Ratings based on 1,751 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Great location! Disappointed with room.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: The staff are great! Always very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with the spa services.
Cons: The rooms need renovations! I recommend skipping the room upgrade or check out the room before you decide to upgrade to see if it is worth it.
Location: Located in beautiful Mismaloya. About 20 minute ride by taxi to downtown Puerto Vallarta and about a 30 minute boat ride to more isolated beaches.
Barcelo in Puerto Vallarta is located in Mismaloya which is a beautiful location. This was my 3rd stay at this location. The previous time was 4 years ago for our honeymoon. This time came to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. The location and staff are great! I was very disappointed with the room upgrade because the condition of the room definitely was not worth the additional money. When I did the upgrade to the master suite 4 years ago it was definitely worth it but this time upgrading to the suite deluxe premium was a waste of money. Immediately I noticed broken things in the room: a desk lamp, the clock radio connection for iphone, the toilet seat. However, what really caught my attention was the condition of the seating bench by the foot of the bed: bad odor and stains everywhere (I don't even want to think how much DNA was on that bench!). Made multiple complaints about condition of room until I finally was referred to the concierge. She was very nice and listened to us. I told her that I finally had to move the bench into the living room area because I could no longer stand looking at it (I had requested the staff to do it but was never done). They did offer to change us to another room by the 3rd day and we should have taken their offer. The mattress was very uncomfortable. Finally on the last day they offered to refund us half the cost of the upgrade (I think they should have refunded us the whole amount). I recommend the hotel for its location and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Stayed one week. We purchased an upgrade package..The buffet was acceptable.-often food not hot. The room service was hit and miss. Coffee replaced every other day. The snack always had 2 peanuts but only one chip. The food in the vip lounge we felt was not kept fresh. Alcohol upgrade in lounge was good. The staff were above average. If you like very loud music this is your place to go! We feel that for the extra money we paid $50+ /day US was not good use of our resources.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not too many Americans

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We loved this location, small beach, staff and.. that many of the guests were Mexican families. We r American, but don't always appreciate the behavior of our fellow citizens abroad.. Easy taxi ride into the town. The Most helpful staff we have encountered anywhere!! (Snack bar employees were overall slightly less interested and helpful). A couple of concierges also a bit arrogant. But overall, the staff- particularly in the buffet restaurant- were five star! Delectable food! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great place to stay!!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Just got back from a five-day stay at Barcelo and we are already ready to go back! We were Premium Level and enjoyed the extra perks that gave us. Worth the extra money to upgrade your room. We had a room that faced the jungle side and the Gulf so quieter than on the pool side. We enjoyed watching the locals get ready for their day everyday! Love the premium lounge where you can go and make your own specialty drinks and all the great snacks. Had 2 minibars in our room which they re-stock everyday. Room service included. Indulged in 20% off at the spa one day. This was our first all-inclusive and it was a great experience. Nice to not have to worry about anything, get up and leave when you’re done! Great food everywhere and amazing staff! Always had plenty of lounge chairs at the pools. Good service from staff at the pools. Spent a day at the PV Botanical Gardens and highly recommend this. Only approx. 20 minutes south of hotel. Beautiful grounds, friendly people and great food at restaurant. Highly recommend this resort tucked away from the hustle and bustle of busy PV.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Errica Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Stunning location

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The hotel is located just south of Puerto Vallarta and situated more in the jungle. You can get to it by a 20 minute bus ride. Really worth it as the hotel is fantastic. The room was huge and very well appointed. The buffet offered a large selection of delicious dishes. There is 45 show every evening that is similar to one you would see on a cruise ship. I will definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Everything we expected in an all inclusive hotel.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Good likeable employees.
Cons: Renovation of some facilities.
Location: Easy bus or taxi access to downtown for variety and shopping.
We enjoyed the variety and quality of the restaurants. We are regulars in Puerto Vallarta and enjoyed being away from the downtown crowds. It was a great escape. It shows it's age but the quality is still there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Peter & Nancy Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your holidays. We will wait for you in the future. Sincerely
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

The hotel was nice

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The hotel had good activities but i had problem with airline and i arrived one day later and they said that expidia will reimburse me but i called expidia and they said the the hotel should so i payed a day that i was not thier and ther supervisor didn't care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Fidia Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Puerto Vallarta. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel close to the beach, comfy

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Hotel was nice, staff was kind but was not happy about foods
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sohe Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your holidays. We will wait for you in the future. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent food /service

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: location/food/staff
Cons: room décor/ new towels
Love the food and the staff. The rooms are a bit outdated and the towels overused. I will definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Evelyn Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your holidays. We will wait for you in the future. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and service. Facilities can improve

Posted Nov 27, 2017
We had a great time at Barcelo. The staff is great, friendly and responsive. The food is okay at the buffet restaurant, but you can make reservations for the other restaurants and those are fantastic. The pools are great. Rooms could use updating and more upkeep. We were premium level but on the 7th floor and not that impressed with the rooms. Apparently the premiums on levels 8 and 9 are better. Proximity to beach is great and it's one of the few hotels that have a beach front. Also bus stop to town is right outside the hotel and we used that almost daily during our stay to go into town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Barceló Puerto Vallarta hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, we will wait for you in a near future. Sincerely