Ratings based on 5,582 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West

Nice hotel good location

Posted Feb 20, 2018
This hotel is nice however, I don’t think it’s worthy of its VIP status. You would expect at least some English television channels however there were none. The television wasn’t even working for one of the nights we were there. Also, no sign to say you didn’t want maids in your room. We had several people knocking on the door early hours in the morning (about 8:30am) speaking German and because we didn’t answer they just opened it and then walked out. Berlin it’s self is amazing!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Clean tidy and orderly.
Cons: had difficulty finding my reservation from booking reference given to me by Expedia.
Enjoyed staying at the Hotel, It is great for transport, staff were helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great stay

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Had a really great stay at Hotel Berlin, the staff were really helpful and check in was simple and quick. The room was lovely - spacious, modern and very clean. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times during our stay and the food was good, and again the staff were very friendly. There are underground stations and bus stops close by so it is easy to get from place to place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Very clean and modern hotel, could do with a swimming pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Easy to reach all sights on foot

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Hotel was very clean and the room was large and comfortable. We only spoke to reception on arrival and departure, but they were very polite and helpful then. We didn't eat at the hotel. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within easy reach, so a cheaper breakfast with the locals was more tempting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by Sonia, Hotel Management
Hello Judith, Reading such a great feedback is very motivational. It drives us to continue our efforts and aim meeting our guests' expectations. We are glad to see you again at Hotel Berlin, Berlin when staying the next time in Berlin! Kind regards, Sonia from Hotel Berlin, Berlin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of Berlin

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Probably one of the most comfortable and nicest bedroom I have ever experienced in a hotel. Would definitely recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Wow, many thanks for this big compliment and your positive review! We hope to see you back soon. Best regards from Berlin, Franziska from the Hotel Berlin, Berlin-Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel locted near DIN Standards Institute

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: Convenient for my meeting location, well run, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Central location with plenty of nice restaurants nearby offering good food at modest prices.
The hotel is very well run and my room was decorated in a modern style and very comfortable. I was welcomed at reception in a friendly and efficient manner and was given a room upgrade without asking because I have a VIP status with Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us. Best regards from Berlin, Franziska from the Hotel Berlin, Berlin-Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
very nice hotel good lucation room is nice and big
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your positive feedback! It's nice to read, that you were satisfied with your stay. Best regards from Berlin, Franziska from the Hotel Berlin, Berlin-Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United kingdom

Immaculate hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
I stayed here with my family of 5. I expected a family connecting room but got separate rooms, so we splited. Hotel was close enough to where we needed to be. 1 of 2 rooms was cleaned not the other. Breakfast was great but reception staffs were not helpful at all to us, everything I asked for was too much , for example, asked if we can get connecting room(No) it was one of our kids birthday upon our arrival, I asked if they can do anything special to mark the day?(No) I had terrible headache and asked reception lady if there is a way I can get pain paracetamol? (No, with a straight face) then I said is there no pharmacy around here? She acted awkwardly and said she has to check online, then she said its 40mins walk away if I want to. Not helpful at all. I wish they can swap the bar/restaurant staffs to the front desk or get whoever trained their restaurant staffs to train the reception staffs( the ones on shift throughout our stay! We travel a lot however this is our 1st experience of unhelpful reception ladies!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your feedback. Reviews like yours are extremely important to us as it helps us to maintain our high quality standards and to constantly improve our services. It's very important to us that our guests feel completely comfortable staying in our hotel. We are sorry to read that you had some inconvenience. I would like to apologize in the name of our hotel and give you some explanations on the points you mentioned. We are sorry that we could not give you a family room with a connecting door. Of this type of room we have unfortunately only 8 available, which at the time you were with us, were occupied. Of course, your comments on the room cleaning, there is nothing to reply, this must not happen and does not meet our 4-star standard. Please understand that we are not allowed to give medication to our guests, this is not allowed. On the other hand, it is of course unjustifiable why our colleague could not help you in this regard. The nearest pharmacy is located 5 minutes from our hotel. We will take your comments on reception staff very seriously and provide training so that they can give our guests better information in the future. Thank you for the positive feedback to our staff from the bar and restaurant. Of course, I will pass that on, too. We promise you that we can do better and generally do better. We rarely receive any feedback like yours, especially regarding our employee friendliness. We would be very happy if you would give us a second chance and convince yourself of a better service. Best regards from Berlin, Franziska from the Hotel Berlin, Berlin-Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The check-in, the rooms, great value for money
The reception team were lovely and immediately made us feel like VIP's. The location isn't great - not the prettiest part of Berlin - but it's well placed for public transport with buses to all the main parts of the city every 3-5 minutes and nothing is far away. Lovely rooms, and some nice touches such as complimentary bar snacks, helpful advice about German wine in the bar, and a complimentary water bottle, chocolates, tea and coffee, nuts and sweets in the (freely upgraded) room. Great services and the sort of thing you wouldn't normally expect in this price range.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Liz, We are glad that you were satisfied with our services and that you did enjoy your stay. Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are looking forward welcoming you to our hotel soon again. Greetings from Berlin, Franziska from the Hotel Berlin, Berlin-Team