Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

Great hotel/hostel in a good place!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The hotel is located in a great place near the underground and shops. The staff and facilities were amazing! Nice clean place to stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Bettina, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice feedback! Hope to see you soon again at Amstel House Hostel Berlin
5 out of 5
for Students
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

awesome, welcoming hostel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Great beer specials 24/7. Clean and modern lobby and rooms.
Cons: As with anywhere, bathrooms. Also the light over the in room sink was out.
Location: Great food hall just down the street. Lovely, safe, quiet neighborhood.
I had a great 3 night stay here. The staff is welcoming.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Good value accommodation

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: I liked the price and location. Close enough to the city. Ammenities close by.
Location: The location was great we were close to the ubahn which allowed easy access to the city and the service is very frequent.
This hotel was well presented. Reception and bar staff very friendly. We never used the kitchen or facilties as we treated it as a hotel. There are a couple of bars close by which is handy if you dont want to go into the city. There is a U-bahn station 5 min walk away so very easy access to the city. It is close to a main street where there is takeaways shops etc. My only complaint was the noise, our room window overlooked the bar which was open late and the noise travelled. But thats to be expected i suppose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, Va

Questionable neighborhood

Posted May 27, 2017
Overall the experience was okay. The location of the hostelnis about 30 minutes walking from the Berlin train station. However, you will pass through a shady neighborhood and smell marijuana on a consistent basis. The rooms are spartan at best. Showers and toilets are male and female. Security, did not feel comfortable staying here after some guy was knocking at our door trying to return one of my roommates missing key. He knocked and since everyone was in the room we shouted, " wrong room", he proceeded to open the door and give the key to the roommate who was sleeping. I don't know whether she knew what was going on since it was past midnight. Luckily nothing happened but it was a little unnerving to say the least. The breakfast buffet wasn't worth the 5 euros you pay. Other than that the hostel was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Fernanda , Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion. It is a petty that you did not feel well with us. Especially from our school groups we always receive good feedback about our neighborhood, where teachers claim to feel the safety of students everywhere. We are also sorry that someone knocked at your door late at night. Unfortunately we cannot control such things. Next time, if there is any bad feeling, come to us at the reception. We will be happy to help and serve you. About the breakfast, we find 5,50 € a fair price for what we offer. Besides Coffee, juices and aromatic water flavors the buffet has fruits, cereal, scrambled eggs, different kinds of cheeses, cold meats, vegan options, jellies of different flavors, nutela, butter, margarine, salad, different types of breads and sweets. Best wishes, your Amstel Team
5 out of 5

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price but not comfortable

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: big enough
Cons: light is too dark not enough plugs
This hostel was really cheap for the price but the room condition was disappointing. It was totally different comparing to the picture. The room is really dark and not colourful as the photo. It only had one plug in the room but I and my friend have 5 electronic devices that have to charge. I prefered to pay a higher price for a better room.
4 out of 5
by Lucas

Clean and nice hostel.

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at Amstel hostel. Staff members were very polite and efficient. The location is not the best. However, the metro station is only 4 blocks so you can be in the city centre in 25/30 minutes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A clean hostel near the airport with a great staff

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
A clean hostel near the airport with a great staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shalie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels