of M campus

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Staff is very friendly. Location is very convenient and there is free parking. Rooms are clean, updated and spacious.
Cons: Breakfast would be nice but they really don't have room for it in the lobby area.
Location: Right next to the University of Minnesota in Dinkytown. Campus is a short walk. Several restaurants within a 3-4 block walk.
This is a nice hotel located right next to the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities campus in the Dinkytown neighborhood. Rooms are clean and spacious with a full size refrigerator and small kitchen. The staff is very friendly and helpful and makes you feel like they value your business. The location is very convenient if you are visiting the U of M campus as it a short walk from campus and their is plenty of free parking. I would not hesitate to stay here if you are visiting the campus or just coming in for a game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi Casey! I love hearing that you enjoyed your time with us at the University Inn. We do sincerely value each and every guest that we have the opportunity to host, so I am glad that you felt that during your time with us. It seems like you were able to make use of your kitchenette, along with our location - two of our most talked-about features! We can't wait to see you next time you are in Minneapolis. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Good hotel with convenient access to activities in town.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

In heart of U of M

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: In heart of southeast Minneapolis and U of M.
Cons: A continental breakfast would be nice.
Location: See above comments.
Walking distance to Dinky Town and free parking. Inner city location with easy access to downtown and neighborhoods around it. Some legendary restaurants are within 10 or 15 minutes by car. I grew up n Southeast Minneapolis and there are many memories there.
5 out of 5
by Cory from Kansas City

Let's go Royals clap clap clapclapclap

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Just a quick stay to watch the World Champion Royals punish the lowly Twins. Nice room. Cheap. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Gail from Canton, OH

Needs more staff

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Room wasn't ready for over a hour and a half past check in. Had dinner reservations but no room to get ready in. Squeezed into our friends room to get ready. Real inconvenience and didn't even get compensated for it. Check in was also extremely slow. However, rooms were clean and tidy. Hallways had a dormitory feel.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels