Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Quiet near the U and very convenient for dinkytown
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi Sats, Thank you for the 5 star review! I love hearing that you enjoyed our location during your visit to Minneapolis. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rapid City, SD

Nice clean quiet hotel close to University Hospita

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Very pleased with amenities in the room. Very comfortable and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi Joe, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us! We love hearing about your stay firsthand. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

convenient, clean and well located hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
clean convenient and reasonable price I liked it and recommend for business trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review, Jaime! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your business trip to Minneapolis. Enjoy the rest of your week! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel great location

Posted Nov 16, 2016
This is a great hotel close to campus. There's free parking in a nice parking lot right next to the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They have an awesome coffee machine that makes coffee, cappuccino, lattes, and espresso.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi Lesley, Thank you for the great compliments! We hope to host you again soon for another cup of coffee and friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was nice for our purposes.
Cons: The hotel staff called to verify everything in the room was operating properly a bit too late in the evening (we have young kids) phone woke them up.
Location: Near Dinkytown and US Bank stadium is walkable when the weather is nice.
Good service. Good location. Can walk to U of M or downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback from your recent stay! It sounds like you already spoke with Joe McCurdy, our General Manager via e-mail, but I would also like to address your experience. While I am happy to hear that you found our staff and location to be friendly and convenient (respectively), I do apologize that our post-arrival call woke up your young kids. I understand how this could be frustrating, and will ensure that we use your feedback to instruct our staff on best practices for these types of calls. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest VA

Convenient to UofM, Frat row, etc...

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Price.
Cons: Larger pantry for late-nite arriving guests to make a meal before retiring.
Great location near the UofM, off-street parking, plenty to see and eat nearby. Friendly, accommodating staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Hotel Management
Hi Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I love hearing that you enjoyed the off-street complimentary parking lot, and our prime location on the University of Minnesota campus. I also enjoy your feedback regarding our grab-and-go pantry in the lobby. We will use your feedback about the variety of items into consideration when evaluating what to offer in this area. We hope to host you again soon! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west coast

Friendly and clean

Posted Sep 27, 2016
There were various clerks on the front desk--all friendly and helpful. Free lattes were a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
M, Thank you so much for the kind feedback! Our employees are our greatest resource, I am so happy to hear that they treated you well during your time with us. We hope to host you again soon for another fresh cup of coffee and friendly conversation. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth

Great for Vikings game

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Short walk to the stadium. Room was quiet and dark. Great for sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Stephanie Lundeen, Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Amanda! We also love how close the University Inn is to the new US Bank Stadium, I am glad that you were able to enjoy it! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel near downtown MSP & U of M Campus

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Affordability. Easily accessible from 35W.
Cons: We had a room in basement, smelled terrible.
Location: 2-3 blocks from Dinkytown and U of M Campus. 1 mile from Downtown Minneapolis so great location.
Small quiet dorm like facility right off of Exit 18 from 35W, but noise from freeway didn't bother. Free shuttle but requires 24 advance reservation. OK facilities. Not terrible, not great. Hard beds. But much more affordable than other hotels in the area. 2-3 blocks from Dinkytown so can walk to tons of bars, restaurants and pharmacies. Has laundry facilities, a few small items to purchase for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hello, I hope that this message finds you well. Thank you for choosing the University Inn during your recent visit to Minneapolis! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities during your time with us. However, I do apologize that you experienced a smell in your room. I will ensure that this is looked in to and corrected immediately. I am also sad to hear that you did not enjoy our newly updated mattresses - most of the feedback we receive about our beds is positive, so it is good for us to hear that some of our guests prefer a softer mattress. We will certainly take this into consideration in a couple of years when we update the mattresses again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon, next time you are in town make sure to request a room on a higher level - we would love to show you what else the University Inn has to offer. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to U of MN and U of MN Hospital

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights and appreciated having a kitchenette so we didn't have to go out to restaurants to eat. It was very close to the University of MN hospital where my husband had a procedure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Customer Care Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I am happy to hear that the University Inn provided a home-away-from-home during your recent hospital visit. I know how stressful visits of this nature can be, providing a home-base and ensuring that your time in Minneapolis is comfortable are our main objectives. We wish you safe travels as you head back home. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator