Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

First Class experience in Miyajima

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was the most impressive hotel we stayed in during our recent trip! Arrived in the morning and caught the hotel shuttle from the ferry dock. Since we couldn't get into our room yet, the staff took care of our many bags and checked us in. Hotel was just minutes walking distance from main attractions and shopping street. When we got into our room we were shocked to find they put us in a suite with tatami room, western bedroom and a sitting area! Evening stroll down to Torii was magical, wearing yukata. Kaiseki dinner down in dining room was excellent as was the Japanese breakfast next morning. Throughout our stay we were assigned a staffer - Mio - who was very attentive and friendly. Didn't have a chance to try the onsen. Next time!
5 out of 5
by Sherry

Wonderful Miyajima Grand Arimoto

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Miyajima Grand Arimoto offers a synthesis of Japanese and Western experiences. The multi-course dinners are amazing - wonderful food, fabulous presentation and excellent service! The sashimi box with shells filled with dry ice is exquisite - a treat for the eyes and the tummy. The rooms are very clean and it's a fun experience to wear yukatas to breakfast or dinner.
4 out of 5
by Carol

Hoping to go back

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were wonderful, and the "public bath" was fantastic, with two outdoor pools. The location was convenient, although there were lots of stairs. The room was nice, but very small -- next time I will spring for one of the bigger rooms instead of going for the rock-bottom economy size. According to the floor plan, the bigger rooms are more than twice the size of ours and I'm guessing they have views of either the water or the mountain, instead of a wall. The breakfast was fine, but I wish we had gone for the dinner.
4 out of 5
by Michael

All round good hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a decent location just behind Itsukushima Shrine close to all attractions, little far from Miyajima ferry port if you have a lot of luggage but hotel has bus that will pick you up. Nice clean room just a little small particularly the bathroom but this is normal for Japan. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good quality and plenty of food, walked away without finishing. In general for a hotel on Miyajima island it was well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Extremely well located

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: We loved everything including the fact that this is a true Japanese hotel
Cons: All the TV channels were in Japanese. Adding CNN or BBC would be nice
Very near the giant tori gate and shrine that have made Miyajima famous. Incidentally Expedia inserted a highly incorrect info in my confirmation which said: 'There is no front desk at this property. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property ahead of time using the information on the booking confirmation." This is absolutely not true. Not only is there a highly qualified front desk but I was picked up by the hotel shuttle bus upon my arrival at the ferry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with excellent service

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Professional and meticulous staff like Tomoya really made the hotel stay awesome! Hotel is clean and spacious. Location is good for exploring Miyajima.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pricey room, but well worth it

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great room with private outdoor bath overlooking the torii.very comfortable stay and the food served during dinner was incredible! Bit pricey, but just about justified.
3 out of 5
by Chin Yuk from Hong Kong

Good but not so worthwhile

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is good but we were disappointed on the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and services

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Good location, excellent service, nice rooms
Cons: Update bathrooms
Location: Everything is close to this hotel.
Nice Japanese style room that was very clean. Person who escorted us to our room did an exceptional job in explaining the features of the hotel, and was also the person who served us our dinner and breakfast. Excellent Japanese style dinner with a lot of food. For breakfast, we had 1 Japanese style and 1 western style. Japanese style was good, but the western breakfast was below average. Onsen was nice, but pools were a little shallow.
5 out of 5
by Vincent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels