Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice hotel, close to Laguna Beach!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Nice hotel, courteous staff, great location.
Cons: Nothing I can add in this area.
Location: Location is great and close to everything from Hwy 5, 73, Starbucks, Restaurants, Gas Stations, etc. Also approx. 15 mins. drive to Laguna Beach.
This was our second time at The Hills Hotel, we had a great experience the first time, we loved the location and came back again. I am sure, we will continue to stay at this hotel every time we visit the Orange County area. The front desk staff was very courteous, and made every effort to please us on our room request with pool view and we got it. The cleaning staff did an excellent job keeping our room clean and always supplied all we needed. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

front desk lady from hell ,

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: they have very comfortable beds .
Cons: place people at front desk that don't have a chip on their shoulders.
So we book way ahead of time and prepay the room for a family wedding we are going at laguna hills, half of the wedding guest are staying at this hotel and we are part of a group booking. as we get there really last min just to put cloths on and head on to the wedding location ,remind you at this point I have a major hair due and full make up ,rushing in to the lobby ,this is when my nightmare began ,I had left my wallet back in los angeles but have picture of everything and 2 checkbooks all with my name on them.Not only she wouldn't except anything she wouldn't even hear of it .I was in tears, my husband was exhausted ,I begged her to find a solution since we were prepaid and part of wedding party anyway , basically we were stranded in the middle of nowhere with no where to put our dress on and at this point running really late ,we had to pay over $100 for uber to bring our stuff which took 2 hours. I know we messed up but the fact that she was so heartless bothered me ,just about everyone else would have tried to find a solution for our desperate situation ,but to be honest she looked like she was enjoying her power over us , We all are a boss of someone somewhere its not a power its a privilege. What happened to us was unfair and ugly and no one should go through that .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Ca

Nice hotel but need small updates

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Elegant look of lobby and room.
Cons: Better room AC. Elevator is super slow. Better management!
I did not feel welcome by front desk as other hotel I've been to . Concierge told me room was not ready at 2:45 and asked when so she reply "after 3pm is what was on reservation". Another person came over to whisper in her ear then told me "we have a room". After a long wait and multiple other guests was checked in before I got keys to my room. Weather was 87 outside that day, I got to my room and the door was stuck so I needed to use a lot of force to open it. The AC was blowing warm air even though it was set at 64 so the room was hot and humid. Maintenance got there quickly to repair it but the room did not cool down until midnight so not a good night sleep for me. Bathroom slide door would not lock and It would slowly roll open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel in a lovely city

Posted Aug 29, 2017
We loved this hotel. The area where it is located is perfect. Staff is friendly and room is modern & clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice hotel for work or vacation.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Only a one night stay this time But have stayed here on 3 other occasions. Close to the #5 expressway and local businesses. Very clean and modern hotel with attractive decor. Always enjoy my stay. Breakfast is off the menu and very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

bang for your bucks

Posted Aug 20, 2017
nice size room soft towels no bath tub big parking space nice lobby small pool close to the freeway and beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Comfortable and Quiet

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Stayed here after a plastic surgery procedure. This hotel was very simple, clean, quiet and comfortable. Made my first night recovering so nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton Ohio

Belongings stolen out of room

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Not one thing
Cons: New ownership
Location: Only positive was how close to the freeway it was
My safe was stolen out of my room while I stayed here. The safe was NOT bolted down so the thief was able to just walk away with it and all my belongings I had inside. When I notified the management he shrugged his shoulders and did not care. They told me they were not responsible. They refused to do anything about it at all. They were negligent in placing a safe in a room and not boiling it down at all. What sense does that make? Lawsuit is next.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel and pet friendly.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Nice bathroom, complimentary robes, comfy bed.
Cons: Shower did not have a place for soap. No soap dish! No place to put body wash or shampoo.
Location: Great friends and eats nearby.
When we were checking in, they could not give us the room we needed as my husband is handicapped. We did not want a handicap room, but one on the first floor. One of the staff figured out a room on the first floor that truly met out needs. We will stay again and request the same room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great Location

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff at front desk, hotel restaurant, cleaning staff, they were all great! Location a big plus...close to everything.
Cons: Hotel was better than expected. I could only add pool hours in the morning should be for later start, so guests across pool can sleep in late.
Location: Location was great.......across hotel a Starbucks, restaurants, gas station nearby. Close to Hwy 73 to Irvine, John Wayne airport approx. 10 mins.
Our room was nice.......had a small safe for valuables, small fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, robe and sandals. We were pleased with the room facing the pool, though kids went to pool earlier than expected and it was a bit noisy. Hotel is well maintained, staff was very friendly and overall our experience was great.......Will go back for sure!