Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Mn

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Excellent service and a very nice place to stay. We had a nice walk from the hotel to the Target Center for an event. 2nd time I've stayed here. Great both times. Saturday breakfast buffet-fantastic!!! Service in the restaurant also fantastic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Grand Forks, MN

Not realizing it's potential.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent, and the space is obviously very unique. I loved the idea of an old train station, and was looking for a place downtown with
Cons: Update furniture, clean furniture better. make it not smell musty?
Location: TONS of stuff to do nearby. In the summer especially. Near the River and many downtown activities.
We chose a historic suite, because I wanted something a bit vintage luxury, but with modern updates, and that is what was shown in the image on expedia. I absolutely did NOT want a faux contemporary cheap looking hotel (which is what the non-historic section resembled, and I did NOT want a bed and breakfast vibe. Sadly, I got the BandB vibe HARDCORE. It looked and smelled like you were staying in someone's grandma's house (mansion? the ceilings were like 12 ft and it was a very large room). The furniture was extremely old and some bits were broken, others with a thick layer of dust. All-in-all I was extremely disappointed, especially for the price which was a bit higher than what I agreed to on expedia (perhaps they don't calculate tax?) With some work, this place could be amazing, but its simply not living up to its potential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Hotel was Great, As was the restaurant/Bar

Posted Feb 3, 2017
I arrived 5 hours before check in, but that didn't make a difference I was treated as if I was on time. They had My room with no issues. The Hotel is huge, My room and bed was very comfortable. The Restaurant/bar area was an awesome experience thanks to CeeCee and Alicia !!!! They were great !! The food was great. I would definitely go back there on vacation and stay at that hotel again !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul

Saturday night in Minneapolis

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: It has character, and class. It is located close to the river for nice walking trails and beautiful views. There are many restaurants close by.
Cons: The food for the Sunday bunch was barely warm to cold, very disappointing.
Location: Close to the Guthrie Theater and the Minneapolis Mill Museum.
My wife and I came downtown for a nice dinner and a night in a very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Location near the university, near the airport, near the Mall of America.
Cons: The place is improving itself with new construction projects. When they are done it will be even better. The staff made everything nice anyway.
Location: Nice downtown area, ice rink, near the University, near the Mall of America, close to the airport. The Whole Foods close by is also great!
Even though it was under construction, the weekend stay was easy, clean, and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night stay.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location, close to everything. Staff were fantastic. You only pay a flat fee to park if you leave and come back.
I thought it was a nice hotel. I do construction for a living so the remodel did not bother me in the least, but who ever did the vinyl (wall coverings) in our room needs to be fired along with the man who should be checking his craftsmanship. Also the shower head was very cheap and sprayed off to the sides as much as down where you would want it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Beautiful, clean rooms. Great location. However, the fact that we had to pay for parking in the hotel lot was a huge bummer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to us bank stadium!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We loved staying downtown. Make sure you check the skating rink schedule, it was closed for an event when we stayed. Also nice small pool, but we were bummed that there was no hot tub or sauna.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced with no waterpark

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Waterpark is gone, small pool & no hot tub. No complimentary breakdast buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for your disappointment in finding out that the Water Park was removed over 1 year ago and to discover that it was replaced by a Pool, Fitness Center and additional guest rooms. We feel that there is a great value in our Breakfast Buffet in relation to the price paid. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a great Renaissance experience. Sincerely, Jose R. Assistant General Manager Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Okay Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Sunday Brunch
Cons: House keeping. The main did not empty the trash in the room and towels were not replaced. I had the sheets replaced as they looked as if they were not
Location: Hotel located in a very congested construction area. A good hike to anything of interest.
The place was a tad disappointing as there was construction going on. The hotel is connected to an economy hotel owned by Marriott. Food was just okay. Bruch was nice. Not sure if I would stay there again. It's not worth the money. There ae better hotels. The sheets on the bed looked as if they were used by the previous guest. I had them changed.