Ratings based on 1,735 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to get about

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Good quiet, location, without being too close to bustling tourist areas. A few minutes from U bahn station & within 10 mins walk of river & bars. Hotel itself was all we expected- clean, tidy & functional. Breakfast seemed pricy, so we went to local cafe that was great & better value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good value

Posted Apr 28, 2018
I felt the hotel provided good value for money. The room was clean, staff friendly and the location very central for sightseeing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could use upgrade

Posted Apr 9, 2018
The rooms have no fridges and there are no ice machines . The front desk will give u a small glass of ice. The rooms were clean except the carpet was in need of a good wash ( or replaced)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to some major sights

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Nice hotel close to some major sights with reasonable pricing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Russia

good location

Posted Mar 11, 2018
It is situated near metrostation, not far from sigtseeing. Not big rooms. Breacfast costs 12 euro.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2018 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Good hotel but with bad staff

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We booked this hotel for a week.. The location is totaly perfects it's close to everything But the reception staff was very bad.. my friend smoked a cigarette in the room in the first day so the receptionst told us that we need to pay 200euros for smoking in the room but in the information list in the room was wrote 150euros for smoking in the room. Second thing when we made a check out we suposed to leave the hotel room at 11am and we left it at 11:30am so the same recptionist told me that i have to pay more 30€ so the total was 230€ then i told her that i better booked in 5 stars hotel and her answer was just so rude saying yes you had to do. Feeling sad for a great hotel holding rude workers
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Amer, thank you for taking the time to give us a Feedback regarding your last stay in our Hotel. I am sorry that our reception staff left an unfriendly impression on you. This is not the kind of service we want to offer our guests. But please understand that we are a non-smoking hotel, so smoking in the room is strictly forbidden. We are not able to sell the rooms afterwards and this causes us a lot of problem with future guests. This of course dosen't excuse the rude behavior which you have experienced. We will discuss this internally. I hope you had a pleasant stay in Berlin nonethless. With kind regard
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
My flight was cancelled and I needed to use the room phone to get rebooking information. The airline had me on hold for so long that the phone automatically disconnected. This happened three times. Totally not the fault of the hotel. What is the fault of the hotel is that they don't post anywhere that there is a charge for using the phone, even to make calls within Germany. So for 45 minutes of being on hold and accomplishing nothing, I was charged 20€. On a side note this particular area of Berlin is a deadzone. The only things nearby are a coffee shop and one tapas bar. The showers are incredibly small. The reception and my room were in two separate buildings, which was just another minor annoyance. For less than what I paid to use the phone here I stayed at a hostel directly on Alexanderplatz. What a complete waste of money here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a Feedback regarding your last stay in our Hotel. We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations. Phone calls inside the Hotel (to other rooms or the reception) are free of charge. There is a fee if you like to call outside of the Hotel. A pricelist you find in the guestmaps which are provided in the rooms. If you have problems with a cancelled flight our reception staff gladly asisst you 24 hours. In thoose cases we also offer to use our telephone at the front desk free of charge. Please just ask us and we will always try to find the best soloution. We hope that you had a pleasant time in Berlin despite the uncomfortable situation. With kind regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel-Aviv

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: The location was excellent - there wasn't much of shops/restaurants next to it, but it was close to a subway station and plenty of bus stops.
We were looking for a simple room with great location for the lowest price - that's exactly what we got. The room was satisfactory and the location was excellent! This is not an hotel for a couples getaway but it was great for us as we left early in the morning and didn't get back before 22:00 at the night.