Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Great place to stay. We stayed in the older section of the hotel which was more basic but still ha it's own pool and was what we expected from what we booked. Great to have access to the main block which had 2 extra pools and great breakfast there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northland, new Zealand

Breakfast was excellent and so were the dinners.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
This was the first week of our holiday, we found it very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria

It was close to beach had everything neeced

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Just relaxing
Location: The restaurants were good and just a relaxing town
The beach was very nice the pools were good and sitting around area was fantastic the breakfast was great had a lovely stayjus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good family hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was great - breakfast and dinner alike, and it was right on the ocean.
Cons: The "economy" rooms were not in the main building, although they were very close, they were a bit worn looking, although clean and comfortable.
Location: Mission Beach centre has many friendly cafes & restaurants, Cycling on the beach is easy and the hotel provides bike hire. Lots of scenic drives.
Castaways is a lovely hotel, with a very relaxed atmosphere. The dining area ( and where you have breakfast) is lovely and open, with a fabulous view out over their gardens, and to the palm-fringed beach. It is great area for relaxing, - either by the pool on their comfortable lounges, or on the beach. Alternatively, driving around the environs is very scenic, and visiting Paronella Park is a must-see place. The continental breakfasts were delicious, and no need to add in cooked food, although you can if you wish. The view from the dining area in the morning or evening is fabulous - watching the moon rise over the ocean was delightful. They provide bike hire at the hotel, and the beach is very flat and sand compact, so it makes cycling easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenock South Australia

One night was seriously too short...

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: What a great view having breakfast overlooking the palm lined beach and out to sea
Cons: Nothing that comes to mind
Location: Mission Beach Tavern is a good spot for a cleansing beer and people watching
Stayed on the way through to Cairns for a quick look around but if we knew how beautiful it was there we would have changed our travel plans!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenock South Australia

One night was seriously too short...

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: What a great view having breakfast overlooking the palm lined beach and out to sea
Cons: Nothing that comes to mind
Location: Mission Beach Tavern is a good spot for a cleansing beer and people watching
Stayed on the way through to Cairns for a quick look around but if we knew how beautiful it was there we would have changed our travel plans!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Hotel was great, however my partner and I both woke up with bad food poinening symptoms after eating the seafood linguini.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing view

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Beachfront room with stunning view through the palm trees to the beach. Very clean room , you just have to get over the tiny ants... its the tropics. Continental breakfast included was good. 5 min walk to all the restarants. I visited end of may so nice and quiet....had the pool all to myself. Relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
by Danielle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Suzanne

Castaways at Mission.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great time staying at Mission Beach at resort. Much more to offer than Port Douglas. A secret destination worth sharing.