Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Great location, on the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Some problems contacting reception from room, dropped calls etc but lovely, efficient staff there also. Microwave/fridge but no plate or cutlery??
Location: We did the white water rafting on the Tully river with Raging Thunder Adventures (age 55, 14 and 14) - was wonderful, highly recommend for the fit!
very poor weather while we were there so hard to appreciate the main wonderful point about the accommodation which was the location right on the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from townsville

the empathy.. the empathy

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: position
Cons: empathy of check in staff
Location: close to beach, bars and cafes
had booked two nights to break the return drive from cairns to home town townsville . arrived saturday when cyclone debbie was heading towards townsville .Asked if i could cancel sunday night " Cyclone Debbie is heading towards Townsville and I would like to get home to prepare " The reply " that is not our problem. It will cost you $xxx to cancel . you need to give us 48 hours notice " $xxx was slightly more than what I paid. so I stayed and Cyclone Debbie passed Townsville crossing the coast further South.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Jasmine - General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Herberto, Thank you for staying with us at Castaways and thank you for your review. We do have quite a strict cancellation policy surrounding cancellations and extreme weather events such as Cyclone Debbie, as we know that initial forecasts can vastly differ from the actual events and we get lows and watches in our region on a regular annual basis. Our team have the understanding that when a Cyclone WATCH has been issued (chance of onset of winds within 48hrs but not within 24hrs), our standard cancellation policy applies (charge for cancellation within 48 hours of arrival date), however in the event of a WARNING issued for the area, we do allow FOC cancellations. For those who do choose to cancel their reservation when our cancellation policy is still active, we would presume that their travel insurance would cover this cost. I would hope that none of our Reception staff would say "that is not our problem" and this is a misinterpretation, however should this be the case, I deeply apologize. I hope that regardless of the stressful weather events during the weekend, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe Travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Rainforest rooms

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Lovely place to stay.. amazing views. 5 minute walk into the small town. Breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Kendal on reception went above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and relaxing. I would highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold coast Qld

Great location right on the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Short walk to restaurants along the beachfront
Frendly staff great food and bar facilities comforatble rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Gorgeous Views, close to places to eat near town

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Location, views, close to Barrier Reef
Cons: Clean the pool, variety of food especially fruits
Location: Paronella Park & day trip to Dunk was also enjoyable. Lots of stingers though this time of year
Reception was great to phone us about our arrival & quick to response to email prior to the holiday. Kendal at reception always had a smile despite our many questions. Continental breakfast was pretty good, though the food needs better protection from flies. Dinner was especially delicious, service was not as quick as we expected, but the hotel had the laid back feel which helped us relax. Pool was not very clean, though it was so hot we had to get in. The 3 bedroom house we rented was very comfy & lots of amenities, but requires more than on tv & dishes/bowls!! Staff were pleasant and helpful. Have not had a holiday in Australia for 5 years, as going abroad always seemed cheaper, but this holiday might have us converted as it was very relaxing, getting to Cairns & the 2 hours drive down was a breeze. Also the everywhere we visited in Queensland was pristine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

A pleasant experience

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Wotif
We were originally in a Rainforest resort room which is located across the road from the main resort. As we have a small baby we decided to upgrade to a beachside room to make accessing the facilities easier. The staff were very helpful and accommodating to our needs. A portable cot was readily available and restaurant even gave us some dishwashing liquid so that we could clean and sterilise baby bottles. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Castaways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
apart from the rain a great stay a great place and area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The location is fantastic
Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment just before Christmas. The staff were very friendly at all times. We enjoyed the pool area which looks out towards the beach. Plenty of loungers to sit on with sunshade. Only downside of the pool is it is right by the restaurant which may not suit some people. Room was clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bathurst NSWbeau

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Wotif
Beautiful resort. Friendly staff. Completely relaxing holiday