Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minot

Internet was horrible

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Very slow to check in breakfast was not very big
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Everything was fine besides the pool. Kids couldn't use it because it wasn't very clean looking. Had to use the pool at the hotel next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Vey nice hotel, clean, quiet, wonderful breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, but very small pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchea

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Everything very good. Two ver small issues. Pillows are not very good. Hot tub was not working. Would of booked sister property if I knew bout this in advance. Other wise excellent hotel would stay again aslong as hot tub is working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Surprising!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Location: We enjoyed visiting the Scandinavian Heritage Park!
Very Nice, new hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for the low price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina Saskatchewan

I will be back !

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, affordable rates ,courteous staff , excellent breakfast .
Location: Not to far from the main drag .Lots of restaurants and shopping .
This was the second year in a row I stayed at Baymont . The staff is very courteous .I haven't been disappointed by the breakfast either . Only two minor issues , our coffee machine didn't have a filter basket but within 15 min that was fixed . Also the toilet was loose , front desk asked if we wanted to change rooms but we said no ,it wasn't leaking just needed to be tightened to the floor a bit. Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Dirty, cheap, shoddy, terrible odor in room, front desk personnel couldn't answer basic question, ADA room not as advertised on website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Andrea Ziemer, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. As I mentioned to you in the email , we were going to look into the issues right away and I am happy to let you know that everything was fixed. I am glad that you were satisfied with my prompt response through email and thank you for letting me know that you were pleased with the comped room. I am thankful for my staff and as you can see from our other reviews we have a very friendly and helpful staff! Thank you, and have a great day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Great breakfast. Clean and quiet rooms. Great price and staff works with you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan

Nice hotel in a great location!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This is a pet friendly hotel that does not charge extra for your pet. The hotel was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly! They offer a good continental breakfast from 6-9 weekdays and 7-10 on the weekend. Our only disappointment was that the hot tub was not hot when we wanted to enjoy it prior to leaving on Saturday. I mentioned it to the front desk when checking out. They were very apologetic and had already looked into adjusting the temperature. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay here again when visiting Minot!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Deb, Thank you so much for your great review. I am so sorry to hear that the hot tub was not working properly, but I am happy to let you know that it was fixed. Thank you for pointing out our friendly staff and our clean room. Hoping to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

meh

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Obviously a hotel built fast and used hard for the oil boom. First room had a blocked up sink, next room the TV didn't work. Asked for a refund/discount and they said they didn't know how to do that since I booked through Expedia. Staff was very nice was the only saving grace.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience you had while staying with us. Since you did book and prepay through Expedia we are not able to give a discount or a refund. Again I sincerely apologize and we hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us. Thank you