Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel in a convenient location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The location was great. Easy access to transportation, lots of restaurants and shopping places, a very clean and fairly quiet setting
Cons: The breakfast menu can be improved. We stayed for a few days. The food, though good, became monotonous.
Location: The location is excellent, very convenient with easy access to transportation.One can satisfy shopping needs at the malls in the complex and nearby.
We enjoyed our stay, Felt quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful and courteous. My wife liked the shopping in the same complex. We enjoyed meals at the restaurants around, all without having to out in the cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Comfortable

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here with a couple of friends recently, and it's a nice hotel. The rooms could use a little updating, but the staff were very friendly and polite, and the hotel was otherwise very nice. The location is great (right outside the train station and close to a lot of shops/restaurants), and we didn't have any problems while we were there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
The Metropolitan Sendai, is a great hotel located a few steps from the Sendai train station, which makes it super convenient for traveling in and around Sendai. The surrounding area is great for shopping, and is full of restaurants. My only minor criticism was that the furniture in the room did feel a little dated. Overall, the hotel was really great and I would definitely consider it if I were visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Very good hotel.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The guests can use free wi-fi, cable of cellphone charger and many amenity goods. That's why I did not need to pack those things in my suitcase.
As it is the hotel of the JR(JapanRailway) group, therefore it is located next to Sendai station. Sendai station and the areas around of the station are renovated huge size recently, it is very convenient whatever outing, eating or shopping from early in the morning to the midnight. Hotel staffs were friendly and think about what I want to do in advance. Really I could relax very well. I'm sure that making a reservation of this hotel for my next trip.
4 out of 5
by Avery from USA

Nice hotel, but a bit pricey for what you get

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms were smaller than I expected. I had a bigger room for the same price in the past. Professional baseball team stays there so there were many people in the lobby waiting to see their favorite players. If you like that kind of stuff it could be a perk, but if you hate crowds not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
It was a great hotel and we were lucky to find room during the Conference. Recommend the massage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Great location but room furnishings need updating.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Furnishings are a bit dated and the exhaust ducts could use a good cleaning. My non-smoking room smelled like stale smoke.
Location: Very convenient to the Sendai train station and nearby shops and restaurants.
Stayed at the Metropolitan during a 2 day business trip to Japan. Very convenient location next to the Sendai train station. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. Unfortunately my non-smoking room smelled of stale cigarette smoke and the furnishings were clearly from another time. The place would be excellent if they updated the rooms and enforced a no smoking policy in the non-smoking rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul w from Melbourne Aust

Great Location and service

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
Terrific. Room a little small -normal for Japan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels