Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, not long enough. next time

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: excellent location so close to the beach, the views were just perfect to wake to every morning
Cons: the resort looked like it needed a re fresh in a few areas.
Location: we were at mission not just for a quick break but checking out a job prospect as well. enough to do there every day.
very nice room, very helpful staff, restaurant served great food although a little pricey. breakfast was great with a wide variety.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice location, very disappointing stay.

Posted Nov 27, 2015
This resort is overpriced and badly managed. Seven out of ten people in our party who eat breakfast and dinner at the resort ended up with food poisoning. Our meals varied from cold and unappetising to very average. Breakfast was basic and the same tongs were used for selecting processed meat and cheese as well as fruit from the buffet! Our room was poorly furnished with no vanity in the bathroom and no full sized mirror. There were no privacy curtains to screen our room from people passing by unless the blackout curtains were pulled. Once the curtains were pulled it was either completely dark or glaringly lit by hospital style lighting. The whole place gave us the impression that it was being price gouged by absentee owners. We won't be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tully, QLD

Nice hotel right on the beach front!

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Nice hotel room, basic facilities but comfortable. Great pool and restaurant with a view, the food was amazing too! On the corner of the resort all the time there was a distinct awful smell of 'wet dog' which was the only annoyance but don't think it was anything to do with the hotel, maybe the nearby bats..?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barry from B risbane

Quiet relaxation

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Right on the beach , peaceful and quiet , pleasant evening meals and a lap pool for exercise .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Castaways Resort

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The location right on the beach.
Cons: Definitely the rooms they need a complete overhaul! Definitely would only rate it a 3 star if that.
Location: The location was lovely and you had the Beach right there, shops 10 minutes away
We booked this online, very deceiving. the resort itself and the restaurant etc were lovely, but we arrived thinking we would be staying there only to be told oh no you would be a 5 minute walk down the road, which quite frankly for a top rated resort, these were like a run down shack, The girl finally said we could stay in one of the rooms at the resort itself, The rooms there were very tired and old not like the resort itself, and the cleanliness leaved much to be desired, a huge disappointment considering they charged $240.00 a night for the room not good, I would not stay there again, and I would not recommend it to any of my friends or colleagues!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Leonard from Victoria

Let down

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
I booked a two bedroom unit and got a single bed room that was 150 meters away from complex and those I was travelling with. I was given a map and then left to carry my luggage down the street to only find myself in a room that was nothing like I had booked. Bathroom did not have a vanity unit and the shower drain was inadequate which left me standing in 50mm of water after my shower, the bed was uncomfortable, the curtains were no match for the outside security lights that keep my room illuminated until the light timer took affect. There was no chair in the room for the desk, making it useless. The room was dated and in need of maintenance. The view of the beach from the main complex is exceptional but the rest is a let down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edward from Birmingham UK

Relaxing & enjoyable.

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Mission beach is a beautiful friendly area to stay with miles of golden beaches and some bars / restaurants. Great to unwind for a couple of days. The Castaway resort is right on the beach and offers great facilities - I would recommend booking in the main hotel rather than the 'lodges' which are a bit tired but still clean & comfortable. Staff very good. All round an enjoyable experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah from Carina Heights

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The "rainforest" section where we stayed was outdated and the bathrooms need to be redone. Other than that we had a great time. We had dinner at the restaurant on the first night and the food was absolutely delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, NSW

Rainforest Room Location - Caution

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Great beachside location.
Cons: The website needs to be amended to advise customers that book a 'Rainforest room' they will be staying at a different property to the main site.
The website narrative states that LCD TVs with satellite channels are featured in ALL 48 rooms. This is incorrect, satellite channels are not available in the "Rainforest rooms" that forms part of this resort. This Rainforest part of the resort is located at a different street addess, 100 metres away to that of the main resort building !! In my opinion this is misleading a potential customer, you look at the website picture and see a beautiful beach scene at the front of the resort and assume that a Rainforest room would be at the back of the resort on the same property looking towards the mountains. What you are getting for your money if you book a Rainforect room is a stay in an old motel located some 100 metres down the road on the opposite side to the resort. If this does not worry you and you don't mind sleeping on a firm bed then go for it, but if you want a room with a beachside view then you must book a room in the main resort building. The staff at the resort were pleasant and friendly, but the young wait staff need to slow down as they make there way around the restaurant. What's the rush guys, does make for a relaxed dining experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, BRA

Propaganda enganosa

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Péssimo
Cons: Rebaixarem as estrelas do hotel e colocá-los na realidade.
Reservei o Hotel pelas fotos e pela proposta, um resort beira mar e tudo mais, porém infelizmente o hotel nao é nem de perto motel de beira de estrada, resumindo, tem uma piscina com bom visual, de resto é aparentemente sujo, horroroso, o pior café da manhã que tive na Austrália, a pior hospedagem dos 21 dias de Australia, eu gostaria de ter passado o dia em Mission Beach porém resolvi ir para Cairns e ficar na piscina do Holliday Inn a ficar com esse hotel como ponto de apoio. hotelzinho de péssima categoria.