Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Hotel staff was wonderful and polite. Breakfast was healthy and very delightful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: People @ the front desk need to be more attentive, and fully explain the parking situation.
We liked this hotel very much! Liked the beautiful lobby with fireplace and old pillars from a bi-gone era. Liked the Christmas decorations, which were old fashioned and the quiet jazz and/or music reminiscent of the 30's and 40's! The room with a wet bar and lovely dark woodwork and floors all done to match the period when the building originated was nice. Liked the impressionistic painting on wall and big ornate framed mirror as we entered. Bed was comfortable with it's large fluffy white comforter. Liked the big shower (all redone) in what I assume was a closet @ one time. All was good with exception of not receiving a pink parking slip from the desk clerk which caused us some major problems!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rural Minnesota

Almost perfect.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Cons: Do something about that heater.
We checked in late but found the staff cheerful, helpful, and professional. The room is small but cozy and the bathroom fixtures are classy. We were on the tenth floor so traffic noise was not an issue. However the wall mounted heating unit made a whooshing windy noise even when it was turned off. That made sleeping difficult but possible. Continental breakfast has tasty and healthy choices in an elegant setting. Our floor had a very nice sitting room which we used after breakfast. We were waiting for a train so also spent a long time relaxing in the comfortable and elegant lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay and beautiful hotel.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
I prefer to stay in hotels that are unique. This location is historical and beautiful! The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I arrived late and a lightt was left on in my room for me as well as the radio with nice music. A wonderful surprise after a long, cramped 4 hour flight. I highly recommend this location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Crosse Wi

Very classy

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Beautiful and historic hotel. I loved the cleanliness of the hotel and room. I wasn't aware that the hotel didn't provide parking so I had to find my own parking place unless I wanted to pay $17 to use their preferred ramp. Other than the parking, I have no complaints about my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Booked online, Grand Old Hotel.Coffee makers in the rooms, with one cup and many flavors to choose from. Loved the four shower jets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

def will stay again

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Lovely hotel, clean & quiet room w/comfy bed, nice staff, beautiful historic lobby, nice place for a drink. Next time I come to St Paul, I will stay here again. Nice find!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 2, 2014
It was a wonderful place to stay. I really liked it. They are there many helpful and nice. Everytging was Ok
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
This is a "hidden" and architectural gem right in Saint Paul, Minnesota! The hotel itself is gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful and the staff are friendly and amazing...They all go above and beyond to make certain that your stay is perfect!
5 out of 5
by Laurie from Brooklyn, NY

Hotel with old-fashioned charm and details

Posted Apr 16, 2014
We enjoyed the atmosphere at this charming refurbished hotel. The wood floors, marble shower stall, wood four-poster bed, and upholstered easy chair were attractive details. We liked that you could open the windows, and that 2 bottles of water appeared every day. The shower had two extra jets that streamed water around mid-body, giving a kind of jacuzzi effect. The bed was quite comfortable. The only problem we had was that when we went to the breakfast room one morning, there were no plates and one time we had to scrounge around to find coffee cups hidden under a shelf.