Ratings based on 672 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Big hostel near the centre

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Lovely room but VERY hot as no air con. Staff unaware of sight seeing they are advertising. Staff not very friendly on arrival, when asked about bus tour advertised said they didn't know and didn't even have a leaflet. Bar did not have a range of drinks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Worst Experience Among A Month of European Hostels

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and well-located
Cons: Management, noisy, hot, no quiet space, common area needs crowd control
Location: Alexanderplatz-Great location to base your travel around Berlin. Train station, metro, tour bus stops, TV tower and cafes on the square w/in 2 blocks.
If you're looking for a Party Hostel reminiscent of a frat party toward the end of the night, this is your place. Management was indifferent to the massive number of beer bottles being dropped by guests across the entrance, sidewalk and street; and the plethora of drunk twenty-somethings who thought it was cool to kick them around. They made no attempt to control guests' activities, clean up the place, or make it usable or enjoyable. Assistance with where to go and what to see in Berlin consisted of pointing to their activity board. Don't be mislead by the pictures of the common area. It was VERY LOUD and packed shoulder-to-shoulder with no where to sit, because the party crowd had taken oven en mass.There's no outdoor space, and no quiet area (unless you count the laundry). With no AC, it was 86 degrees in our room, despite the open window. The staff acted as if it's wasn't an issue, despite the massive reviews across the internet telling you that it is. Believe the reviewers. The rooms were clean with adequate storage (bring your lock), but the doors SLAM loudly up and down the hallway, despite their note that rooms are insulated. I like to party. But, know that there's nowhere to go if you need some quiet, R&R or to cool off. We needed it for medical reasons and management had nothing to offer us. We bailed on our 2-night stay within 3 hours, went down the street (best decision of the trip). No...we didn't get a refund. Mitte/Alexanderplatz location is a great base.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hostel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The hostel was clean and tidy and good vibes but there was only one person on the reception and bar at a time this would mean huge queues and a big wait to either check in or get a drink. Also the cleaners would come into the room very early and yell and slam doors and not be respectful and the pillows were terribly flat like sleeping on the mattress. Overall though it was a good stay and centrally located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Veronika
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Comfortable Hostel With Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hostel was comfortable, clean, quiet, and conveniently located. I met some wonderful people and did some great excursions that were offered through the hostel. Great main lobby to drink with new friends. Best hostel I have ever visited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Veronika
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Location: The Bar Marqués is officially the coolest place in the world. Look it up.
Amazing location, good price, clean and perfectly nice to stay in. The room was a little cramped and lacked facilities but that's more due to the nature of it being a hostel - not necessarily a flaw of one80° itself. It's a great place for travellers to stay as the hostel put on lots of things to do, such as a free tour of "alternative Berlin", or a bar crawl with other people staying at the hostel, making it perfect for meeting new people. Having to pay for bedding and towels wasn't ideal but I borrowed a towel from a friend fairly easily and, to be perfectly honest, we were never actually charged for the bedding. Also, this is again something to be expected from most hostels. Based in Alexanderplatz, its location is one of the best in Berlin. We found plenty to do in the local area and getting around the whole city on the U-Bahn was easy enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Veronika
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Az

Loud And super packed

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The room was very hot, the lobby is way to crowded and noisy, it's very hard to even have a conversation or just hang out unless you're partying hard. Also the community shower makes you feel like you're in high school with a bunch of guys you don't even know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hostel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Veronika
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Nice friendly hostel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Really nice and modern hostel, would defo stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Veronika
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Modern hostel good location, lacking some things

Posted Jun 25, 2017
As stated, have no complaints about staff or location; both were very good. Main drawback was the non-air conditioned room, which became extremely hot as the sole window which opened in the room only opened slightly. Did affect the quality of sleep for all 6 of us each night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Veronika
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty!

Posted May 18, 2017
Very dirty toilet.we booked 3 beds in a 4 bed dorm room with private bath and toilet. It was so dirty. Sink was clogged. Asked to clean the room around 7pm and was told that housekeeping will clean it the next day, morning.. waited and no one came. Front desk wasnt helpful at all. Too many guests and very noisy. We paid for 2 nights but only stayed for 1 nyt as we cant take it anymore. Asked for refund but they wouldnt give it back coz i booked through expedia. They can have it! Wouldnt recommend this hostel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Veronika, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Veronika
4 out of 5
by Liliane

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Veronika