Ratings based on 1,311 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch New Zealand

Fantastic Location in Berlin

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, shower
Cons: Cleanliness, lift access to upper floors
Location: hop on hop off bus and basically all of Berlin
This is a busy hotel. This is reflected foremost in the difficulty getting a lift to and from your room at check in and check out but that's hardly the end of the world. The staff are efficient and knowledgeable but not overly friendly and there was an initial misunderstanding regarding our booking on check in which could have been dealt with better. The rooms are really small and could have done with a really good wipe down (dusty corners etc) but the bathrooms were clean and shower good. The breakfast was good, the dining room really busy but there was room to spill over into the bar and kitchen. I would recommend this place to stay as it has everything you need, albeit a little cramped, and it is in an incredible location: about 200 m from Berlin Central Train Station's front door, with the Hop on Hop off bus stopping basically at the door and a 15 minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. That sort of convenience is worth putting up with a cramped room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SaudiArabia

Fantastic staff and ambiance!!!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Excellent hotel to stay.. best staff ..best location...superb service...only issue was their bed and dirty floor...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SEATTLE

Nice place next to Berlin Hbf

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: location of the hotel easy access to the train station
Cons: nothing I could think of
Location: train station got every essentials in a hurry.
The staff was very friendly and check-in process was super easy. Just a heads up if you want to leave the luggage with them they only open the door to the room every on the hour and 30 mins interval. ie. at 1 pm, 1:30 pm and etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Klaus, Hotel Management
Hello Chang, Thank you for the nice review. Indeed our hotel has a very convinient location. We are sorry if you did not like our luggage system, but needed to create it to guarantee the security of the luggage. We hope you had a great time in Berlin. Sincerely your MEININGER team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The Hotel is located next to Berlin main train station. The demand is high for this hotel and that makes the price higher
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Klaus, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the review. We do have daily changing prices the depend on the certain availability and what is going on in the city at the time. We hope you had a nice stay in Berlin and would be happy to host you again one day. Sincerely your MEININGER team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Conveniently located but noisy hotel.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Room fine, clean, and comfortable. Staff were certainly nice and professional. Location a short walk from the Hauptbahnhof was a real plus.
Cons: The staff seemed overworked & not enough on duty when we checked in. Breakfast room extremely crowded, noisy, jammed with teenagers on school trips.
Location: Five-minute walk from Hauptbahnhof, easy access to restaurants, Reichstag, museums, public transportation.
Two-night stay was pretty good, and location excellent. Nice, modern decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Klaus, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the nice review. Indeed we do work with youth and school groups, that can cause a little noise in the breakfast room or in the lobby. We hope you were still able to enjoy the great location and your stay in Berlin at all. Sincerely your MEININGER team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Perfect location

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Location of hotel perfect for short stay to see the city of Berlin. Room a good size and clean. Staff helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Maximilian Voelkl, Hotel Management
Hello Kat. Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be pleased to welcome you again in the future if you need a central overnight stay. Yours sincerely, The MEININGER Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from istanbul turkey

There is more alternatives instead of this HO-S-TE

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We stayed 4 days with my elde and my children. The only positive thing is hotel loacation.It is near the berlin train station. The sheets and sink were clean but the room was very dusty. The beds were so bad that the springs were out of bed and the pillows were horrable.Only girl at the redemption is speaking english and good person but the man has blue eyes is irrelevant .You may find manu manu good place instead of this hotel in berlin especially near the train station and the historical places .I cant recommend this place to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Maximilian Voelkl., Hotel Management
Dear Tuwana. Thank you for your time rating us. We hope you had a good stay in Berlin. Kind regards, Team MEININGER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent locati I n.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Great location for a base to explore Berlin. Very functional hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Maximilian Voelkl, Hotel Management
Dear Soug. Thank you for your lovely rating. We are happy that you like and enjoy our Hotel, we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Team MEININGER.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin, Germany

Just ok

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Early check in
Cons: Smell of the bathroom
Location: Right by the train station.
Roomed smelled like urine. Beds were good. Thankful to have checked in early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Maximilian Voelkl, Hotel Management
Dear Jerry. Thank you for your time rating us. We hope you had a good stay in Berlin. Kind regards, Team MEININGER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great centralized location.

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Orbitz
We were able to check in early. The room was small but clean. They have 1 laundry washing machine available for 5 Euros. Location is this hotel's best asset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Maximilian Voelkl, Hotel Management
Dear Orbitz. Thank you for your time rating us. Nice that you like our central spot. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Team MEININGER.