Ratings based on 3,667 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southend on sea, essex

great location by the river and nearby cafes

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: .
Location: close to town center and river
really nice hotel and great location, and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel overlooking the River

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Excellent hotel and perfectly situated to all places of interest. Would fully recommend the hotel and location. Birlin is a gem of a city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not up2 Melia standards

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Its a few mins walk to train and 10 mins gets you to the Berlin Tours Bus stops. Watch out for Syrian Refugees, warning signs are everywhere. Berlin
Cons: Open the Hotel restaurant.
Location: Its a few mins walk to train and 10 mins gets you to the Berlin Tours Bus stops. Watch out for Syrian Refugees, warning signs are everywhere. Berlin
We booked this hotel as previously enjoyed staying with this brand many times in other locations. This hotel is not up to the high standard we expected, possibly because its a mecca for stag weekends. On arrival we asked if we could book dinner and was told the Dinning Room is closed to 20/08/17. The Tapas Bar was available. It really went down hill from then. As teams of Men in T shirts declaring that its "Kens Stag wknd". Filled the reception area. The room was like a loft conversion and felt claustrophobic. The Staff did keep it clean and front desk did apologise about the drunk loitering around the Tapas Bar. As a positive its location for the river and walking around Berlin was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading, england, uk.

very convenient location

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: as said above
Cons: as said above
Location: many sights and good shopping nearby excellent location for public transport
excellent staff attitude it would have been nice to have a basic continental breakfast ( coffee or tea and a roll or croissant) included in the price, more elaborate to be charged extra
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Modern hotel in the center of action

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The friendly and very helpful staff.
Cons: Can't think of much.
Location: Convenient location, right by the major train station, and surrounded by convenient public transportation options.
We really enjoyed our stay at Melia. It's convenient, close to major attractions and a wide variety of nice eateries. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a mishap at the hotel restaurant when the server accidentally spilled wine on my blouse and pants. It was suggested that I change out of my clothes and give them to housekeeping to wash which I eventually did. I was initially worried that they might not be washed in time because it was already after 9 at night and we were to leave around 9 the following morning. However, the hotel staff embraced their responsibilty and assured me that they would do everything to resolve the matter. This was indeed the case. I got my clothes back, washed and dried, before 8 the morning after. the staff was really helpful. It's really all about the people! Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Great location.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Beautiful hotel and staff really friendly. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Ideal location very close to attractions and shopping. Transport at the door all day long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland. UK

A good location.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Location and quiet room.
Cons: Tea and coffee in the rooms.
Location: On Friedrichstrasse, where it meets the river. 20 minute walk from Alexanderplatz and 10 minutes from the Reichstag. Close to public transport.
This hotel is in a good location for exploring Berlin, near the river and not far from a train and underground station. Our room was overlooking the rear courtyard and very quiet. The room was very clean and well equipped. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which was a shame after a long day sightseeing. The staff were welcoming and the breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Central Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Great front of house and catering staff.
Cons: Kettle & mugs in rooms.
Location: Central position near key features in Berlin, River and Bahnhof (Friedrichstrasse). In less than 30 minutes you can comfortably walk to Brandenberg.
The reception was efficient and drew our attention to current offers such as the Rewards programme and "2 breakfasts for one" offer. Our room was well equipped and maintained apart from a kettle for the late night/early morning tea/coffee. We wrestled with the window but the staff were quick to successfully remedy the situation. The breakfasts were excellent, including "Bucks Fizz" - if you wanted it. We had snacks from the Tapas Bar which were very satisfying. The prices charged for drinks was very good and much cheaper than a comparable hotel bar in the UK. Our only negative issue was when we left the room: i left an plug adaptor, apple charging cables and adaptor plug. I rang then the next morning but eventhough i had left a generous tip (€20) for the housekeeping, they could not find it. This was odd as housekeeping had removed/replaced plugs every day we had been there. I will not be tipping again so generously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Loved this hotel and will definitely be back.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Beautuful hotel. Rooms and public spaces very attractive. Staff exceptionally helpful. Very close to S and U-bahn and other public transport links. Right on the river. Walking distance to major tourist destinations eg Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag etc. Room service was very good and write reasonable. Breakfast was expensive but we got two for one by joining their loyalty points scheme.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Everything. We know the chain from Spain and have always been impressed with their hotels.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything in historic Berlin.
We had a long weekend in Berlin. This hotel in Friedrichstrasse ticks all the buttons in respect of location, service, condition, room size, food, etc. We paid a small extra to upgrade to a river view room which was very nice - it also got us in early as we arrived well ahead of check-in time. Only slightly negative was that the main restaurant was only open for breakfast until the 20th August. It did not affect us as we were eating out anyway - but just to note. There was a very nice Tapas style restaurant / bar open on the ground floor (also open to the public). We ate there one lunchtime and it was very nice.