Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great resort right on the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2016
We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. The pool, restaurant and bar are fantastic and the views right onto the beach and Dunk Island are just amazing. Reception staff could be a bit friendlier and more helpful but restaurant, bar and housekeeping staff were lovely. Mission Beach is a beautiful little spot and we would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxford, england

wake up to beautiful views of the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Pool, views,
Cons: Heat the pool Include eggs for breakfast Have airer for drying wet clothes Curtain off bathroom area
Location: Right on the beach - skydiving looked exciting from nearby. Boats go to the reef, but plan ahead
Lovely setting. Children enjoyed the spa bath and the pools. Lap pool was good, but cold. Lovely setting. Limited but adequate breakfast included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Restaurant great

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Beds not comfortable. Room was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. There are old andnew accommodation and would recommend the new part over the old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queensland

Rain forest resort

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Wotif
Would not recommend you stay their if it is raining got wet every day walking to main resort for bfast. Had a wedding to go to and got wet in beautiful dress just getting to car.
3 out of 5
by Martin from der Schweiz

Übernachtung Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wir haben auf der Durchreise eine Nacht im Nebengebäude (ca. 100 Meter vom Haupthaus entfernt) des "Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach" verbracht. Die Ausstattung und das Bett sind grundsätzlich okay, wenn auch schon älter. Das Zimmer war jedoch in einem schlechten Zustand. Vom schmutzigen Teppich abgesehen roch es modrig/schimmlig und an der Decke waren Flecken zu sehen. Diese Zimmer müssen dringen saniert werden. Ansonsten wäre die Hotelanlage rund um das Haupthaus inklusive Pool, Restaurant und dem Strand traumhaft. Das Abendessen hat sehr gut geschmeckt, das Frühstück war auch gut (Auswahl könnte grösser sein, jedoch ausreichend).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Could have been a nicer room

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Location.
Cons: The carpet needs to be replaced with tiles. Carpets don't work in North Queensland damp conditions. The main bed needs to be replaced.
Location: Motel is located between Castaways main resort & the main shopping/eating area of the Beach. (Walking distance).
Room was in the separate motel. The carpet was smelly. The bed was lumpy. Otherwise everything was Ok. Can get better rooms for the same price or less around Mission Beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to town.
Cons: Take steps to reduce the noise from the driveway and from the toilets and showers being used.
Stayed in the separate Rainforest rooms about 70m from the main complex. Decent rooms and facilities. Separate pool. Easy walk to the main building and restaurant and 5mins walk to the main food area in town. This building is extremely noisy though. The pebble drive way means that you hear every car come and go during the night. When a neighbor flushes their toilet it is very loud and whiny as the cistern refills. Also our room didn't have Austar as advertised. Was told by reception that we simply couldn't get it in that room - 510.
3 out of 5
by Birgit from Queensland

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed when hotel was Mackay,s and some refurbish has been done which is an improvement , would we stay there again? we dont know, we have to think about that .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and location

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Staff really friendly and helpful
Cons: Keep the continental breakfast as a bonus for value for money,
Location: Ocean views and sea breeze with relaxing area to have an afternoon drink.
Hotel room clean and comfortable, affordable price with continental breakfast, very nice food, on foreshore for excellent ocean views. Rainforest room very cosy and authentic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

On a Beach Mission

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly staff Lovely meals
Cons: Updating Rainforest room decore
Location: Didn't see a lot as I was at a workshop I look forward to coming back to explore more!!
Comfortable room in the Rainforest section Rained heavily for 2/3s of the stay but that was okay as it kept the bities away Staff were pleasanty and most helpful I didn't get to try the Day Spa so I guess I will have to come back for unfinished business! Thank you Chrissie and Shai