Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane, United States of America

Convenient location, terrible building

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Wi-Fi was easy to access and fast
Cons: Update the plumbing, the amenities and remodel the rooms.
Location: HuHot is across the street, close to other restaurants.
First, the staff was great. So, my experience isn't personal toward the staff. They are doing their best with the building that they manage. I booked a king size room for two nights. After the first night, I woke to the discovery that the main plumbing line had clogged. The shower filled with water and the toilet was leaking at the base. The staff graciously moved me to a different room, but no fridge, microwave and had two queens. So, the food I bought I had to throw out. Then, there was no hot water in the shower. After calling the front desk, she told me to let it run for 15 minutes for sometimes it takes that long for the hot water to get there. Once the hot water finally got there, it was inconsistent. Hot for 30 seconds, then it went cold for 10 seconds. The room was old, bad bedding. I've stayed in Howard Johnson hotels before and this one is an embarrassment to the chain's name. I would never, ever stay here or another Howard Johnson hotel again. But, again, the staff was great, it's the building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
the hotel was dirty, cigarette hole in blanket, light did not work
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Gross and they don't care to fix anything.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Sheets and bedding were clean and bed was surprisingly comfortable.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: This was the only thing in the area that seemed unsafe.
This place is disgusting. Given already that my expectations were not very high due to the the low cost. If I could go back I wouldn't pay $10 a night to stay here. Our faucet was broken on the shower so no hot water. Stains on the walls and carpet. Staff was very second rate. Everyone lifting their hands and said they did not have authority to comp or make any adjustments. I feel this is a complaint that this is a complaint that they hear often and thus is there routine response. Also area is very shady and I did not feel like this was a safe environment. So as for our family we have checked "stayed at a crack hotel off of our bucket list". Never again I am actually surprised that they are able to carry a big name such as the Howard Johnson on their signs what a bad name they have given to this company. I will never again stay at a Howard Johnson if this is the level of service that they aspire to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
wasnt horrible but wasnt great. was loud all night ice is only at the end of the building had to walk past a bunch of crazy men to get it. alittle shady area but it was a place to lay my head
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, in price and experience

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Staff was OK, check in/out was quick. Refrigerator was included.
Cons: Misrepresentation of the facilities. No gym, spa turned off for the winter. Room, especially bathroom was poorly cleaned. Side lamps and telephone broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The steps are terrible. The heating unit is outdated. The towel rack fell off the wall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montana

Really disappointed!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
We came in late in the evening. When we got to our room the bed was not made and the room was not clean. The lady sy the front desk was really nice and moved us to another room. It was clean but the TV didn't work, we had to call the front desk to get directions to program it. I went to take a shower and the water was luke warm at best on full blast hot. I thought I'd wait til morning to try again. In the morning it was cold! The front desk said to try again because it was fixed. I did... it was luke warm again! We ended up canceling our second night and leaving to go find another hotel. They wouldn't reimburse us for the first night until we called Monday morning to talk to the management and I'm waiting to see if my servings night reimbursement will actually show up in my bank account today. Also, the bed was so worn that my husband and I kept rolling into the middle... management needs to get it together! This property is a disgrace to Howard Johnsons.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SD

On my way west.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Reasonable rates and friendly staff.
Cons: No elevator, no ash trays section of town
Location: It was easy to find and many restaurants/stores in the area.
Rooms were adequate, no elevators, south side of Missoula. They were busy at my time of check-in, no ash tray in the smoking room I stayed in. Breakfast was good. I will most likely stay there on my way west again in spring.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benton City WA

Never stay here again

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The staff was as friendly as they could be. We did not meet the owner.
Cons: Everything. Never stay here.
Location: We were there to be with our daughter.
We booked two nights. Only stayed one, drove home 6 hours at night so we did not have to stay again. The room that was furnished had no hot water, and the tub would not drain. no refrigerator and microwave, we bring left over food and drinks to the room, so that was important to us. We called the office and they put us into another room, the second room had no hot water - but the office staff did something to get us hot water to take a shower. Next morning there was no hot water. the drape would not shut, we used items we had to keep it closed. The bedding felt like it was not clean. the TV did not work until we fixed it. We felt like we were in the worst motel ever. We did not stay the second night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Darty washroom

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Very low class equipments. A 50 years old building.