Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Peaceful and beautiful stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Wotif
Very beautiful colonial/queenslander style architecture built for comfort in the tropics. Complimented by an amazing garden I was very impressed with this lodge. I would consider staying there again most deffinately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Mick and Sue, Hotel Management
Hi Peter - glad you enjoyed our gardens. September is one of the best months to visit North Queensland - lots of tropical colour in the garden. All the best
5 out of 5
by william

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi William - many thanks for your review, albeit short on words :-) All the best Mick and Sue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice little B&B

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Good hosts. Great breakfast. Interesting garden surrounds.
Comfortable B&B. Nice little rooms with a separate communal lounge area. A bit away from the beach and shops but in a nice garden area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Mick and Sue, Hotel Management
Hi Leigh - thanks for the review. Glad you liked the garden and surrounds. All the best
5 out of 5
by Barbara from Nottingham

we'd stay again if we could

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
despite our last minute booking the day before anzac day we were given a great welcome. the hosts were helpful, the bed was comfortable, the facilities were good, the breakfast was excellent. we even had a visit from a cassowary.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Mick and Sue, Hotel Management
Hi Barbara - thanks for the review. Glad you liked the brekky and saw our cassowary. And we would gladly have you again if you could indeed stay again. Love to all in sunny Nottingham
4 out of 5
by Vivien from Darwin

A Tropical Paradise

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
It was so relaxing and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and our breakfasts were scrumptious. Best coffee ever and Cassowarys on cue.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Mick and Sue, Hotel Management
Hi Vivien - the secret to the coffee is to use filtered water. All part of our yummy breakfast. Love to all in sunny Darwin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely little place-got to see my first Cassowary

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Only stayed here one night. Nice little place, wasn't expecting the communal area for the kitchen/living room but it was nice little touch. And great breakfast to set you up for the day
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2015 by Mick and Sue, Hotel Management
Hi Anon - thanks for the review, and of course glad you liked the brekky. All the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Quiet location and accommodating hosts

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Very quiet location, with the occasional visit from a cassowary in the morning and evening. The grounds and pool are amazing. Hosts Mick and Sue are both friendly and helpful, the breakfast prepared is both amazing and very filling. The rooms provided are very clean and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2015 by Mick and Sue, Hotel Management
Hi - many thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed all our facilities. Love to all in sunny Brisbane
5 out of 5
by Szymon from Sydney

Excellent resort style accommodation

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect resort style accommodation. Great salt water pool with a mini waterfall and some shade. Also, cassowaries visiting in the morning are a highlight. We were lucky both mornings to see a mother with two chicks. Booked for one night but we decided to stay one more day just to relax and enjoy the place without even leaving the lodge for most of the day. Great breakfast with local tropical fruit and big-breakfast style eggs, fruit cakes and jams! The hosts running the place were very hospitable and made us feel perfectly relaxed. They offered plenty of advice regarding activities around and on our way back. Licuala Lodge has also beautifully maintained garden. No air conditioning in rooms adds to tropical experience. Fans provided are sufficient to cool you down - visited in December/January and it was pretty hot + humid. Walk to the beach is about 30 mins as the lodge is located in the forest, in the middle of cassowary territory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Szymon - thanks for your review, much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Mick and Sue
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tropical Paradise

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
It was great to stay in Licuala Lodge after a city hotel and we loved the tropical feel of the place. The swimming pool wad superb and we loved sitting on the verandah in the evening . The breakfast was wonderful and Mick and Sue were excellent hosts - nothing was too much trouble. A great getaway.
4 out of 5
by Iain from Brisbane

Not for Business Stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
I found it not to be what I required for a Business Stay. This is a Bed & Breakfast not what you would call a Hotel and needs to be made clearer that it is not suited for Business in any way. Great get away place and if looking for peace and quiet in great surroundings, this is the spot. Friendly people.