Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Disappointing

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The view from the 2-bedroom panoramic condo.
Cons: They should maintain their apartments and making sure that they are safe. The local management doesn't have any concept of what liability means.
Location: There is nothing nearby. All water sport activities are around 40 minutes away. The city is 30 minutes away.
This hotel is nice. The view from the panoramic 2-bedroom condos is spectacular. The resort has only 2 main restaurants which makes the choice of food boring. The sushi restaurant is only for adults. My family vacation was going just fine until the day before our departure when the 100 + pound glass door to the restroom in my apartment got disconnected from its hinge and fell on me and went to pieces. It cut me open from head to toe requiring medical attention from the hotel medic to stop the bleeding. Today 5 days after the incident I am still having trouble walking as it is painful. So much for a vacation! Apparently the word liability doesn't exist in Mexico. I spent more than $7,000 for one week of stay and the hotel management offered me only $300 for the incident! Expedia should stop listing this hotel in their offering as in turn they would be liable for this hotel. The glass door could have cut my neck killing me or made me blind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Include WIFI Acknowledge the +VIP advertised on the site.
We had a fantastic time here in June. We liked it so much that we booked 8 days in Aug. The beach and amenities are a perk! Free kayaking, snorkeling and paddle boarding! Where else can you get that included in your stay. Old PV is a cheap taxi ride up the road and they have some nice restaurants. 2 things. Why cant't WIFI be included? If it was 1999 I would understand but it's not. Also, I booked the +VIP and this literally means nothing. No perk to it whatsoever. Maybe they will prove me wrong in Aug. Who knows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am happy you had a fantastic stay and I look forward to host you again in August so you can see our improvements based on your comments. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Maanger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Stunning resort, quality food, phenomenal service

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Stunning resort tucked in the mountains. Beautiful views! Private beach, 2 pools with poolside service, wonderful restaurants & staff. Amazing spa!
Cons: There were several times I attempted to contact concierge via our room telephone and no one answered. I had to either try again later or walk down.
Location: We mainly relaxed at the resort but did venture into town via city bus to explore. We also visited Le Kliff restaurant which is nearby.
Garza Blanca was a stunning resort with quality food and phenomenal service. Our expectations were exceeded -- we were blown away by our experience. Our favorite restaurants were Bocados STK (steak house) and Hiroshi (sushi). Our spa experience was amazing. The resort is beautifully maintained. The pools are beautiful and were not overly crowded and the service poolside is exceptional. The private beach was lovely and they offer free snorkeling, kayaking, and stand up paddle boarding. Wherever you are at the resort you are sure to see a stunning view of the Bay of Banderas. I don't see how anyone could have a complaint after visiting here. All staff that we encountered were so hospitable, friendly and made us feel well taken care of. We plan on returning. For families traveling with children this resort did seem geared toward adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear Destinee, Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to know you had a great stay and enjoyed everything from our amazing restaurants to the friendly service of our valued team. I am looking forward to welcome you back to paradise very soon. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Beautiful resort with poor service

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Unbelievable views and beautiful resort but severely under staffed. Long wait times at restaurants, poor quality food, and unacceptable service. Maybe they oversold for the 4th of July crowd and were not prepared but the over all customer service experience definitely was below average compared to the dozen other resorts I have gone to in Puerto Vallerta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear family of 5, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I regret to read that your experience was not up to par. Though we do not have any excuses for the shortfalls you had during your stay, I do hope you would accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences with the service. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

vacation.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: the view.
Cons: cleanliness of rooms, quality of food.
Location: $10 cab ride to boardwalk. if you want to try some local stuff or have a really good Mexican dinner...you have to lave property.
staff was mostly rude or not available. really disappointed in the quality of service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting Garza Blanca Resort as your vacation destination. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize first and foremost for the service and product flaws you encountered during your stay. All have been well noted and will be followed up on. I look forward to have the opportunity to host you once again. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

No complaints

Posted Jun 26, 2017
This resort was completely beautiful. The pictures do not do the views justice. The staff/service was stupendous, they catered to every need. Room was absolutely perfect, nice sitting tub, beautiful balcony, and comfy bed. Only down side was there wasn't much to do after hours, we checked out the rooftop bar often but weren't much people. Awesome relaxing vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us, We really appreciated. I am delighted to read you enjoyed our Resort and I look forward to have the pleasure to host you back in the near future. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, California

Excellent, relaxing best hotel in Puerto Vallarta!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Best hotel and service in Puerto Vallarta, everything 1st class : location, grounds, accommodations, amenities, beautiful beach but best of all the ammability and service of the employees .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear KeniaLiz, It was a pleasure to host you at Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & SPA. I am thrilled to know you had a wonderful time here with us and enjoy the amenities, our beautiful beach and the attentive service of our valued team. I look forward to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel, but terrible room service

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: View, beach, pools.
Cons: Room service, attention to detail on room things.
This was a nice hotel, but I would not recommend it to a friend for a few reasons: 1. If you're in Tower 4, you have to walk up and down a crazy hill to get to the main lobby. There is a trolly service, but it's extremely inconsistent and often doesn't come for upwards of 15 min. 2. I'm not sure what's going on with room service, but when you call anyone from a room phone (operator, bellman, room service, ANYONE), our experience was: (a) they'd take our request and never follow through on it; (b) they'd take a request and then not follow through for 60-90 min; (c) they'd answer the phone and just hang up. It got to the point that we'd just trek down the hill directly for anything important. Not what I'd expect from a $200/night room. 3. Attention to detail in our room was a little lacking. Spaciousness and balcony view were great, but our bathroom had a distinct BO smell to it and our soap dispenser was completely broken. We were also completely missing hand towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca , Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for selecting Garza Blanca Resort as your vacation destination. It was a pleasure to host you here with us. Though we do not have any excuses at all for the shortfalls you had during your stay, I do hope you would accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you faced. Please rest assured that this incidents are most certainly not reflective for the high standard of service and quality we strive to provide. I look forward to have the opportunity to host you once again in the future. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017
My only issue was both times I ordered steak, they were over cooked. I ordered them medium rare and they came out medium well to well done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I look forward to welcome you back soon and see our improvements based on your comments. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not a 5 star hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We booked a panoramic suite with oceanview and, when we first checked in, everything seemed great. That was, however, after we returned from dinner and the room reeked of paint. The room next door was undergoing construction and they were painting the next three days. It was so strong, it was headache-inducing. It took over an hour and multiple calls to get another room, and when we got into the new room, it wasn't clean with debris and small droppings on the floor. The front desk said it was gecko poop, but it looked more like mouse droppings. We ended up going back to the first room and spent a now very late and humid first night with the patio door open. We were promptly woken up by construction and the strong scent of paint again. After dropping by reception, we were moved to another tower, with not as nice view but had no further problems. The pools are nice, the food is ok, and the service personnel are all nice, yet they do not offer true 5-star service. Some notes: we were not approached for timeshares, however, we asked to just be shown to our room instead of sitting down with the concierge. We also did not do the savings card, since it was absolutely of no value to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Gerencia Garza Blanca, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It has been brought to my attention that your recent visit with us was not up to par. As you may know providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and hearing we have fallen below that standard is something we like to address immediately. I have sat down with our Front Desk Manager to go over this, in order to avoid such incidents in the future and make the necessary corrections. Once again thank you for your feedback. I very much appreciate your words and hope that you return to our Paradise very soon. Best regards, Eliezer Quiñones General Manager