Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice workers

Posted Dec 10, 2017
I lost my phone and the lady working in the lobby, Debby, was nice enough to look for it and find it in the snow!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. I'm pleased to hear our staff was able to assist you! We'd love to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Great location close to tons of restaurants

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Great location. Friendly front desk staff.
Cons: Rooms need updating.
Location: Tons of restaurants and shopping on the main road where the hotel is located.
The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel lobby is nice and offers free newspapers. There is an onsite bistro for light fare but we did not eat there. The room was nice but the bathrooms are in need of an update/renovation. The room had a good size mini fridge. I was in the area on business and loved the location. There are tons of restaurants on the main street by the hotel. We walked across the road and ate dinner at Papa Vinos, which was very good. There is also lots of shopping on the main road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tasha, Thank you for the four star rating. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall stay. We’d love to welcome you back again for a five star experience in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The VILLAGES, FL

Excellent

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The staff were exceptional, both friendly, helpful and courteous. Especially the young lady who worked in the Bistro in the mornings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and thank you for acknowledging our great team here on property. We'd love to welcome you back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

The rooms were old and not very clean.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: less than 10 minutes from Notre Dame campus
Cons: Breakfast should have been included
I went to school in South Bend and have been back several times since graduating in 1999. This hotel was not worth the money I spent which I still believe is an error at $900 PER NIGHT. I will follow up to make sure my reservation was correct. Everyone else I spoke to in South Bend this past weekend stayed in hotels for a 1/3 or 1/2 the price I paid
5 out of 5
by Lori

Clean, quiet, nice room, & great staff.

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was clean, quiet and the staff was great. We are very happy with our stay there. Looking for a great place to stay in the South Bend area? Try the Courtyard by Marriott South Bend-Mishawaka.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017
Lori, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed our cleanly accommodations and wonderful staff, as we take great pride in both! It's been a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
We were in kind of a bind because we needed to stay in the area an extra night and our original hotel was booked. The people at Courtyard were very pleasant and accommodating: the front desk person allowed us to check in early and gave a choice of "balcony or no balcony". We also asked for a roll-away, which they tracked down quickly and brought to the room. The room itself was clean, although the bathroom felt very dated and a little yellow. The bed was comfortable, but the sofa pullout was unexpectedly a twin size and very thin and spring-filled. With all three "beds" in place, there was very little room to walk without stepping on a piece of furniture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a five star experience in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location was good because it was close to shopping.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast.
Location: Mall for shopping.
The pool was small and there wasn't a jacuzzi. The price was a little high for not having a complimentary breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice Location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location was excellent!
Cons: The room we stayed in has a little smoked in smell.
Location: There were stores and a great selection of restaurants nearby.
This Courtyard hotel was locarnear many. Ice restaurants. It was really great to arrive there tired and find so many choices to eat, either walking distance or a less than 1 mile ride away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not book this hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Locked out of our room for two nights, which turned into 2 whole days of not having the ability to go in and out of our room at will. First time was at 11:00 pm when we returned from the day. Staff had no way to get in. Had to call hotel next door. Had to wait on them because we were told "we can't hurry them". Finally got some hook and string and we were able to get in at 12:30pm. Next morning we didn't have the ability to go to breakfast and come back to the room so we left and they told us it would all get fixed that day. Came back that evening...well NOPE! Door didn't open again. "We reset everything in the hotel", we asked did you check our room specifically, no answer...just "we had to reset everything in the hotel that day". Again...calling everyone in the hotel to get the door opened. Finally got it done again, another hour in the lobby. They finally found the "master key". We left to walk to the store across the street, and we had to get them AGAIN to walk us up to our room and unlock our door. THIS WAS MISERABLE. They said our "STAY" was taken care of. I thought, well that would help. Well, surprise again, we got our bill and no it did not read zero. Told the desk upon check out, and they said they couldn't do anything. Wow!! But this was just the most miserable part of our stay. Also, housekeeping did not restock our room with coffee. The toilet needed cleaning and it never got cleaned until the last day. Find a better hotel. Do not book there.
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place, clean, friendly staff. I like the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017
Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We really appreciate your comments regarding our cleanly accommodations and wonderful staff! It's been a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back on future visits to the area.