Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Well presented hotel with friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by Zeljka

Would not recommend it, sorry!

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comparing with the other 4 stars' world hotels this one was amongst the worse I visited. The room was so tiny and cramped with furniture that was hard to move around. And it still has not got the minibar or fridge. Whoever was cleaning in the morning has no clue how cleaning is done in the room. Glasses were filthy, the cleaner (I think it was a man) always forgets to leave a cup or a spoon or some coffee sachets so we have to ask every morning room service for it. After taking shower there was a flood in a bathroom. Somewhere water was leaking. When reporting to the front desk the lady promised someone from maintenance will look into it. Nothing happened and we never got feedback about it. So we were using our towels all the time to drain the floor in the bathroom in order not to step into water and walk around with a wet slipper. Funny thing was that the reception desk lady at first offer to give us the beach slippers for the bathroom in order to resume the problem. My biggest surprise was this is happening in Germany, the country which invented order and strict habits, one of them being cleanness. The good thing is one more of my prejudices went away thanks to the Hotel Hamburg in Berlin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Convenient location and great service

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient location between Tiergarten and Kuhdamm and great service with the customer in the focus.
Cons: Free beer and drinks during a daily Manager Reception
Location: Morning run crossing Tiergarten to Brandburger Tor, Reichtag, Bundeskanzleramt, Schloss Bellevue and Siegessaeule w/o meeting any other tourist.
Golden Tulip Berlin Hotel Hamburg can count on its employees. From front desk and house keeping to bar and restaurant services, the staff was friendly, motivated and well trained - Best Practice in Berlin. The best sight seeing, running and dining insights, we got from Ilker, the bar keeper. The only little disappointments were that the room appeared bigger on the pictures at Expedia and that it was impossible to shower without getting the floor wet - but both were no biggy for us! The location was perfect for our morning sight seeing run in the Tiergarten. And it was only 5 minutes away from the subway stations. Another plus was the nearby supermarket. Overall it was a great experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...shame about the staff

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel very nice. Poor quality pillows on bed. Bedding/towels not changed at all in the 3 days we were there. Most staff very abrupt, reluctant to help, bar staff extremely slow, staff at breakfast rude
5 out of 5
by Alice

I would definitely stay here again.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was great. This is a very convenient location for resturants, buses and the environment was very residential feeling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will definitely return to stay here!

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
This is a good location to be able to get around Berlin. It's within a 15 minute walk to the Berlin Zoo and Aquarium and a little bit more to high end shopping at KaDeWe (if that's what you like). It's about a 45 minute walk through Tiergarten to the main train station as well as Brandenburg Gate, the heart of the city. The hotel is great! I had a superior which was spacious and clean. You will not go wrong with this room. I felt at home here. The night staff was excellent. They were the ones I had interaction with as I was out from the morning. The above ground and below ground transportation systems are not far and are quite easy to use in comparison to other European/Asian cities when it comes to transfers. The closest system will take you to most of the major attractions. The only regret I have is not staying in Berlin longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good wifi throughout and very friendly/good service from staff. When rooms were cleaned tea/coffee facilities not replenished and new clean cups not provided. Also the hotel bar was not open late.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warning - Hotel only has single beds.

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Myself and my wife both in our mid 30s traveled from the UK. We had booked four nights. We booked through Hotels.com as the hotel advertised the option of a double bed. I made a specific request for a double and also specifically asked that we did not want two singles pushed together. On arrival to our room there was two single beds of course! I immediately phoned reception, explained our request made at the booking stage from weeks ago and requested a room with a double bed. I was told every room in the hotel has single beds only. And I mean single beds! All single bed linen, two separate single duvets etc. Some rooms I was told are even unsuitable to push the single beds together, with wooden units in between the beds. The first night the lock on our room door failed to function meaning the door was open to anybody that wanted to let themselves into our room!.. Not very reassuring and unsafe. We were forced to change rooms without any assistance offered with our baggage. At checkout I explained to Fau, the lady behind the desk of our dissatisfaction with our stay and to explain how any guest could get a double bed when in fact the hotel does not possess any double beds, and all rooms have single beds? She looked at me in silence, knowing the hotel misrepresents the rooms. You are selling rooms that do not exist, this is false advertising I proclaimed. No response other than a smile from Fau. No offer of compensation, or even an apology. Zero customer service offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Berlin - Hotel Hamburg
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Berlin - Hotel Hamburg
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE! STAFF ARE SO RUDE

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a joke, do not stay here or book. They left my wife in tears because their attitudes were so bad and the staff is so rude on our honeymoon! No consideration for their customers at all, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.. You're better off staying at the Palace Hotel about 5 mins away which completely looked after us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Yours sincerely Evelyn Schönherr – Knaak General Manager