Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moab Utah

Great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The location especially
Cons: There could be smoking rooms or at least a sheltered space. I sometimes feel like I spend a great deal of money to be uncomfortable. Yes, I know, quit
Location: The Excel of course and Cossettas when i finally found it. Walking distance to several downtown stores and the Science Museum.
I went to St. Paul for a Wild game and this hotel was right across the street which was great. There was no maid service to the room for the three days I stayed, that being said the staff was quick to give me whatever I needed when I asked. The Liffey restaurant hours were supposed to be until midnight, however the flight did not land until 9:15 PM and hoping for dinner was not an option they had stopped serving food by 10PM. So ordering from Dominos was necessary. The hotel shuttle does not go to the airport so getting around to most places involved Lyft or Uber and more expense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Hi Paula, Thank you for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's excellent location amid a variety of downtown destinations and attractions, and we're pleased to hear that our staff was efficient in their responses to your requests. We're sorry that our hotel only has nonsmoking rooms though and that this was not completely helpful to you; and, while The Liffey did not have food as late past 10:00pm on this particular night, it does serve food until midnight on busier nights. We're happy that you were able to find delivery options as an alternative, and our staff will be happy to present any of the numerous other restaurants within two blocks of the hotel as options too. Despite these things, we're glad we were still able to provide a pleasant stay overall, and we hope you'll choose to stay with us in the future. Thank you again for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Close to xcel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Stayed here for hockey game! Very convienent and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you, buck! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient and clean location, and we hope you enjoyed the hockey game across the street as well! We'll hope to see you again during the next one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Location: Xcel Energy Center across the street
Nice hotel, close to our point of interest, nice restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location, and we'll look forward to having you back in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be a staying again.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Pool was way too coldness to swim too long in. My kids lips turned purple. Hot tub was too hot and too clorinated. There were stains and spots on the bedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your or our expectations. We always want to hear about issues while you're a guest with us, because we want to do everything we can to improve your stay and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are certain of our ability to provide an excellent guest experience, and we hope you'll be give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again for your review, and happy travels until then.
5 out of 5
by James

Amazing Service

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
I was planning a Valentines Day trip to meet up with my girlfriend and go see a Minnesota Wild/Anaheim Ducks Game. I wanted to make the trip special so I contacted the front desk and arranged for flowers to be delivered to them and then before I was going to check in they were going to have housekeeping bring the flowers to the room. I also planned on having a single rose and a teddy bear at the front desk for my girlfriend at check-in. When we arrived at the room not only were the flowers waiting but the house keeping staff had created two swans out of towels and left us a note. Such amazing service from the front desk and house keeping staff. They made our stay memorable and I can not say enough kind words about them. My only gripe is that there is a $15 a day parking charge added to your stay that I wasn't aware of. I wasn't surprised by the charge since other places will do the same thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks, James! :) We're happy to hear that you had a great experience, and it was our pleasure to help make your stay more memorable in whatever way we could. We hope you enjoyed the stay, and we wish you two all the best until your next visit!
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Great Hotel for Wild Games!

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Husband and I came Down for a MN Wild game. The hotel is so convenient, being across the street from the Xcel! The staff was awesome and very friendly. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable beds. Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks, Stephanie! We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay and are thrilled to hear that we'll have you back again! We'll look forward to it and wish you happy travels until then!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location downtown.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Saint Paul Downtown. We were in town for a Wild game. All of us were happy with the rooms, staff, restaurant, and location. Awesome job!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll look forward to a repeat performance during your next visit! Happy travels until then!
3 out of 5
by Lisa

Convenient and affordable

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location across from X-cel Energy Center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Lisa! We're happy that you appreciated the great value of our hotel and its excellent location. If there's anything we can do to improve your stay next time, please let us know and we'll be happy to accommodate as best we can! Happy travels until next time!
3 out of 5
by Daryl

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
It's an ok place, we had a very small room, bed was 2 feet from the door when we entered, fridge was not very cold, shower had very poor pressure, bed was very comfortable, the pillows were very soft, not firm at all. We were on the second floor right above the bar downstairs, and after a wild game our room was very noisy! I'm indifferent about staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Daryl, Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable bed and pillows during your stay, and we'll be happy to do what we can to improve your stays in the future! If you prefer firmer pillows, we can provide them. If you would like a room on a higher floor, we're happy to make sure you're up there with a view too; and, if there are any other preferences you have, just let us know! Our friendly staff will be happy to help! Thank you again for your review, and we hope we'll have another opportunity to provide a great stay soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kettle River, MN

Hotel room not very pleased

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Generally speaking the hotel and room were good but the room we had was on the second floor and right next to the elevator. We listened to foot rraffic all night from outside the door and car traffic all night as the busy intersection was right outside our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Hi Cassie, While we are happy to hear that you believe the hotel and its rooms in general possess high quality, we're sorry that you particular room location did not suit your needs. Our staff is more than happy to accommodate room location requests whenever possible, so please let us know what you prefer the next time that you're back! We'll be more than happy to help! Thank you for staying with us and for your review; and we'll hope to see you again soon!