Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

Average hotel close to Excel.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: This hotel is under renovation, so it sounds like it will be very nice once completed.
The best thing about this hotel is that they provided free shuttle service to and from the Excel on demand. We went to a concert there, and it was so nice to not have to walk or drive ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Brian, Hotel Management
Our has been through an incredible amount of work that is making our hotel one of the newest hotels in St. Paul. The first floor pool and restaurant are scheduled to be open by mid-January. Yes, we do provide shuttle for our guests to most concerts at the Xcel Center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

If it was not for convenience, I wouldn't stay.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Room was nice but smaller than the last room I booked at the same price. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Still no restaurant even though they have it listed in their guide. Television broke and did not get fixed. Ice machine broke and was fixed next day.
Location: location is great. Near the cathedral and the capital buildings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Chad, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear we did not meet expectations. Hope to have restaurant open by early January.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to XCel stadium.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The complimentary shuttle to the Wild game is a great asset. The lack of a restaurant and bar during the renovation is a minor inconvenience. We look forward to taking advantage of both in the future.
Cons: The freeway noise was a minor problem. No bar/restaurant (this is in the works).
Location: The guys went to the Wild game and the gals went to a play in Minneapolis. Both were fairly easy to get to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Chad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. Yes the restaurant and bar will be up soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Location was perfect! 3 mins from white castles and 6 mins from Xcel energy center. Shuttle was so convenient as well!
Hotel was under renovation, which I was told when I booked, but still wasn't dusty or cluttered in any way. Our room was neat and beds were extremely comfy! Just a little upset that my fiancé and I had set everything up for a king size bedroom and received a two queen bedroom instead. But overall loved the staff and especially the shuttle service provided, oh and the fact that I can bring my furry friend made my stay that much nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Chad, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Hotel staff was very nice. Room was comfortable and clean. Hotel was under construction at the time of my stay so no restaurant or bar but did receive a discount on the room so that made it worth the inconvenience of having to leave the hotel to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul

OK Stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Complimentary shuttle service
Cons: Rooms were not up to mark compare to other best western plus.
Location: History center
Hotel was under construction, the rooms were not updated, ambiance was not good either may be due to under construction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Convenient Location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The location was great for me, and the price was good.
Cons: Training the front desk staff.
Location: I was there on business, but it was convenient to the capitol and other downtown St. Paul attractions, restaurants, and the like.
The hotel is easy to find, but a little tricky to get to with the way some of the streets run in St. Paul. What I didn't know when booking was that the hotel was being renovated. While the room was clean and comfortable I had to get a TV remote (none in the room) and the desk clerks didn't seem to know where anything was. (They seemed new and not well trained during check-in, too. They were friendly, but ...) Also, it was nice to have a free breakfast, but a little inconvenient finding it in a 2nd floor conference room (I gather due to renovation of the restaurant. I'm assuming when the renovation is done some of the issues will disappear, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

Getting remodeled, but still nice

Posted Jun 27, 2016
I knew ahead of time that this hotel was under construction, so I was NOT bothered by the fact that their lobby is a little dusty, their restaurant is currently not open, and some other amenities aren't available. the room itself was nice and quiet. Which was nice, since I was there for a concert at the Xcel Center and a lot of other concert-goers were there too (we're not a quiet bunch)! It's only a little more than a half mile from the Xcel, and even though it looks difficult on the map (you have to cross over the highway), it's a VERY easy walk. The staff is also amazing. Really knowledgeable about the area, funny, professional. Would definitely stay here again, espeicially if going to the Xcel. And it feels like the hotel will be super nice once it's 100% remodeled!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Close to the xcel engery centre

Posted May 11, 2016
The whole place was being renovated and it made no note of it. We were placed on the 3rd floor and instantly asked to change rooms because it was so loud from construction. They put us up on the 7th floor immediately. The staff was very nice. Free shuttle to and from the xcel energy centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Hotel in renovation for the next year!!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Room cleaniness
Cons: waiting for renovation to end...
Location: in an empty area, near big highways...
Hotel in renovation for the next year!! lost of dust, no restaurant, swimming pool...