Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexander, nd

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Very pleased!! The staff was very mice and accommodating. The kids had a blast and the breakfast was wonderful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Nice hotel with water park, attached to a mall

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Proximity to shopping and the water-park.
Cons: A few cosmetic details; a lot of the tiles in the room are cracked.
The water park is perfect for the kids and being attached to the mall is perfect for shopping for Mom. We stayed mid-week so it was nice and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor standards

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Booked two rooms for 3 nights. Couldn't check in until after 5pm and only one room was ready. The next day they told us we had only reserved one night stay and had to check out even though I had the confirmation for 3 nights with us. Ended up finding room for us but after two nights we changed hotels. Hotel is in need of some updates. Water park was good for kids and location was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Needs updating. Staff shortages.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Usually stay at SleepInn due to location to mall and water park even though you pay rate premium over other hotels in area. The hotel couldn't guarantee our checkin and we like numerous others waited 2 hours for a check in. Housekeeping shortages. Ice machines not working on our floor. Extremely poor water pressure and limited hot water. Needs an overhaul as many newer hotels available for much lower rates. Won't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Nice hotel; great location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: Well, our room was not very soundproof.
Location: Great Location (read above)
Took the grandkids for the weekend. Parked at the Dakota Square Mall and after a little shopping, a movie and some dinner, we headed to the Sleep Inn, which is right IN the mall! The grandkids had a great time at the waterslides (and then, of course, we had to play a few of the arcade games). Everything under one roof!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Rhea Feist, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for your helpful feedback regarding our hotel. We are very happy that you and your grandchildren enjoyed the onsite location of the mall, dinning options, movie theater, and the waterpark/arcade. We do apologize for the noise disturbances, and we will do our best to ensure that each guest is quiet by our quiet time of 10 pm. We hope to see you and your family again real soon!! Have a nice day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Location, decent breakfast, poor check-in

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: On the upside, its nice to be attached to the mall, the water park was fun and there is a nice little arcade area.
Cons: Carpet, Paint, bathrooms door handle loose needs repaired
Location: Attached to Mall, Theater in Mall, Resturants and Star Bucks in the mall, close to other good restaurants and shopping.
Had two rooms booked, only got 1 room on time for the guaranteed 4pm check in time, the other room wasn't ready until 7pm. Ice machine on each floor didn't work, mattress was brutal. Some of the carpet looking pretty rough. Staff was not to friendly, but there was lots of mad people waiting for rooms until long after the 4pm check-in time. They did give a free future night because of it after giving them enough of a hard time about it. Booked on Expedia with one rate, and selected pay at hotel, but they wouldn't give me the rate I had booked it at with Expedia so I had to wait for hotel manager to call me the next day as she wasn't in, then she said it was an Expedia issue then I talked to Expedia and they confirmed it was a hotel issue but helped me get my refund. Not sure just felt like a pain in the but dealing with the late check in and the over charge. With all the new motels in Minot its time to step up to the plate and treat your customers like you really appreciate them choosing your motel. The water park and being attached to the mall is all that is keeping them in business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Rhea Feist, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your travel needs. We sincerely apologize for the delayed check in time and not being able to provide the rate given, as the reservation was made through a third party site. We have fixed the ice machines, and we have spoken with the Housekeeping Manager as well in regards to the carpet and mattress. We very much appreciate you and your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for convenience for families

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Rooms were very hot and can not control temperature easily. Bathroom was very small and old Very lovely staff both housekeeping and front desk staff!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Rhea Feist, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the temperature being unsatisfactory for you during your recent stay. We are pleased that the staff treated you well, and we hope to see you again in the near future! Happy Holidays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moose Jaw, SK

Convenience, we thought....

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Convenience, we thought....
Cons: Price was a little higher than other newer hotels but we were willing to pay that for the convenience.
Location: LongHorn Steakhouse was amazing. Olive Garden is always on our list of restaurants to visit in Minot, but it was closed due to the storm. :(
We chose this hotel because it is attached to the mall, and our trip was mainly to do some Xmas shopping. Yes, the exchange rate is terrible but we wanted to get away for a few days. We did all of the box stores on the first two days and left our last day as a mall day -- that way my husband could join me if he wanted to or stay back and relax. Well, it stormed and it stormed enough that they decided to close the mall, the schools, some restaurants, and who knows what else. I have never seen a mall close for weather related conditions. (We live in Moose Jaw, SK and nothing ever closes because of weather.) There was no restaurant in the hotel and the continental breakfast was less than desirable. So we were stranded more or less. Target, at the other end of the mall opened up but someone decided to block off all access from the mall and our hotel -- if you wanted in you had to go all the way around, outside. Sort of defeated the purpose of the hotel. Oh well, things happen..... and we just won't travel to Minot in December again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Rhea Feist, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience of the mall and some of the restaurants being closed during your recent stay. Due to the storm, we had no control over the mall management's decision to close due to conditions regarding the blizzard. However, we do understand how frustrating that was for you and we sincerely apologize for unfortunate events during your stay. We thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again in the future. Have a great day, and Happy Holidays!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs work on accessibility from mall

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were alright but a bit overpriced. I liked that it was connected to the mall, but if your seeing a movie in the mall and the mall closes while your in the theater, you will not be able to get back to your room without going outside and walking around the exterior of the mall parking lots. It was winter and was a very long and freezing walk back to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We have brought the mall gates/doors being locked past hours to the attention of the Mall Manager so that they are aware of the frustration our guests feel when they have to walk outside to get back to the hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of having to walk outside instead of through the mall. We thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays!! Rhea Feist, Front Desk Manager, Sleep Inn and Suites of Minot
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with very friendly staff. Loved the location. Easy access to the mall and other shopping outlets.