Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Room had a cricket in it, toilet roll was missing, and the air conditioner cololed the room but was still warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by Gorkem varol, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We assure you this will not be repeated. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saginaw, MI

Would not stay here

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The room and bathroom size
Cons: They need more and better trained employees
Location: The location was fine. We went to the zoo and Minneapolis Children's Theater, both were amazing
We try and stay at Country Inn Suites whenever we travel. The one in Eagan was a disappointment. The room was dirty, The first morning the in room coffee maker still had water and grounds from the previous occupants. Breakfast was almost empty. We had cold cereal and some toast to choose from. The room was serviced but no coffee or tea was left for us. Again the breakfast was slim pickings. We discovered that the breakfast attendant was also shuttling people to the airport. He was hustling but in an impossible situation. The person at the front desk was audibly complaining about having to attend to things that she felt was not her responsibility. We moved to the Country Inn Suites in Bloomington and were much happier. Never again in Eagan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Gorkem, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. We unexpectedly fell short of staff that morning due to the emergency call from one of our employees. We work hard to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
4 out of 5
by Afaq from Chicago

Good

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
good and clean room,comfortable and nice bedding. not enough parking breakfast area crowded overall good experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Nice hotel- they were updating rooms and still needed to replace carpet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

to noisy

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Orbitz
The road traffic and the air plane noise made it difficult to sleep also the shuddle bus driver was not friendly at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Family friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms not guaranteed

Posted Mar 21, 2016
I was a little upset when I booked a suite room with Queen beds and a sofa couch and got their and they said it was not guaranteed to get it. I booked the room 3 weeks in advance in Expedia, prepaid and was given a basic 2 queen bed room. They couldn't do anything about it at the hotel either. If I new I was gonna get a basic room I wouldn't have paid the extra on Expedia for a sofa couch room. In the end the room was nice and the pool was great, the hotel was overall good I just would have paid like $30 less for a basic room if I knew I couldn't guarantee the room I wanted.
2 out of 5
by Adam from Fargo

Spend a little more and look elsewhere

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a king bed room and was given a queen which was changed once brought to hotels attention but not without them complaining how difficult it was. There was a diaper behind one of the night stands. Thankfully it was not a used one! Also the hotel was under a remodel which was not noted in the hotels.com site which was disappointing considering the halls were full of paint fumes! In all if your looking to book this hotel because it's a deal don't! Spend a little more and book elsewhere. I surely will from now on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regards to the room you received and the overall cleanliness and condition of your room and the hotel. We will review the conditions of your room to make sure all guest rooms are up to standards. Your feedback is very beneficial and will help us facilitate all necessary hotel improvements to ensure a positive guest experience.
1 out of 5
by Tamara from West Branch, MI

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was under construction and I was not informed when I made the reservation. The smell of paint and drywall compound was so strong you couldn't breath. The bathroom was filthy there was shampoo and conditioner from the persons before us in the shower and the air vent was so clogged with dirt and dust that it didn't work. I will have to think twice before I ever stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Karen, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We apologize you were not made aware of our current renovations. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.