Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique, quiet hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a lovely design and very friendly, courteous staff. Relaxing experience overall, would have loved to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Funky German Townhouse between Kreuzberg & Mitte

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: A highlight of this Hotel was arriving back every evening to a warm greeting, neatly made up room & a relaxing / funky space to put your feet up!
Cons: The ONLY thing would be on check-in it would have been nice to be provided with a 'nearest places to' guide or similar. Google is your friend.
Location: The location is a compromise between busy city life & the more authentic suburbs. There's more walking to do but albeit for a good nights sleep.
LOCATION The Hotel is located in one of the quieter areas of Mitte so you can be assured of a good nights sleep although on the flip side there was a lack of shops / food stores / Bars near by. A short walk towards Jannowitzbrücke station we found more food shops and for bars & restaurants we often walked 20 mins (1.5km) to Kottbusser Tor where there was plenty of choice and much more life. Berlin overall we discovered was quite quiet, especially at this time of year, however the more authentic and best food was away from the chains and in the funkier areas of Kreuzberg surrounding Mortizplatz. THE HOTEL / ROOM It's warm and inviting with interesting decor that blends authentic details with a modern and fresh 1920's vibe. It's definitely unique. The entrance was open and the welcome very much appreciated when we arrived late at 11pm. Cleaning staff were efficient, friendly and freshened the rooms daily to a high standard of cleanliness. It certainly made an impression! Black and Gold iron bed frame, bright blue wall, artsy chest of drawers and a beautiful red leather arm chair made the room pop while actually feeling rather relaxing. Exposed bulbs, a fan and open wardrobe added to the eclectic feel of the hotel. It felt as though I was somehow stepping back 80 years but with all the mod cons. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Jost, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, what a detailed review! We love it and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments. It means a lot to us and we hope to see you again soon! XoXo, Jost & the Dude´s
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

A nice hotel in a good neighbourhood

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The hotel is grand in a building sense. Staff try to be helpful but some of them had difficulties in communication. During our stay, the hotel was in the middle of a massive construction so not a very pleasant stay. Very very noisy. One negative observation: they provide a coffee machine in the room but you have to pay for coffee pods!!! Not a good standard for a 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by Neil

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and efficiently laid out. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The breakfast, while tasty, was over priced by Berlin standards.
Location: Perfect location.
Very pleasant stay. The room was small with a bed for one person which was all I needed. The shower was excellent. A short walk to tourist sites and also to two different U-bahn stations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Cool Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: Nice decorations to room and helpful staff.
Modern hotel with good location to transportation and nearby restaurants. No air condition, but ceiling fan and windows mak it OK. Very helpful staff. I would recommend this hotal and would gladly stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Julie

The Dude is a great Berlin Hotel.

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean . The rooms are spacious and funkily decorated with great extras such as coffee machine, Molton Brown toiletries, bath robes and a fridge.Within easy walking distance of many sights, 2 minutes walk from underground station and 3 minutes walk to the bar in the photo by the Canal. I wouldn't hesitate to return and highly recommend the Dude Hotel for any occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Great experience, Friendly staff. Very nice rooms. Would book again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Quiet neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle but yet still centrally located. Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved our room on the top floor with beautiful windows to let the light in. Very comfortable beds and great shower! More closet room than you need. Steak house restaurant and Whiskey bar were a hit! Hope to stay here on our next visit to Berlin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A great place to stay!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
The Dude! Great location with at least two U-Bahn stops nearby. If there are any things to work on, that might be the wifi signal (not terrible, but could be better) and the hot water was a little shaky in the shower. Otherwise, it's really a great place to stay!