Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, needs reno

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The staff is superb. I chose a non smoking room but Expedia booked a smoking. Not sure why this happened but seems the communication between the two is non existent. The woman at the front desk was as accommodating as she could be and had said Expedia had done the same thing to other guests earlier. The hotel itself is terrible. The carpet NEEDS replacing. I'm surprised health code allows the carpet to be in that condition. The second best part aside from the staff was the mattresses. They are actually very comfortable and seem new. The bathrooms were not bad either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pet rooms would be bad for a person with allergies, as it was a smoking room as well, but it was the last one so we took it. Friendly and very accommodating staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by LaRee, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a review I am sorry we did not have a non smoking pet room left I hope you still had a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Adequate

Posted May 28, 2017
Room was adequate for a quick overnight. Clean room but hotel smelled strongly of smoke. Breakfast was simple but nothing special. Enjoyed the waffles but no fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Tub drain needs help and tub faucet would not shut off completely while whowwr was running.
Location was good.. But I can't seem to get past this info box in the survey,!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was a pretty good stay. We enjoy it when we pass though and great price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
clean room at reasonable price. good location off freeway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Josh Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank for for staying with us at the Mitchell South Dakota Super 8 and taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Brookings, SD

For the price, tough to beat

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Outlet location, cleanliness.
Cons: I'm low maintenance, so good for me.
Location: It's Mitchell, SD. Nothing except maybe a couple bar.
I travel a lot for work and am always looking for the cheapest hotel to keep expenses low. For the price, I was very happy with my room. Very clean, comfortable bed, decent television with cable, and outlets by the bed! Feel like I spend the first five minutes in every hotel looking for an outlet that is in the most inconvenient spot in the room for my phone. To be honest, I'd stay again for that simple feature.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: price is very reasonable and breakfast was very good
Cons: The King room where I stayed smelled as if it used to be a smoking room. As a non-smoker, although tolerable, you could smell the odor eliminator used
The King room where I stayed smelled as if it used to be a smoking room. As a non-smoker, although tolerable, you could smell the odor eliminator used to cover the smoke smell. I would suggest to replace furniture, curtains and carpet as well as repainting the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
When we arrived it had snowed several inches and the sidewalk and parking lot had not been cleared. It was extremely dangerous an we had to ask 3 times before they finally shoveled a small path and put out ice melt. The room was supposed to have a microwave and refrigerator, but it did not. The room was dirty. Fingernail clipping on the floor. There were dead bugs all around the pool area. The electric outlets in the bathroom didn't work and the staff was snotty when we pointed out the problems. They didn't offer a different room, or do anything to compensate us for the frustration. The front desk manager was rude and seemed disinterested brushing us off. So disappointed in Super 8.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
We selected a pet friendly room that costed more than a normal room but when we went to check in they made us pay even more because they didnt know we wanted pet friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear about your problems with the hotel. We do our best to accommodate every guests. Sometimes when booking threw a 3rd party site, we do not get all the information, we will continue to work with these sites to try and fix these problems.