Ratings based on 2,180 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Room wall a little thin, can hear next door. Close to freeway access
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced & parking is $14 bucks a day

Posted Aug 24, 2017
They charge $14 bucks a day for parking, but every other hotel right there is free. I.e...Holiday Inn, Super 8, Motel 6. This hotel is that caliber. Mattresses are old and sink in the middle, pillows are like pancakes. Very overpriced for a 2 star motel right on the freeway. There is alot of traffic noise, small tvs in rooms, and room service for a salad and burger, no drinks was $57 bucks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice hotel overall. Very central. Needs updating badly!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Hotel Circle

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After checking in, we proceeded to our room. Was most embarrassing, there was still guest in the room. We were told that it was computer error whatever that was. So we headed back to the front desk and was assigned another room and it was suppose to be an upgrade, it was not. The bathroom needs work and the bed needs a lot of work. For 3 nights something was biting me, didn't want to see if its a bedbug. The staff was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Close to Old Town & attractions

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The food was good at the Handerly restaurant. Rooms need to be updated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, lovely pool

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location is central and it was easy to get to the sites we wanted to see. Having a pool to come back to at the end of a hot day was also lovely.
Cons: Check-in took an unnecessarily long time. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but apparently renos are planned. Had to pay extra for parking. WHY???!!!!
Location: The hotel location was central to places we wanted to visit, including beaches, Belmont Park, and various local sites.
Overall, the Handlery is a lovely hotel. The rooms were adequate and our request to be close to the pool was accommodated. The pool is large and clean, and was lovely to come back to after a long hot day. The rooms are a bit dated, if you're picky about that sort of thing; we're not really. Although, renovations are apparently planned for the near future. It did take a while to check-in. I noted that the front desk staff were not very efficient at getting guests checked in. They were taking their sweet time. Once in our room, we noted that the sink and bathtub drains weren't draining at all. How was our room cleaned without the drains being able to drain? Weird. Called down for maintenance to come, and we tried to wait, but couldn't wait around any longer. Someone eventually came to fix the drains while we were away. Parking was $14 addition per day. Seems like an unnecessary cash grab. If you're staying at the hotel, parking should be included without an additional fee. I'm sure you'd agree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Under rated hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great customer service from the front desk to house keeping. Very quite, clean, well maintained. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant, good food, fun environment, and staff was awesome. The pool area is magnificently beautiful, clean. Location to all the attractions is perfect. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Comfy room with perfect location...

Posted Aug 18, 2017
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Handlery. The room seemed smaller than the photos but overall it was very cozy and comfortable. the hotel itself is gorgeous. We loved lounging in the pool. Staff was pleasant but front desk made in error with parking fee and that a little annoying. Make sure you look over what you are charged for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Clean hotel with Safety as a priority

Posted Aug 18, 2017
I felt secure and comfortable knowing that there was gated parking and key entry into the main hallway! I would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Va

We enjoyed it

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The hotel is not new but used to be the place in San Diego. We had a very clean, very quiet room one annex away from the pool quad. We left our sliding doors open at night -- no problems of any kind. The staff was friendly and treated us nicely. The staff kept giving us new towels -- thanks, we think. For the price and not expecting perfection, it was a great deal....