Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON Canada

Love this place!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Very quiet place, great staff, super comfortable rooms, and a beautiful view.
Location: The Miramichi has a lot to offer. Newcastle has a quaint old town style downtown to explore and across the river Chatham has a really nice waterfront.
This was our fourth stay here. We book the King room, very quiet restful room, lots of space and a really comfortable sleep. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The salt water pool was lovely to swim in, nicely heated and relaxing. The rooms and hotel have a nice fresh scent to them without being overwhelming. Close to stores and attractions, we would plan to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Enjoyed being on the river.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: Included above
Location: Once at the motel setting good. Getting there from the main street not so great.
Pleasant surroundings, great staff and clean unit. Breakfast could have been better...eggs needed work...Other choices were plentiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Point Edward ON

They cancelled my reservation

Posted Jun 29, 2017
When we arrived after travelling all day we were told that they were overbooked and they had no room even though we had booked thru Expedia and had a confirmation number. We will never stay at a Howard Johnson again. Expedia should do something because we depended on them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Very pet-friendly
Location: Easy to walk everywhere from hotel
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Very affordable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Harman , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy you had a good experience at our property. We hope to see you again in the Miramichi : )
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Good breakfast. I like the coffee-to-go. Had a delightful breakfast on the deck overlooking the river. Bathroom spotless; excellent supply of towels. Good supply of sturdy hangers. Refrigerator and microwave in good working order. I stayed 6 nights. The bed linens are impeccable. I liked the 4 pillows/person. Flooring and chairs are worn, but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Harman , Hotel Management
Thanks for such a great review! We really push for our guests to have the best breakfast experience on the river. Extended stay's require all bases of comfort to be covered and that is what we work on every day. Our maintenance staff will be double checking for worn floors and chairs. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oshawa, Ontario

lovely stay for a funeral

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The staff and the king size comfy beds.
Cons: The cleanliness of the pool and the breakfast eggs.
Location: I hadn't been to Miramichi in 40 years. The wharf is beautiful and it seems very popular for fishing.
We arrived early and the rooms were ready. The staff was wonderful and very accomodating, especially the front desk. The rooms were comfortable and the beds so comfy although the room and rest of the hotel was a bit dated. I didn't swim, but my cousin said the pool was filthy so she didn't go in. On our last night there, we decided our family would have dinner at HoJo's. I have to admit, it was fantastic. There wasn"t one complaint about the food at all. The restaurant service was great. Breakfast eggs were fake and not good, but there was something for everyone if you don't like rubber eggs. Overall, for such a sad occasion, it was a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ont

Posted May 1, 2017
15 of my family members had dinner in the hotel restaurant. No reservations were made, just walked in and they arranged everything for us. I was super impressed with the food that came out. Most of us ordered something different. They came out in a timely fashion and we were all served around the same time. Plates were hot and delicious!! Would recommend dinner there anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Fredericton

Quiet off the beaten path

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, Free upgrade, view, location close to highway but not busy. Pool is nice but didnot get a chance to use it.
Cons: New carpeting, More security. Door are never locked at the ends of the building
Location: Fishing, Fishing, Fishing ;)
Free upgrade to suite with hot tub was unexpected. Enjoy the view over the Miramichi river in half the rooms and breakfast area. Looking forward to bringing my canoe next trip to fish for striped bass after work away from home. Locals come to fish from the shore and there are around 300,000 Bass swimming up the river to spawn between late April and July.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dawson Creek BC

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, nice bed, good restaurant.
Cons: Restaurant wasnt always open
Location: Close to downtown square.
Spent 5 days in Miramichi and my hotel, although in an industrial area, was clean, pleasant, with friendly staff and a good restaurant with good food.
4 out of 5
by Suzanne

It's an OK place to stay - not fabulous, but ok.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
We booked on Hotels.com, but we were billed on our credit card too. After a quick call - the manager sorted it out and issued me a refund on my card for the over-billed amount. Overall - it was an ok stay. The room was really cold when we checked it, the bed was really hard and uncomfortable. There was rust stains on the shower curtain. It was clean - just stained. The shower felt good.