Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edina, MN

Amazing view of the St Croix river

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We stayed overnight while the Ice Castles were in Stillwater. Couldn't find a better location! We could see the Ice Castle from our balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 2nd floor facing street

Nice and convenient so able to walk around town

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Very nice big room, convenient, nice people, ice Castles being built.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Heart of Stillwater

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The Water Street Inn is a charming old hotel right on the river front. It truly has that old world feel. The accommodations were decent, but not stunning. The complimentary breakfast was amazing! The private spa tub is literally in the room next to the TV. Kind of odd placement, though some might not mind it. Really, it was the gas fireplace that did it for us. Really warmed things up nicely on a cold winter night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, but that is all

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is run down and super overpriced. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were lumpy and old, and the decor was atrocious in the room. To top it off, we got back to the hotel late and were hungry after a wedding reception. There were people in the bar area and I asked if they were still open - And was promptly told by an employees "no, that is why the door is closed." I had asked very nicely, there was no reason to be rude in the delivery. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and have told many friends and family in the twin cities the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location-comfortable stay

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The location couldn't be better, just perfect. We like old hotels - the character, the décor, very pleasant.
Cons: The tub in the bathroom was very dangerous. We are senior citizens and there were no handrails to grab or anti-slip surface on the bottom of the tub. It was an accident waiting to happen. Also, though we loved the look of the Victorian bed, the corners of the bed at the foot end were a huge tripping hazard, especially in the middle of the night.
Location: The location right next to the river was so wonderful. There were seating areas and restaurants and shops nearby. It was easy to get around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not be back

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in room 305, terrible mattress, cracked sink, cracked floor tile, shabby appearance! Hallway carpeting very dirty! Whole appearance of inside was shabby and neglected! Very nice staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Love the area - great location - free parking -

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Received a free breakfast, very friendly staff, noisy in the early morning outside with deluevery trucks but still able to sleep - would prefer a little more comfy mattress but would still stay again and recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed there for the Stillwater Log Race

Posted Sep 19, 2016
It has now become an annual tradition to visit Stillwater for the annual Log 5k and 10 mile race. This was our second year staying at the Water Street Inn for the event. Charming and cozy rooms and nice staff. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area beautiful patio

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We were told we had a river side room but ended up getting a very noisy street room.. When we told the girl behind the desk that we were suppose to have a river view she just shrugged her shoulders and said no you get a "balcony" room.. There's no way that could be called a balcony! And above a noisy street and a view of a building..