Ratings based on 2,845 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Close to Old Town, zoo and Sea World. Facility is just a little bit better than motel. Free breakfast is just good for saving food expense, don't expect much on quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Small rooms, not very clean. No restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean and spacious

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Location and spacious family room
Cons: AIR conditioned fixed in our room
Location: Close to Zoo and Sea World and Mission beach - within 10 minutes but driving quite confusing so need a GPS or a good navigator.
No fuss staying here - quick at reception and helpful with other requests such as washing and ordering food. Breakfast was very good but very crowded and no seating available on most occasions. Suggest a bigger breakfast room for the amount of guests that can be accommodated. AC didn't work in our room (one unit was working but one wasn't). When we contacted reception they said they had a note about it being broken but hadn't told us when we checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to attractions

Posted Jul 19, 2017
$25.00 can ride to/from the airport, the zoo, and sea world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colusa California

Love this Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very nice hotel with pool and hot tub. Also really liked that they had a small laundry room for guests to use. The breakfast room was also bigger than other hotels so it was nice not crowding into everyone.All the staff was bubbly and always helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Good location close to the beach. Sofa bed mattress very uncomfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
While the room and facilities were clean and comfortable, I was disappointed with the staff and ammenities. I'm not sure if this location is changing from a La Quinta Inn or changing to but it is not up to Comfort Inn standards. We were given La Quinta Inn hotel keys at check in. There was not a TV Guide in the room so I called to the desk to inquire about one. I was told I cold come down and get one. No offer to have it delivered or apology for not having one in the room already. When I went to the desk to get one, I was told they did not have any but I could wait and ask the manager. The manager walked in front of the desk clerk and pulled a paper copy from a folder in front of the employee. Now, she could have been new and just not have known but I was mildly annoyed. The continental breakfast was not as expected either. We were told in a not so friendly way that they were no longer doing bagels and therefore could not get cream cheese. Not a big deal but when you are use to certain things when you stay at a chain, it can be disaapointing. Sometimes it's the little things! While this hotel may be fine for some, we won't be staying here again especilly at the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca

Close to everything

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Great experience took a little vacation with our 2 grandsons had a great time the room was very roomy the staff was great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of money

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Free breakfast was like a cattle call, too many people squished into very small quarters and food made me and my kids sick. They charge $13 a night for parking on top of room charge, and 3 out of 6 nights, there was nowhere to park, spots were too small to get car into without banging doors to get out. All staff except front desk, did not speak English, so we're not helpful at all. Loud banging going on through the night, and calling front desk did nothing. Lastly, the hotel was old and located in a rough area where there were many undesirables wandering around the streets late at night, very near our car. Would suggest that if you intend to enjoy your vacation, stay away from this trashy place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Girls, vacation.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The friendliness.
Cons: Children should be only allowed at breakfast with an adult.
Location: Only minutes away from Sea World an the Zoo. We had a great time at Balboa Park all only a short distance from the Hotel.
We ad a wonderful stay, breakfast had a nice variety. The pool and hot tub, both kept clean and well maintained. Everyone at the desk was always willing to be of assistance.