Ratings based on 2,242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Mb

Would stay again

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Was about 8 mins away from mall of America which was fine and 20 mins from Excel Energy Center, give or take with traffic.
Room was nice, bed was comfy and room had everything you need. Pool and exercise room were great, hot tub was awesome. Continental Breakfast was amazing lots of food to choose from. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again for sure. Filled my basic needs while traveling; great breakfast, hot tub, free wifi, free parking and a comfortable bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Services were very poor

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Room service poor knocking on door 8 am never changed sheet or made up bed. I was told i could get fresh sheets but i had to change myself everyone staff was gone
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
Again as I stated on the phone I am very sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from American Blvd W Bloomington MN

Great expectations Met

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Access was easy. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was very good. Elevators were fast.
Cons: Not enough plugins in the room.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby. Close to Mall of America. Close to Southdale shopping.
The only complaint I have is there aren't enough plugins for my phone and iPad. I had to really search for available spots.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for those attending Vikings Games

Posted Oct 10, 2016
I was given a room for the disabled with easy access shower on first floor and this was fine but the dresser drawer lacked a face, coffee pot did not work which did not pose much of a problem since coffee was always available in the lobby. Fintess room had a reclining bicycle that did not power on, did not use the pool. Somewhat out of the way hotel with easy access from 494 highway but few restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Hot breakfast was nice. Would stay again since non of the complaints was a game changer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blaine,MN

Great place

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Room was super big...bed very comfortable,clean,quite room. Breakfast delicious.
Cons: I liked everything about this hotel. Nothing was bad during our staying.
Location: Lots of options to eat in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff Easy access to downtown & mall of America Comfortable bed
Cons: Small & outdated bathrooms Lots of furniture in the room
Location: 5-10 minutes to mall of America. About a $10-13 uber ride or you can use the hotel free shuttle at times 15-20 minutes from downtown
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
It is obvious that the owners aren't putting any money back into this facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
We are actually preparing for some major renovations that will begin at the end of the year. These changes will include all new furniture in the room, all new textiles, flooring and more. The whole hotel will have an updated and refreshed look.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

very disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: nothing
I had originally booked a hotel that was right across the parking lot but due to restrictions on company funds, I went with this hotel. So disappointed! the window frame around the entire window looked like it had been leaking water for a very long time, it was discolored and disgusting looking. There are no black out drapes and there was a very bright parking lot light right outside of our window which made the room bright at all times. Pillows? there were 4 small square pillows on the bed... where were the normal bed pillows? Who knows? The sheet had some strange stain on it so I refused to use the sheets. The beds have those weird duvet covers which is HIGHLY annoying as it keeps coming apart. I finally took it off the bed completely and threw it on the floor. The bathroom or what they call a bathroom was the size of a small cramped closet. the sink was outside the 'bathroom' in the hotel room. When you went in to use the toilet and had to close the door, it was VERY tiny and cramped. Needless to say we didn't use the shower. All in all, after our work function in Eden Prairie, I wished we would have just driven the 4 hours home vs staying in this awful hotel. We will not be back nor do i recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good choice, older but well maintained

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, great breakfast
Cons: Carlson should give me points when I am in their hotels regardless of how I booked. Country Inn and Suites 'was' a first choice hotel when traveling
Location: convenient for Mall of America and Renaissance Fest
good parking, well lit for our late arrival. Front desk pleasant. Great Breakfast. Beds very comfortable though the rooms are a bit tight. will recommend to others and will return when we are in Minneapolis. Disappointed to learn I don't get Carlson points when I book thru Expedia. This will make me rethink which hotels I choose in future travel. Expedia has better rates than buying direct from hotel and they offer other good choices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Badgerland

Nice hotel close to airport.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Gread breakfast. Very good and courteous service. Easy access to I494 and close to Mall of America without being given on top of it.