Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice hotel, good base for getting around

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pleasant staff, very helpful, clean rooms, central position for exploring
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice location in Mitte.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This was a last minute booking, so I had a private room, and can only really comment about that. The room itself was really nice, like a small loft space, but almost a full two stories to the ceiling. View out of the window was pretty nice too, and it made sunrises lovely to catch. The only issue for some might be that the staircase to the sleeping area had small steps, and a turn, which could be tricky for some but everything about the bed and room are quiet cozy and nice. Subway and trams are right out front of the building, which makes getting around the city ideal. Lots of places to eat close by, and a few tourist sights as well. The staff were very helpful, and I even had one lovely lady attempt to help me figure out how to get a new phone to work when my old one broke down, as the new one had quite an unusual design. Would loved to have shared some photos, but they all were lost when phone stopped working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great location! Great staff, so so helpful!! Close to transport!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

not for families

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Make it clear that this is not exactly a hotel, but a hostel. some families may choose to stay there anyway, but they should know what it really is.
Location: Neighborhood of Mitte, TV Tower in walking distance, DDR, main train station
The Hotel Staff is truly excpetional. Friendly and helpful at all times.The location is ideal - with a metro stop on the corner. But the room was a bit of a shocking disappointment. It was relatively clean -- but not exactly a hotel room -- but a hostel room. Instead of normal cuboards, there were lockers and name tags on the beds. The space was small - which is fine - but it felt like a dormitory and not a hotel room. Had I known this, I wouldn't have booked this hotel. Ultimately, this meant that lots of the people staying at the "hotel" were young and it felt like a hostel, which is far from ideal for a family for multiple reasons, like the noise especially. We had a room facing the street and it was extremely loud because of many "hotel" guests hanging out at night and the local pubs in the area, which made it difficult for my family to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that you didn´t have the feeling of our urban Hotel and Hostel which MEININGER tries to convey. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon! Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
5 out of 5
by Ernest

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Judith, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
I just spent a week in Berlin for a conference and few days of vacation. I spent HOURS looking for the perfect hotel and this was it! The staff was extremely courteous, helpful and spoke English. The location could not have been better! Right outside was a tram stop and the regional train was underground at the corner. Easy access to Alexander Platz, the Hauptbahn Hof and you can hop on and off at all times of the day. Plus there were many restaurants along Oranienburger Strasse that are just within walking distance. It was also a short walk to Museum Island and Hackesher Markt, where they have lots of outdoor seating restaurants, entertainment and twice a week they have a small market set up. The breakfast (not included but inexpensive) was absolutely delicious! Fresh warm brotchen, a variety of breads, cheese, meats, soft boiled eggs, fruits, jams, muesili, milk, yogurt, coffee, tea, juices and water. My favorite part though, was the chopped salad. Each day they had fresh veggies chopped with herbs and you could drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The rooms were very clean and quaint. My friend stayed in a smaller room, mine however was a loft, with a little living area, couch, TV and huge windows with a beautiful view of the red roof tops of Berlin, and the above was the bedroom. The only downfall for me was the mattress. They were not very soft. Some complained of the noise, but you are in a city so it's just your typical city noise. Overall wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Judith, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you so much for that wonderful and so kind review. We are very glad to hear / read that you had a wonderful time in Berlin and espeacilly in our hotel MEININGER Berlin Mitte. Its great that you had a good start in the day with our delicous breakfast, so you were ready to see all the sights in the area. We hope to welcome you very soon again! Warm regards, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Would recomend

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Get what you pay for. Rooms are small but clean, staff are friendly and speak amazing english. As long as you dont go expecting 5 star luxury, its perfect for a weekend of sightseeing in the city. Location is great too, with most big attractions no more than a 35 min walk
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Judith, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, Thank you for the great and kind review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Get back to Berlin to see even more sights! We´ll also be happy to explain some non-touristical sights to you which are worth to visit. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Good location, nice staff, good breakfast, a litle bit noisy at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

central place

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: not too far from train station
Location: bars
the hotel staff was very friendly however we had a disabled person with us and it definitely wasn't handicap friend, hotel staff didnt even offer to help with bags and it was just me and my grandmother in a wheel chair. The hotel felt more like a hostile , I thought there was a nightclub next door because the music was extremely loud even with the windows closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague

Nice hotel, 20 minutes away from Brandenburg Gate

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location is good (considering the price and size of Berlin), breakfast is simple but ok. Room was pretty small but again, fine for us.
Cons: The bed should be made, the stickers about the alcohol removed. Parking could be cheaper, 10-12€ would already be more than enough.
The hotel is quite well located, 20 minutes to the main center by walk and right next to S-bahn station (U-bahn also nearby). Also bars, restaurants and coffees are in the immediate proximity. Parking around for free is not possible (parking machine everywhere) so we used the hotel one. It's located in the office building next to the hotel and works fine. But count with 50€ deposit and 15€ per night. Also when leaving, we couldn't access the garage through the office building (locked upstairs, we waited for someone to let us in but then the entrance to the garage was also locked), so we had to go in around through the car entrance. In the room, our beds were not made upon arrival. I don't know if that was just an accident or hotel policy. I find it strange to make the bed on my own in a hotel where I pay for sleeping. The towels are not provided, you can rent them on reception for 1€ + 5€ deposit (there is deposit on everything in this hotel). I personally consider this fine, as it's more environmentally friendly when the hotel doesn't have to wash so many towels. There were signs everywhere in the hotel, that you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol. Ridiculous, feels like a dormitory. Breakfast is basic, but fine for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team, Hotel Management
Dear Antonin, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you basically liked your stay. Unfortunatelly parking in the center of Berlin is a very high price and rare thing. So we are glad to have the oppotunity to offer at least some parking spots in our garage for this area only 15 Euro. You can always access the garage through the office building with the key which was handed out to you. I´m sorry that that hasn´t been communcated correctly with you. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, your MEININGER Berlin Mitte Team