Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location downtown.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Saint Paul Downtown. We were in town for a Wild game. All of us were happy with the rooms, staff, restaurant, and location. Awesome job!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll look forward to a repeat performance during your next visit! Happy travels until then!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kettle River, MN

Hotel room not very pleased

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Generally speaking the hotel and room were good but the room we had was on the second floor and right next to the elevator. We listened to foot rraffic all night from outside the door and car traffic all night as the busy intersection was right outside our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Hi Cassie, While we are happy to hear that you believe the hotel and its rooms in general possess high quality, we're sorry that you particular room location did not suit your needs. Our staff is more than happy to accommodate room location requests whenever possible, so please let us know what you prefer the next time that you're back! We'll be more than happy to help! Thank you for staying with us and for your review; and we'll hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Minnesota Wild games.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Only thing to complain about was that we were not aware of the additional charge for parking at the hotel until we got there. Otherwise, it was great. Right across the street from the hockey game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you had a great time at the game! We do try to advertise the cost of parking on the website and are sorry it came as a surprise. Nonetheless, we hope you'll be back again soon, and, in the meantime, go Wild!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good Value and Convenient to downtown.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Restaurant has decent food.
Cons: Better lighting on both sides of the bed. Double sinks, storage in handicapped shower for soap and shampoo.
Easy to park. Rooms adequate and reasonably priced. Tired decor but apparently scheduled for upgrading. Can walk to downtown restaurants, museums, Excel, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Jeffrey! We appreciate you taking the time to write about our property, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed our reasonable prices, excellent location, and convenient in-house restaurant. We hope you'll be back again in the future to see our upgraded rooms, and, until then, we wish you happy travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Air quality very dry, and no hot water at 5:30 in morning...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, four out of five star rating, and guidance in how we can improve future stays. We will make every effort to improve these aspects of your experience going forward, and we will be happy to provide a more excellent experience in the future. Thank you again for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Location & staff r great

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The room was small and dry, didn't use anything else in the hotel. Was great to walk across the road to the arena and back to hotel in 2 mins! Staff was friendly and kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Hi momof#15, Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed interacting with our kind and friendly staff and to hear that you appreciated the convenience of our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center! If there's anything we can do to improve your experience the next time you visit, please let us know! We're more than happy to help! Thank you again for your review, and happy travels until next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Value

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Price, convenience
Cons: Double sinks in the bathrooms.
Location: Excel, restaurants, science center, MN history museum, etc.
As long as there aren't crazy Wild fans celebrating in the halls, this is a great place to stay, convenient (walking distance) to downtown, across the street from the Excel Center. Decent food in the restaurant, easy parking (but not free), free internet and paper. Be sure to ask for a room on an upper floor facing the Cathedral.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Hi Jeffrey, Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel, its great guestroom views, free wifi, and easy parking accommodations--all at a great price! We'll hope to host you again soon, and we wish you happy travels until then!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, new york

nice hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Staff very accommodating, very clean especially the pool and hot tub. Great restaurant attached, near everything, shuttle was a bonus so you didn't have to take the car out of parking garage. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recommendation, Beth! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience, and it's our staff's pleasure to provide a clean hotel, great attached restaurant, and convenient shuttle service! Thank you again, and we will look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Convenient location!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Convenient location! Hotel staff was great! Check in was fast. Room included microwave, fridge, coffee maker. All the basic needs! Only negative was food availability. Wish it had breakfast included. Also got home from a show late and was hungry and no vending machine with snacks in it. Pretty minor issue though ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you, Smurfie! We're happy to hear that our friendly staff was able to provide an efficient check-in at our convenient location! We're also pleased to hear that your guestroom was stocked with all the amenities you needed during your stay! During your next visit, please be aware that we do have food vending located on the first floor of the hotel, and, although not included, feel free to take advantage of our in-house restaurant for any meal during the day. Thank you again for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, TX

Clean hotel within walking distance of Xcel Energy

Posted Dec 8, 2016
The hotel was great all around. My flight arrived earlier than check in and the clerk was kind enough to let me get my room a few hours earlier. The room was spacious and a comfortable bed to boot. One downside to my room was the toilet was small. You have plenty of places to eat within walking distance. There's even an Irish pub in the hotel. Would recommend if you spend a week in Saint Paul catching Wild games
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Timothy, Hotel Management
Thank you, Brian! We really appreciate your five-star review of our property and are happy to have made positive impressions with our helpful staff, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, attached restaurant, and unparalleled location! We hope you enjoyed your Wild game(s), and we'll look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the area! Happy travels until then!